We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was our second visit to Porto Bay Falesia and we were not disappointed! We visited mid September and experienced wall to wall sunshine. The hotel is situated in a superb location with beautiful sea views and the grounds offer lots of shady seating areas to appreciate the tranquility.
Rooms are very comfortable and clean and the maid service is excellent, the restaurant is open until 10pm- we prefer to eat late and we were still served freshly cooked food -superb!
As premier card holders we received fruit, water and bathrobes in our room plus 10% off food & beverages a nice touch for loyalty. This year possible due to the high temperatures the gardens seemed overwatered and the grassy sunbed area was sometimes water- logged however we hope to return in the very near future!

Room Tip: Some low floor rooms may have the view obscured by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KNL0752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. In fact it was a very hot Summer and gardens needed extra irrigation. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    647
    121
    24
    10
See reviews for
406
1,365
62
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asse, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Two years ago we went to Porto Bay in Madeira and had a wonderfull time. This year in september we've decided to try the Porto Bay Falesia. We absolutely don't regret this decision : friendly staff, excellent & deversified food, very comfortable room, clean hotel, ... Even better we'll surely return to Falesia.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erik370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Had a week's holiday early September. This was a good time for the weather, around 30degC most days but the gentle breeze took the edge off the heat. Whilst some people might be critical of the age of the hotel, it has an air of comfort. It was also kept immaculately clean. We had a deluxe side sea-view room and enjoyed the extra space. Maid service was first-class and pool clean towels were provided daily in the room, a nice touch. Room safe chargeable but less than many hotels. There isn't a main road close, so a good night's sleep is more or less guaranteed. Also the corridors and rooms are carpetted which helps reduce noise. Great size bed with comfortable mattress and several pillows. Bathroom has bidet for those who like one. The hotel grounds are very good, with lots of loungers and umbrellas by the pool or on the shady grassed areas. Very few people bothered to reserve loungers. Decent location, not too far to local shops and restaurants. Follow the road down from the centre to the beach and you will find plenty of shops, bars and restaurants with plenty of activity night and day in a quite compact area. Some people may want a hotel directly on the beachThe only gripes we had was that the evening meals were "samey" and the chefs used far too much salt in meat and fish dishes. As with all similar hotels, drinks prices are high. There were a number of children in the hotel, but they were all very well-behaved. Altogether, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mike_bielby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We recently spent a week in the Porto Bay Falésia which is located at the Algarve.

The hotel well deserve its 4 star rating as everything is amazing. To the beach it's a 5 to 10 minutes walk with 140 steps - just to mention.

We booked breakfast which we had on one of the terraces viewing the sea - beautiful. A lot of people there - inside the restaurant it was not that much crowded.

It's a perfect hotel for relaxing with little animation and some possibilities for trips. There are severak golf courses around and a gym in the hotel. The room was very clean and good climated.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Our tans might be fading due to the Scottish weather but our memories of this magnificent hotel are certainly not. Returned last week from the best holiday we have had. Breathtaking location, room very comfortable, breakfast was a 'wow' with dinner also very good and something for everyone, staff were exceptional and made us feel so welcome. The layout of the hotel is superb and allows you to experience so many different moods - from lazing by the pool, lunches at the Falesia Bar & Lounge to the balconies overlooking the ocean. We reserved a table on the balcony hosting the Italian restaurant and dined as darkness fell with the Saxaphone player capturing the mood perfectly - a truly unforgettable experience. Thanks to Armando who provided some great tunes to finish off the evening. Special thanks to all the staff who looked after us during our stay. What a wonderful place - we will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Although we didn't have a sea view room, we were more than happy as the room was just what we wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you (Obrigado) very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My first holiday abroard for seven years, well worth the wait, fantastic place so relaxing, the place spotless, staff amazing and and a perfect setting. Different nationalities and age groups were in residence but everyone seemed to respect the quietness and peaceful surroundings but at the same time enjoy themselves. I loved it.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room well worth the extra cost to sit on the balcony and just soak up the atmospher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqua_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just got back from Porto Bay Falesia after a week of rest and relaxation. Staff all friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and modern. Beds ultra comfortable. It's the ideal place to unwind. No signs telling you what you can't do. Would recommend.
Getting out and about the public transport not up to much so we booked a day to Lagos with an office down the hill across from the taxi rank. What a nightmare. 5 hours on the bus 1 hour in Lagos, 25 minutes at Sagres and 20 mins at a cafe in the middle of nowhere.
Try to get to Lagos though as it is utterly beautiful.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilburns123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
1,809 reviews
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
955 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,868 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 163 in Albufeira
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing