We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have just returned from an extremely enjoyable one week break at the Porto Bay Falesia. This is a very comfortable hotel set in a lovely cliff top location and every single member of staff we encountered throughout the week was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was exceptional. I usually tire of hotel breakfasts after a couple of days, but the variety and quality of the food on offer was so good, it was always one of the highlights of the day. We were on a bed and breakfast package, but ate at the hotel’s Italian restaurant on three evenings, as this was also of a very high standard and accompanied by some relaxing live music.

We found the nearby village of Olhos d'Agua to be a little tacky, so didn’t spend much time there, but the hotel has everything you need for a relaxing, chilled out break. We only ventured out once beyond the immediate neighbourhood, when we spent most of a day at nearby Vilamoura. This is a lovely town with a very attractive marina and lots of good restaurants. It’s an easy bus ride away (3.5 Euro) or a fifteen Euro taxi journey.

I have no hesitation in recommending this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chappers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 2,437 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just a really great hotel....simple as that. Beautifully maintained with super staff. The grounds are superb. No shortage of sun loungers or parasols. Pity that WiFi wasn't free or very low cost in public areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Perched on a cliff over looking falesia bay, this hotel has magnificent views and offers a general sense of calm and serenity. BUT it does not offer free wifi in the rooms (you have to pay 6 euros a day) plus you have to pay1.50 euro a day to use the safe in the room. Some staff members at reception are very friendly others though make you feel like you are imposing even if you ask very simple questions. The gym is a bit of a joke. Equipment is very very limited. Excellent breakfast......possibly the best i've had in a four star hotel ever. So all in all this hotel is a mixed bag. Despite giving it average I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nardu33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. The Hotel Gym with free access to all clients has equipment considered to be the best ,TECHNOGYM, and adequate for it's purpose, average users (two running machines, two bycicles, one step machine, one Concept 2 rowing machina, one weight table and a UNICA Machine (forward extensions, chest, shoulder and legs extensions) , not for a fully equipped Gym prepared for Gym Holidays. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Porto Bay for 1 week in August, we stayed at the Porto Mare in Madeira for our 25th Wedding Anniversary last September which we enjoyed so much we decided to try this one. I have to say we were not disappointed. We found the receptiion staff very welcoming and helpful and indeed all the staff were throughout the week.

Apart from going into Vilamoura one morning we stayed the whole week at the hotel in the garden relaxing and reading books and enjoying being spoilt. We ate at the poolside bar every lunchtime where we thought the food was very good.

If you are thinking of booking a holiday to have a completely relaxing time then do not hesitate to go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here and we both thought it was superb. The friendly staff were all so helpful and the food was as good as it gets for a buffet service. Beautiful views and great amenities, we would love to go back one day

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Having spent three nights at a cheaper hotel in Lisbon we thought we'd treat ourselves to what we thought would be a more luxurious place on the coast for the remainder of our holiday. Our room was really lovely with a great view of the pool and sea but we soon became aware of lots of hidden extras that we would have needed to pay for eg. use of the safe in our room, sun loungers on the beach, hotel games such as table football etc, use of wifi.... We had paid in advance for the buffet on our first night, but were quite glad not to have been tied to half board as the food was of poor quality and there are many local restaurants within a 10 minute walk. The nearby town/village of Olhos d'Agua is convenient but a complete British tourist trap - avoid if you're after culture or make sure you have a car!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSmith137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Like any other hotel there are extras to be paid according to the service delivered, however there are as well free services we should mention as indoor pool, jacuzzi, Gym and lots of extras at breakfast, room cleaning etc. Sun loungers at the beach are not property of the Hotel but the beach is free. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was my third time staying at the Porto Bay and 5th year in Olhos de Agua. My partner and I had stayed at the Riu Palace in the previous 2 years, but whilst we had enjoyed both stays we had grown a bit weary of having set meal times, allocated seating and the same tired old lines delivered by the waiters. As I had stayed previously at the Porto Bay , I though we should head back there. The Porto Bay offers just the same as the Palace, but on a smaller scale and in a more intimate and relaxed way. The staff are all very polite, but not overbearing. The rooms are smaller, but clean and well maintained. Plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas for all by the pool an in the garden. Clean pool towels left in our room by housekeeping every morning and also a complementary bowl of fruit, bottled water, dressing gowns and a welcome note in our room on arrival as we were return guests . We went for 10 nights B&B and alternated between eating in the hotel and out in local restaurants by buying the 5 nights buffet vouchers from reception. I didn't see these advertised anywhere, but knew they existed as I had used them before. There is certainly not the huge variety of food as the Palace offers but everything was just as nice. We ate lunch several times in the poolside Falesia Bar and the portions were so big we only ever ordered one meal and shared. The quality of food and choice here was excellent. As we booked directly with the hotel they arranged for a driver to collect us from the airport and take us back again for our return flight, The driver was extremely friendly, always on time and we had great chats with him to and from the airport. I love this part of the Algarve- near to the airport, quiet but close enough to the bigger resorts if you want the night life, extremely friendly locals a beautiful beach and the weather is always glorious. No doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DEBNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Thank you for the comparison with Riu Palace which is a very good Hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
TUI BLUE Falesia
TUI BLUE Falesia
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £47 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing