We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better second time”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Even better second time”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I'm writing this while we are still here and this week we have been extremely lucky with the weather. This is our second visit to Porto Bay Falesia and I was a little worried it would not live up to my expectations as we had such a lovely time 2 years ago. This is a wonderful hotel. The view is to die for. We booked a suite, as we did last time and you get what you pay for. With a suite, the wifi and safe are free (for all the moaners out there). Also as we are prestige members as we have been before, we got a discounted rate and 2 free dinners with wine (we are B&B). The suites are pricey, but no where near as expensive as in comparable hotels.

Olhos d'Agua is quiet. Do not expect wild parties and lively bars. The main clientele is older and a few families. We are here with our 4 year old and it's perfect. There are steps to the beach, but they are manageable and the beach is amazing when you get there.

Staff are lovely and the room is clean. Having a lovely time. x

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. Choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MooMoosMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,341
    663
    125
    24
    9
See reviews for
411
1,404
63
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. We picked this hotel because of its excellent location, and great reviews. It lived up to expectations.
Staying in the second week in September the weather was very nice everyday. Comfortably hot….
A complimentary bottle of cava was waiting for us in our room. As it was our honeymoon we paid the extra for a sea and pool view which was worth it. Although if we stay here again we will save money and stay in the opposite side of the hotel .
Staying on the 3rd floor we had no trouble with noise.
The room was spacious and clean. The maids were fantastic and friendly too!
In room there was a (chargeable) mini bar, complimentary toiletries, an excellent shower.
The restaurant had a huge selection of food both for breakfast and evening meal. The evening buffet was a different cuisine each night, definitely not boring! Delicious! Impressed with the food.
There was entertainment in the evening such as singers, irish dancers one evening.
All staff were helpful and pleasant. Excellent service. Drinks always brought to you with peanuts each time
The pool was lovely, clean. Lots of loungers and several outdoor areas to relax. The café/bar by the pool was great for lunch. The outdoor area was very nice, ample places to relax
The reason why I have not given top marks is that I feel charging 6 euros per day for wi-fi is expensive. Also a charge of 12 euros for the safe. The drinks were also extremely expensive. In town the drinks were very cheap.
The beach was clean and safe, very picturesque and goes on for miles.
The town was small, but there were several supermarkets, a few shops and lots of places to eat. Recommend Pizzeria Fratelli.
Nightlife: there are a few English orientated places. We loved The Cabana Cocktail Bar..
There are also numerous excursions to go on as there are many places of interest.
For some go to the ticket office in town it is cheaper! The superday to the west is excellent with fun guides. Vilamoura is worth visiting a beautiful marina. Expensive for food though.
Overall it is a fantastic hotel. Would be lovely to go back one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyofSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton,Manchester
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Spent a week 19th to 26th October - pity the weather wasn't kinder to us.
We couldn't have asked for better as we needed a break and the hotel is restful.
From the reception staff, the cleaners, the restaurant and bar staff it was lovely - they were polite but discreet, chatted when you engaged them - how they should be.
Special mention for Manuel and his magic cocktails - no the bar isn't cheap but the hotel is 4 star and it is down to preference.
All the reviews have said it all before - the grounds are beautiful, it is in a good location for the beach, shops, bars and buses. The food is good - good selection and hot food was hot and cold was cold. We would love to return - probably not in October but only because of the weather.
I have to agree that the rooms behind the trees are a no no ....... I would have been straight back to reception - come on Feliepe - break out the saw and get them cut down - I know the trees look lovely but really would you stay in those rooms - no you would not.

Room Tip: I would have loved to upgrade to a sea view but thought 24Euros a day was too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrews272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Trees already scheduled to be cut. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We arrived on the 10th October for two nights, it was our 3rd visit.
We had a suit with a separate living room. Perfect we booked a garden view, well if there was to be a concern tis would have been it. We could not see. Garden all but 6 inches the rest was so overgrown we hardly had any light in the room. ( sadly that was all that was left as we were 3 hours delay due to FRENCH striking) very clean, the standards are very high in the hotel. Everyone so friendly and helpful,breakfast so much choice. Weather fantastic for the time of year. As we were celebrating a wedding anniversary , we had complementary champagne, a fruit basket, and water. Everything was perfect. The beach was beautiful.
We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view not a garden or car park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIMCO_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Promise to bring light to the room, heavy gardening schedule soon. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very nice property on the cliffs above the sea with beautiful views, nice pools, very decent food and good input from the staff. Our room was spacious with a balcony that included a clothes drying rack and was cleaned very early in the day. We traveled in October so we had very few families and children to deal with....lots of older couples.....noise level was quite low.

Room Tip: opt for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarm
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week on a b&b basis between 17-24 October. Went through thomsons a la carte which was a bonus including taxi return to airport and free wifi. Check in was swift. The room booked was not a sea/pool view but looked out over the front of the hotel. You could get an upgrade but this was ok for us as we were only a limited time in the room. Housekeeping was excellent and all areas of the hotel, internally and externally were clean and continually cleaned. The clientele of the hotel is mainly retired and 60+. There were very few younger people and families staying there. The village of olhos de agua contains varied restaurants (some of which I have reviewed) and is a gentle 10-15 min walk from the hotel down a shallow hill. I cannot comment on the evening buffets at the hotel as we were on b&b. The italian a la carte, il basilico was very good at the hotel but shame there was only us and another couple in at 9.15pm. The pool area was very well kept and the service excellent at the pool and the lawned areas. As previously mentioned, lawn overwatered and sun beds wet at times. Breakfast was usual buffet fare and was satisfactory. Again service excellent from staff. People have mentioned the price of the safe and the cost of the drinks. It would be nice if the safe was free however it is only 10 euros. I am sure that if people had a load of euros stolen from their room, they would be then whining that they should have got a safe. Drinks were typical 4star hotel prices. For people who are on a budget, many cheap local bars and the happy hour at the hotel where all drinks are half price between 5-6pm. The evening entertainment was not our cup of tea, however it seemed to be well appreciated by the older clientele. The walk along the beach is lovely all the way to Vilamoura. It s about 5 miles and takes about 11/2 to 1 3/4 hours. Have stayed at vilamoura many times before and still looks impressive with boats that you can only dream about of affording. To access the beach from the hotel you need to go down a walkway of about 130 steps. Bus fare return for 2 is just over 6 euros. Albufeira is in the other direction and has a beautiful old town and stunning beach. About 5 euros for 2 by bus and taxi 10 euro return to the hotel. The hotel offered a nice end of year break for us, could not fault the service and met a lot of nice people. A good chill out time but probably a bit too quiet for us. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Came back from the Algarve on Thursday 24th Oct 2013 weather mixed but it is October. Hotel was lovely, we had a partial seaview room on the florth floor we were only bed and breakfast as we like to eat out. In actual fact we eat at the Italian restuarant in the Hotel 3 times as the food was very nice(you pay extra for this) Hotel was in a lovely position on top of a rather steep hill overlooking the beach which I am assured is 130 steps down! The other four nights we eat out in the village at the Ambrosia which had lovely food very reasonably priced. I used the Gym at the Hotel/pool/evening entertainment was excellent. Breakfast was very varied and everything was hot except for the bacon which was tepid everyday. Staff very friendly, a very well run hotel. top marks. The lady who cleaned our room was lovely and very efficient.best thing was the Taxi transfer, made a huge difference.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor otherwise you could have the dining room or entertainment room under you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing