We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat for 3 night”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is probably the finest hotel i have stayed in within Europe.
The first impression was excellent, very well maintained looked almost new even though 6 years old. The ground were kept immaculate and staff were constantly cleaning. The reception area was inviting with flowers on reception.

The room was excellent with a 6 foot bed and plenty of storage. The beds was very comfortable and a great night sleep was had. The bathroom was very luxurious inc a Bidet. The shower was in the bath and unusually high shower head ( I'm 6ft 5) and delivered a hot high pressure shower.

We were half board. Breakfast was of a very high quality with 6 different cereals a fruit bar, meats and cheese bar, a massive choice of breads and rolls and conserves. Also included was a full Cooked breakfast with egg bar and pancakes. Evening meal was a themed buffet ( we had Italian, fish and Brazilian) food was plenty full and of the highest quality.

The hotel had a external and internal pool with a Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and full treatment centre (sauna an steam room 5€ charge) . Facility also had gym tennis courts and many more facilities inc games area and children's play area.

Overall rated this as a top quality accommodation and was worthy of its Thomson 4 stars.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 2,437 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

I`ve stayed in the hotel about 6 or 7 times now, as a solo traveler and a couple, I also enjoyed it so much my sisters are both now fans!! The hotel itself is clean with ample rooms, the attraction for me is the stunning location, set on the edge of the cliffs looking out to sea, with so many different outdoor areas to choose from, no matter what time of day you can always find somewhere outside to sit in the shade and even when the hotel is full it never seems busy. Cocktails in the bar are a must and reasonably priced, I`d recommend the `Manhattan Long Island Iced tea` best I`ve ever tasted and I`ve tried a few!! If you feel like a walk you can take the steps down to the beach though the climb back up is not for the faint hearted!! I`ve walked along the beach to Villamoura (takes about an hour and 15 minutes} so best done in the morning.You can jump on the bus to Albufeira or walk and enjoy a bit more bustle, a taxi back costs about 6 Euros.Just booked my next trip for April...Can`t wait!!

Room Tip: If you take the Bed and Breakfast option there are numerous restaurants just down the hill, I`ve tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 30BEX63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Congratulations for the Porto Bay Gold Prestige Card. Looking forward to welcome you back soon at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Arrived at the hotel on New Years Eve for a week's holiday. Greeted by friendly and helpful reception staff who informed us our table had been booked for the New Years Eve Gala Dinner. Our room overlooked the pool with a sea view and was very clean and comfortable. The Gala Dinner and entertainment afterwards was excellent - good choice of well cooked food, glasses constantly topped up with local red or white wine and the atmsophere was fantastic. The entertainment afterwards by a Brazilian Dance Troupe and a two piece band filled the dance floor and welcomed in the New Year. Champagne was delivered and everyone danced and enjoyed themselves into the early hours.

New Years Day Brunch was also excellent and we once again had champagne and sat outside enjoying the lovely views from the restaurant and the pleasant sun. We could not fault the food and service we received during our stay and the rooms were comfortable, clean and relaxing.

The hotel is located on the top of the cliffs and offers beautiful views, there is a beach located at the bottom of the steps from the hotel and if you turn to the right and walk along the beach you reach the small village of Olhos. There was a few small shops and bars open but most of the village was closed, however found a lovely little cafe bar and bakery which served excellent coffee and cakes - nice to just sit and relax before walking back up the hill to the hotel.

The hotel started to empty quite quickly and we were informed the day we left that the hotel was closing down for 6 weeks for renovations ready for the next season. All the staff were so helpful and really seemed to go out of their way to give good servicel. The hotel really does deserve its 4 star status and we would have no reservations about returning here to once again enjoy a luxurious and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanetLS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week. The hotel it self is lovely although the décor is very traditional rather than modern. But the sunbathing options are fantastic and varied, from around the pool or further aside on the greenery or even near the cliffs edge overlooking the beach and ocean.The location of this hotel is beautiful overlooks a fairly quiet beach with fantastic ocean views. (Although our room was overlooking the car park and didnt catch the sun until the late afternoon however we were not in the room during the day for this to be a problem!) With only a short walk down some steps to have direct access to this beach. In relation to access to restaurants and bars this hotel is on top of a small hill in a small town. The town has a decent range of restaurants and some holiday shops and a short walk to a main supermarket. However if you looking to be closer to the livelier atmosphere you may wish to stay in the main town of albufeira or in old town however both of these are only a short taxi ride away and doesn't cost much. Although you may find yourself waiting for an hour to get a taxi back!! The local ticket office is fantastic can not fault the price we paid and was not short of activity options. We opted for diving, para-sailing, water-park and zoomarine (where you can swim with dolphins). And the lady who runs the ticket office is more than happy to offer advise on the best places to go! Overall can not fault the hotel as it is clean, friendly staff and run efficiently location was perfect for us as the location was out of the hustle and bustle of the main town and bars but had easy access to everything with plenty to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shevi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We only booked the Porto Bay in mid December for a 4 night break over New Year, based on previous reviews. The hotel itself is clean and fairly unexciting, pretty much as you would expect from a good quality four star hotel, however the cliff-top location is exceptionally beautiful and the staff and food are mostly very very good. We were persuaded by past guests to stay in the hotel on New Years Eve for the Gala dinner, rather than go to Albufeira to celebrate on the beach. This was a very good decision.The Gala Buffet was excellent and the waiters came around to the tables with complimentary wine in the dining room and champagne at midnight. The hotel filled up with guests, some staying for just one or two nights and the atmosphere was good.
A " Brazilian " dance troupe entertained on the dance floor and the two piece " band " played on into the early hours.The local village was pretty dead during the days, but the weather was bright and quite mild and it was wonderful to walk along the fantastic beach below the hotel. All together we had a great break in this quality hotel.

Room Tip: We felt paying for a sea view room with views over the cliff tops to the sea below was money well sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SilverfoxUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a great hotel. Service was great, everyone was professional, helpful and courteous. The food is amazing, the team of chefs at the restaurant is amazing, food and service is impeccable. Great and relaxing beach. Very clean. We hope to go back many more times.

Room Tip: either way you'll have an amazing time. we had a partial seaside view. it was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alim00000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This hotel is a real find. In late October / early November it was quiet but that was what we were after. My mum and I were well looked after by the staff, the food was excellent and we were very lucky to have perfect weather. The hotel is in a beautiful spot and the walk to the village was manageable even for my mum who is in her 70s. The bean bags situated on the cliff tops are perfect for some serious afternoon reading / snoozing. I don't like going back to places but am just researching prices for April!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
TUI BLUE Falesia
TUI BLUE Falesia
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £47 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing