We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!!”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here for seven nights, Absolutely loved it, Very friendly staff. Happy Hour excellent value for money. What we saw of the evening entertainment you can forget it but not a problem for us we spent most evenings in Olhus De Agua, the village near the hotel. Booked Sea View but got side sea view again not a problem as the sunset was to die for. Had a great time would highly recommend and definaetly going back there.

Room Tip: Sea or West Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrBlueSky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,391
    690
    133
    25
    9
See reviews for
425
1,468
66
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We booked this on the back of positive reviews for a 5 day break early July 2012. The hotel is perched on a cliff top with stunning views through the pine trees over the sea from where you can take breakfast and evening meal from the restaurant terrace. We went half board; the food is very good (loads of fresh fruit and salad) and self service which may not suit food connoiseurs.

There is easy access to the beach (not suitable for those with access/fitness concerns) which again is lovely although we are not beach loungers and prefered to use our hired car to investigate the area and get away fromt the rat race. Would recommend a trip to Ria Formosa Nature Reserve which is east of Faro. There is a 2K self guided tour around the reserve which includes the salt marshes, pine forest and tidal mill. All for 2.6 euro each!

We booked through Last minute and feel this hotel was a true bargain and can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Seaviews get the morning and afternoon sun. Rooms that are described 'mountain view' are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just returned from two weeks at the Porto Bay Falesia and found it to be excellent on every level.
The service from staff, cleanliness, food and location are all superb. The public areas and particularly the pool area were kept spotlessly clean. We have holidayed in 5 star Marriott and Hyatts in the USA for the last 4 years and can honestly say that the Porto Bay surpassed them all in terms of service & cleanliness. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for families or couples looking to chill out and relax in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review and comparison. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Myself and my wife spent a very relaxing and revitalising week in the Porto Bay. The staff are friendly and very professional. Swimming pool area is clean and spacious. The pool bar was our favorite spot, after the nice buffet breakfast, a couple of hours in the pool or down the beach, heading to the pool bar for lunch was another world away. The areas to sit down and eat or drink around the pool over looked the amazing cliff drop down to the Atlantic - stunning scenery. We were there in May before kids got off school, so there were mainly old people and other couples while we were there.

Room Tip: Recommend paying for the sea view, otherwise you end up with a view of the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvGaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsunlight wirral
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

went for 1 week..great holiday if you dont want to do anything but sunbath..nice bar down by the beach MR PICKWICKS ..hotel very clean staff were fantastic esp jeff the waiter ...if you want to go to albufeira it cost 7.80euro nothing but cafes the free trip to algarve shopping centre is ok but its just a cheshre oak style thing (expensive)..hotel 10/10 ps you deffo need a car to get a round

Room Tip: a high floor looking over the pool is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank your-jokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review and comments. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Myself and my boyfriend arrived back yesterday from a fantastic 2 week holiday in this beautiful hotel. I honestly cannot find any negatives to say about this place. Absolutely breathtaking views over looking the cliffs and the beach, fantastic food, lovely weather. The staff are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to help and are very welcoming (a special mention for Carlos who works at the pool bar during the day...very friendly and always goes out of his way to make conversation).
The rooms are lovely and big and despite other reviews we found the beds extremely comfortable and slept very well! We were over looking the gardens, and whilst we were very happy with our view, I imagine the seaviews are amazing if you want it to be that extra bit special. The room was cleaned to perfection everyday and the maids were so friendly, leaving sweets on your pillow for when you return to your room.
There is plenty of choice at breakfast time, with champagne and some mornings freshly made smoothies! I have to say the fruit is incredible!
We were on bed and breakfast and didn't eat in the buffet restaurant in the evening, but ate in the Italian several nights which was delicious and also went to the BBQ which was also very nice and good value for money. Despite being in a small fishing village (definitely not Albufeira), there are plenty of lovely little restaurants not far from the hotel and it is only a short bus ride to both Albufeira and Vilamoura, which make a nice change.
What more can I say...beautiful hotel in a beautiful country. Perfect for a nice, peaceful relaxing break. We've been back one day and are already wanting to go back! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rebecca278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This may be a 4 star hotel, but the location and stunning views of the ocean and orange cliffs make it the most stunning view in the Algarve. I went to every surrounding city, and could never find this view anywhere, or anything as beautiful. It is located at the edge of a gorgeous forest, surrounded by orange cliffs, ocean views and expansive swimming pool that overlooks all this beauty. Daybeds and scattered decks and seating areas abound. You never feelike you are in the touristy Algarve with high rise hotels. You have direct access down to the ocean and powder sand beaches, you can actually walk into Vilamoura and to the town via the beach, it goes for miles. Small waves, so the water is very enjoyable and accessable to swim, there are beachside bar/.restaurants as well.
The champagne breakfast is very good, the bar has no atmosphere whatsoever, it is dark and lackluster where Happy Hour is served, this could defintely use a refurbishment to bring the gorgeous outdoor views up close, as this is not an inviting area. The lobby areaq next to the bar also needs soem color and comfort tom make you wnat to lounge with a drink, you just yearn to be outside with that view and not inside thie dark dingy areas.
The seaview rooms have great views from a very spacious balcony with two chairs, the rooms are on the small side, with no wifi access anywhere in the hotel, and a charge to use the safe which weren't standard for the other 4 star hotels I stayed at in Portugal, but the bathrooms were decent size and have very nice amenities.
Defintely the only hotel worth staying at in the Algarve, easy stroll into town with excellent choice of restaurants, a short drive or taxi ride to Albufeira but very touristy and crowded, you will yearn to be back at this relaxing, peaceful, beautiful seaside hotel.

Room Tip: Seaview room overlooking the pool provided great views all the way out to the orange cliffs and fore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TONI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review and comments. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,935 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing