We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here this weekend for 3 nights. The location is fantastic and the hotel is gorgeous. we had a room overlooking the pool and a great view. All of the staff were friendly and the pool area was very clean and well cared for with wonderful gardens. The breakfast was plentiful with many choices and service was very prompt. I could not fault this hotel at all and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: there is an offer on the hotel website at the moment if you book a garden room direct with them you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    651
    121
    24
    10
See reviews for
406
1,370
62
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We chose the room with sea view, which was beautiful. The room and bathroom are nicely furnished. The hotel is very clean as are the pools and pool areas. Service in the restaurant and bar are excellent. Breakfast selection is good and a free glass of fizz at breakfast is always to be recommended. We ate in the basilico restaurant only once, the food was very good and the wine good value. Falesia beach is accessible via 132 steps, but you can follow the road back if you don't fancy going back up them. Alhos d agua is a lovely beach about 10 minutes walk downhill complete with fishing boats and beach huts. There are a few restaurants and bars towards the beach and along the main road. The only downside was no free wifi so we chose to spend the 6 euros a day in the local bars which offered free wifi.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SANDRABLUECAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnaxide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Very good hotel, very good service and very nice pool.
Only one bad thing: no free wireless.
Since most of the times I stay for professional reasons this is a very bad thing for me...
Pool restaurante also very good.

Room Tip: If possible, sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VandaCarnaxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I will be at your disposal to find out a solution for your wi-fi needs at your next stay. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Visited Portugal early March for the weekend from the Netherlands. This hotel was extremely accommodating to all our needs. It was beautiful and staff exceptional. The hotel is immaculate! The rooms are lovely with good sized bathrooms.
The location is paradise on earth. Overlooking a breathtaking view of blue ocean outlined with red rock cliffs. A morning walk on the beach after a delicious breakfast, followed by an afternoon nap by the pool or any of the enchanting scenic outlooks makes a perfect day.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MLPS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just come back from here after a long weekend with my sister . It was beautiful . Excellent service . All staff were so polite and helpful . Waiters couldn't do enough for you . Food was fresh , great choice and presentation was 5 star . Great finishing touches to the room and very very clean . Perfect location . Great view and the most relaxing atmosphere . Have recommended this hotel to my friends already and plan to go back soon

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theline71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

There is no doubt that this hotel gets the most important things (room, food and service) right most of the time and it well merits the high rating given by most contributors. The location is quite spectacular with lovely gardens and well worth the slight inconvenience which results from its relative remoteness. The room décor and cleanliness was immaculate, though perhaps just let down a little by the bathroom which, whilst quite acceptable, could have done with a bit of freshening up. The shower, though, was fantastic, more like a mini water cannon!. The room was in fact a junior suite which had a completely separate lounge area unlike that depicted on the hotel website which appears to show a more open plan arrangement. Access to the balcony was from the bedroom and it rather made the lounge area redundant. In hindsight, I would have chosen a 'superior' room and had the benefit of the extra space in the bedroom area. However, being able to sit out on the balcony with a sea view in the early evening after a day out is definitely worth the extra cost. The food in the Madeira restaurant was truly excellent. Breakfast provides a wide choice of fresh fruit and a wonderful selection of all the expected hot and cold breakfast items with a continual supply of freshly cooked eggs. There was just one huge let down- in an area surrounded by orange groves there was no fresh orange juice. Unbelievable!! The only juice available came from a dispensing machine and it was more akin to a very watery orange squash. Not really acceptable in a hotel of this standard. Whilst my preference for an evening meal would be for a full service, we tried the buffet service on the first evening and the food was so amazing in both choice and quality that we did not bother alternating with the Italian restaurant as planned. Every night the selection changed and there was always a choice (amongst many other things) of a fish or meat freshly grilled in the restaurant. Absolutely superb and I could not fault it. The only cautionary thought is that it was out of season and although reasonably busy, the restaurant was not full. The overall experience may not be quite so pleasurable when it is. Throughout the stay, all of the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient- a great credit to the management. The restaurant staff were, if anything, a little too efficient. It may just be me but I find having empty plates whisked away whilst people are still eating somewhat irritating. I do have to agree with previous contributors adverse comments about the 6 Euro per day WIFI charge. When on holiday, most people would only want to have the occasional contact with family back home in which case, it is cheaper to pay the roaming charge to your network provider. Realistically, the hotel is probably the loser as people who really want or need fuller access can take a stroll down the village street to one of the many bars and restaurants and spend their money there on food or drink whilst utilising the free WIFI. Charging for the room safe was also unexpected- I don't think I have ever experienced that before anywhere. The various niggles are all rather minor really but if things are not absolutely perfect I have difficulty giving a 5 star rating. Having said that, 4 stars is a bit mean and, if it were possible, awarding Four and a half, as per the overall average, would be a fair reflection. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Waking up to a sea view and relaxing on the balcony overlooking the sea as the sun goes down makes i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AvidDiner473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review and comments. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked this hotel last year for a short break for my birthday, somewhere in the sun (well we hoped). We were not dissappointed the hotel was really lovely and definately a 4 star. The staff were so helpful ad could not do enough for you. The rooms were very clean and the accessories were very good. The pool was very big and surrounding gardens full of flowers. Plenty of sun beds and plenty of places to sit in little nooks and crannys. The views are breathtaking looking out over the Atlantic. We stayed B&B and could not fault the food. Your culd eat from 7.30 to 10.30 and on the sun terrace as well. We were lucky the sun shone all the 5 days we were there.

There are a few CONS though -
Dogs barking which are very annoying especially in the early morning but then the hotel cant do anything about that.
We had quite a lot of drilling going on in the hotel, as this is the early season I suppose they had to do maintenance.
We had to asked to be moved as we had a crying baby next door at night ad early morning but there was no trouble in moving rooms as the hotel was not full. Might be a problem if it was full. I suggest they put all the children at one end of the hotel it would make it easier on the other customers sleep.
I would not recommend this hotel to the invalid or infirm as it is on a steep hill and everywhere has hills to get to anywhere. Although it is good for people who like hiking.
The last con is there is a charge for the Internet which is 6 Euros a day which is rather expensive considering you can walk down the road and go into one of the little bars and get it free, this does not make any sense and if the gave it free in the reception people woould not go out for a drink.
Last con is although the view is beautiful it is 127 steps down to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank March1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused and disturbance around your room. We do have a free internet access at first floor, not a wireless.Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing