We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 1 or 2 WHY?”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“No 1 or 2 WHY?”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked this hotel mainly because of the trip advisor reviews (It was no 1 then). I can only ask myself WHY? On the positive side the staff were friendly and the service good (We come to expect that in Portugal). The view (Sea View) was excellent and .........

When we checked in we had no help with the luggage. No offer to take us to the room and no welcoming drink (Take some tips from RIU). There was an offer to provide a daily newspaper with about 20 options including the Racing Post but no SUN? We were offered a special offer for half board vouchers. The good news is that we bought 3 instead of 5 and the bad news is we bought any at all.

The food at the buffet dinner was awful. There was a theme each night but no menu what was being served. Many of the dishes were unlabelled. The first night I had beef which had been left under the hot plate so long it could have been used to sole my shoes. The second night we eat in the hotel much of the main course dishes were cold and the third night I bypassed the main course completely.

I note some peoples comments regarding breakfast I can only say there must have low standards. There was no nuts, currants etc to go with the cereal. The eggs were left under the hot plate and were almost hard boiled. The bacon was burnt and of a very low quality. There was a lady cooking the eggs but I never saw anyone ask her for an omelette and by the look on her face I certainly did not dare!

The room was acceptable if a little dark but the bathroom was very basic. It had no working extractor fan and the shower was a plastic/rubber hose attached to the bath.

As many people have commented there are ample sun beds and umbrellas although they would be improved by mattresses and they are difficult to manoeuvre. Ladies watch your nails! The walk down to the beach is by 1001 uneven steps and if you collapse onto a sun bed on the way down you have lost the will to live on the way back up.

The poolside restaurant is good for lunchtime and the a-la-carte food is excellent. A million miles from the buffet.

The evening entertainment was sub standard and when they did have a show there was a tsunami of people leaving afterwards. The price of the drink did not help and there was zero atmosphere in the bar.

lots of good restaurants around best were O Manuel and San Martino.

would we return No would I recommend it No Try either of the Riu hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and special mention to our staff and service. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,369
    676
    129
    24
    9
See reviews for
417
1,438
66
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very helpful staff and spotless clean great food stayed .for 5nights and the place is so good can't wait to return thanks to all the staff it was my birthday on the 31st of July and I was left a bottle of bubble in my room which was a nice surprise

Room Tip: Sea view room great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siobhan389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia, at least more than five nights. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at the Porto Bay Falesia for two weeks and the whole trip was worth it, we were on holiday by ourselves (for a change) and this meant we could spend more time exploring the area than we would have done if we had been accompanied with friends. The hotel was fairly large by our usual standards but very tasty rooms were well cared for, the service very good, the staff very efficient. Meals were of a good choice especially the breakfast as we spent very little time eating in the hotel I cannot rally give a fair comment but what I had was good. There is an outside pool bar where you can have snack afternoon meals very tasty the bar I mean. The area it's self is beautiful as you will have read from other reviewers, beach and the village it's self is very picturesque, the village is mainly where we dined in the evening Tavernas selling fresh sardines straight from the sea cooked on a BBQ fantastic. There is also a Chinese Restaurant in the village and a number of bars, buses are fairly frequent. One thing to mention it is a fairly hilly area up and down to the beach is by a walkway and even down to the village walking down is no trouble but the return is a chore. It is also a fairly windy place but as it is so warm you do not really notice it. So to sum up a very pleasant and relaxing holiday, and using General Douglas McArthur's famous saying, 'WE SHALL RETURN'.

Room Tip: Not over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichieSouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I really needed to chill with my daughters after a tough year and this hotel ticked every box. Not the prettiest hotel but the grounds are stunning and immaculate. Sunbeds were always available, either around the excellent pool or in the beautiful gardens. The staff were brilliant. Attentive (but never suffocating), courteous & efficient. Nothing was ever a problem for them, their ability to communicate in numerous languages was superb. The room was cleaned daily and she was amazing. Her 'towel sculptures' were a work of art. The buffet breakfast was of a very high standard catering for just about every taste. Fried, cereal, fresh fruit, breads, continental etc. The guests were a real mixture of nationalities which was very pleasant. The view from the grounds are simply amazing with steps leading to the immaculate Falesia Beach. A short walk in the other direction to Olhos D'Agua and some very pleasant restaurants. All in all it was exactly the holiday I needed and I'll not hesitate to return the next time I need some relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ron6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Need to write a review of this hotel. Stayed July 21 2013 for a week. The location is beautiful overlooking the stunning Falesia beach. The hotel grounds were very relaxing with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and areas to relax in. Waitress service to the sunbeds which was great. The pool bar served delicious food. In fact the food in the hotel was very good including the buffet style breakfast. Our rooms were facing onto the garden and of an adequate size with plenty of wardrobe space and a great bathroom with a powerful shower and we loved them as we got the afternoon and evening sun. The housekeeping was spotless. A special thank you to the maids. All the staff in the hotel were very polite, friendly and couldn't do enough to help you. In fact it was five star service. The steps down to the beach might be challenging if you have mobility problems but there are benches to rest on the way down. Also the village Olhos D'Agua is downhill from the hotel but not too steep. At first wasn't sure if we liked the village as not much to it but grew to love it as it had a nice feel to it with excellent restuarants and a few bars and cafes with a lovely beach also. Would definitely recommend Porto Bay Falesia for a relaxing break and would love to return and may try a seaview room the next time.

Room Tip: A high floor would give you a great view sea side or garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anna587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have never written a review before on anything but I feel would be doing this holel an injustice if I didn't, especially as I read reviews on this hotel before booking.
This is a fantastic hotel in a tremendous location.
Firstly the hotel-wonderful friendly staff, bed side lamp wasn't working on arrival-courtesy call from reception later to check if working. Pool side lovely, pool side bar -lovely food and staff, Italian restaurant exceptional and good value, buffet evening dining also very good. Breakfasts-all you could ask for. Rooms cleaned to a very good standard every day with the occasional "swan" towel suprise. Lots of relaxing areas within the grounds with bean bags to sit and lie on in the sade also lovely terraces with bed areas and seats also in the sade. Loved the aqua gym classes-should have a class every day as most people congregrate around the pool and we would all like to feel we were working off the excess calories of the delicious breakfasts.
The sea and red cliff view from the 4th floor was fantastic-sitting on the balcony with a glass of Rose watching the moon shimmering on the oceon will hopefully keep me going untill I can return.
Why isn't this a 5* hotel??
Olhos D'Agua is a lovely village with several restaurants, bars and icecream parlours. Olhos D'Agua beach is lovely, a small beach with local fishing boats on the jetty. The hotel has step access to the amazing Praia de Falasia beach with its wonderful red cliffs.
Had a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view room on higher floor-room 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review, very much appreciated. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here last August (2012) and loved it. Would have gone back this year but left it too late to book.

We had asked for two adjoining rooms (teenage children) and were given a large one bedroom suite that joined onto a twin bedroom - this was perfect for us. All clean, all in good order.

We had breakfast and lunch at the hotel most days and my husband was in breakfast heaven. The lunch was also of a high standard.

The views were beautiful, as were the gardens where there was never a shortage of sunbeds.

The staff were friendly, professional and hard working and when the WIFI stopped working for a few days we had welcome unlimited usage of one of their office computers.

The Spa was also lovely and very relaxing.

It was easy to walk into Olhous D'Agua for dinner etc - lovely atmosphere.

Best place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia soon, don't wait to long to book . Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,874 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
858 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing