We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
rhyl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week at the Porto Bay, could nt fault the friendly staff, lovely food and the overall general cleanliness. The only thing I would say is for the less mobile people it is 127 steep steps down to the beach but because there are many lovely places to sit in the gardens or around the pool you do not have to venture that far.The only other thing was there was not enough going on in the evenings, pianist in the bar or duo singing, was relaxing if not totally entertaining

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank disappointedRhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    665
    126
    24
    9
See reviews for
412
1,409
63
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A very clean well maintained hotel. I would strongly recommend it for travelers who want somewhere a little out of town to say.

The surrounding restaurants offer great food if want a more informal dinner.

Room Tip: Go slightly off season - I suspect the hotel grounds can become overwhelmed at high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian_broad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Lots of space anytime of the year. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We wanted a hotel for a few days in April to relax in the sun. We could not have chosen better than this. We had 'garden rooms' (code for view of car park). The rooms were clean and comfortable and the car park doesn't look too bad! The food was good. Breakfast was very good. Evening buffet was a bit restricted if you don't like fish (I do but my daughters don't). The 'posh' restaurant Il Basilico was very good if a little pricey. The real gem though is the pool area which is superb. Tantalising glimpses of the sea and beach through the beautifully kept and colourful clifftop garden. Lots of chillout areas and a very nice cafe by the pool (very good club sandwiches and banana splits). The Spa was also very good. The only thing that was a disappointment was the truly awful pub singer on Saturday. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Garden rooms generally overlook the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PaulV929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We wanted to stay on Falesia beach so we chose the Porto Bay Falesia. Rates are reasonable and we had a room with a decent view. The best part about the hotel is the proximity to the beach, which is just a 5-min (steep) walk downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeatherMcK1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights both in December and february, neither disappointed in any way. Our first stay was garden view which was OK, on our second stay we were upgraded to sea view which makes a big difference and would definitely recommend as the views are lovely all day long.
The outdoor pool is too cold to use throughout the winter but the indoor pool and spa make up for it - 5 euro surcharge for the suana. Open 8am-8pm.
Breakfast and dinner we could not fault, with a wide range of foods for all. We had lunch in the pool bar several time and would recommend the goats cheese.
Lovely walks on your doorstep especially to villamoura which took us 1 hour each way. Busses and taxis are available.
All staff are very friendly, professional and helpful.
I recommemded this hotel to my parents who have just came back and also could not fault it. We have got our prestige card now and are definitely going to book their sister hotel in Madeira for our anniversary in December - and very much looking forward to it!
Our only criticism would be that they don't do omelettes at breakfast and we would love a pool table for after dinner, but the are only very minor and did not effect our stay.
This hotel is suitable for families and couples but not anyone with walking disabilities due to the stairs to the beach and the incline to the hotel or town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TinksPixieDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Since two weeks the outdoor pool is heated by solar panels, hope everyone enjoy the improvement. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexhill on sea
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

this hotel doesn't disappoint in any way. rooms, staff, food all of high quality. even a bad weeks weather couldn't detract from a lovely break. check-in fast and friendly, rooms good size well appointed and kept spotless by the maids. I defy anyone not to find something to their liking at breakfast, fresh fruit, cold meats, cheese, several breads and rolls and the usual cooked food with some unusual items. waiting staff very attentive but not in your face. problem with flooding in our room after huge rainstorm flooded a flat roof nearby but staff were immediately on hand to sort it out fast and move us to another room. thanks to them any damage to the hotel and our belongings was kept to a minimum. if you are fit enough try a walk along the beach to Vilamoura. it takes about one and a half hours have a look round and bus back. it's well worth it.

Room Tip: sea view high floor rooms are worth the extra for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Our apologies for the stormy weather, just one day. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

After driving for around 30mins, the shuttle pulled into what seemed like an estate of hotels, various multi-coloured concrete pantheons looming in all directions, we pulled up outside one of these and thought to ourselves ‘feel sorry for who’s staying here’ it was of course at that point the driver announced we were at Port Bay..Our sprits sank. We walked up the stairs into the bright clean reception and immediately we caught sight of the view across the pool to the sea, spirits very much lifted.
We had arrived rather early, just after 10am and were expecting to have to leave our luggage, go for a wander and check in at the appointed 2pm. It was a pleasant surprise that we were informed that our room was ready and that we could check-in immediately. This made such a difference and we felt like we’d gained an extra day.

The interior of the hotel and the rooms are decorated in a style the like of which I’ve not experienced in similar resorts. Usually these large-ish beach hotels are all white washed walls, cooling floor tiles etc, the Porto Bay however, is filled with dark woods, thick carpets and other touches that reminded me more of a city hotel, in the best way possible.
We had a twin sea view room (a sea view a must). The room wasn’t massive, but was adequate with all the facilities you’d expect for a four, perhaps even five star place. The bathroom again was nice enough, it was stocked with Ritual products which was a nice touch, perhaps the old plastic ‘over the bath’ shower was the only mild let down, but it did give off quite a blast.

The pool area was immaculate (coldest pool in the world by the way!), being mid march, it was pretty quiet. It was nice that there was a variety of places to relax, by the pool, in the gardens, on the cliff top look out etc, there has definitely been some thought put into this place.
Breakfast was fine, no better or worse than in similar places, we didn’t eat in the restaurant in the evening as I think it was around 25 Euros each for the buffet and for this price, two of us were able to eat in town. One point of contention..the a la carte restaurant was Italian, why? If I want Italian food, guess where I’ll go? When in Portugal, I want to try Portuguese food. The hotel is situated in a small fishing village, why don’t they source stuff from here and give guests a flavour of the local cuisine, or is this just un-British of me?
The staff were friendly and accommodating save for what I presume was the night receptionist/manager, a tall blonde man, think he may have been German, very gruff and abrupt.

The hotel is in Olha d’agua, a smallish fishing town. The main part of the town is no more than a five minute walk down the hill. The town is pretty quiet but there are at least 5-6 bars, a nightclub or two and in excess of ten or so varied restaurants, so there is plenty to keep you occupied for a week. There is a beach down in town, but the one accessed from the hotel is far nicer. We ventured in to Albufiera one night to see if we were missing out, we weren’t. It’s a big town, full of concrete and tourist trap restaurants, the whole night we were plagued with demands to go into various eateries, we were so glad we’d chosen to stay a bit further out.

The hotel is four star, and I can see why. Almost everything is branded with the Porto Bay logo; it reminded me a bit of a Vegas hotel. In so much of what they do it’s obvious to see the care and attention that has gone into it yet, it’s also quite scruffy in many ways. In our room, we had a wire dangling over the balcony door, not sure if it was live, we daren’t touch it, the toilet had a huge scuff on the seat and there was plaster coming away from the wall. The room door looked as those the lock had been forced at some point and a hasty repair job had taken place, the locked didn’t seem right and we were quite sure whether the door was shut properly, also the bathroom door wasn’t hung correctly and the extractor in the bathroom didn’t seem to work. The beds are also far from 5* quality, hard with thin foam mattresses, I felt stiff every morning. If you looked closely in the corridors there were a few holes in the walls and plaster flaking away, like I said, this all seemed slightly at odds with the other outstanding features of this place.
One final gripe, and it’s not necessarily just this venue, but, if I leave the ‘do not disturb’ sign on the door, do not disturb me! I know the maids have a job to do, but I dont want or need my room to be cleaned every day, I want to lay in some mornings and relax. Every day we were constantly bothered as to when we wanted our rooms cleaned, we told them we didn’t, yet the minute we left for the pool or the beach, they’d be in there. A number of times, despite leaving the sign on the door, we’d return late afternoon and find our room being serviced and so we’d have to hang about for 10-20 mins, I really wish they’d just respect your privacy a bit more.
Anyway, to surmise; A great hotel in a great location. Worthy of four stars. We are already looking at other Porto Bay resorts as we were so pleased with our stay here. Very recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SMI9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing