We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stunning location!"”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We last visited this part of the Algarve 10 years ago and returned because of the fabulous Falesia Beach and we were not disappointed!

The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic and we could not fault it, even had 4 double sunloungers overlooking the cliffs and the sea - felt like you were on an exclusive holiday and were the only guests! Pool obviously very chilly at this time of year - but necessary at times to cool down. There was also a pool restaurant for lunch with the same wonderful views over the sea.

Food wasn't great - very average style of buffet, nowhere near as good as we have had on all-inclusive holidays! The restaurant that you could pay for in the hotel in the evenings was mainly pasta and pizzas and certainly not worth the money or a visit to. We did change our half board option on several occasions so that we had lunch instead of dinner in the evenings, this entitled you to 15 Euros each to spend on lunch in the pool bar restaurant, whereby the food seemed to be of a much better standard but you struggled to only spend 15 Euros each - often it was much more including drinks. There were a few very good restaurants a 10 minute walk away - The Ambrosia, Portuguese restaurant was excellent - the hotel will suggest a few and give you map.

The staff at reception, the staff at the bar in the evening and the maids were extremely helpful - we did not find this to be the case so much in the hotel restaurants though and on several occasions it was difficult to get a drink around the pool, due to lack of waiters/waitressess in the afternoon.

Definately more of a couples hotel - not much going on for children or teenagers and entertainment in the evening was ok, but certainly not fantastic! We would however, revisit due to the location of the hotel, but one week would be adequate as we felt the hotel was a bit dated could do an update from the 80's!

Overrall a very relaxing and memorable break and we will revisit.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room on 5th floor if possible for fantastic views! Only downside is you only ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Hotel completely refurbished six years ago and rooms with new carpet and painting since two months ago. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 2,470 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is my second visit to this hotel, having been here three years ago on a work conference. This trip was a quiet break for my wife & I, it was everything we expected. The hotel is fabulous, the staff are wonderful & the location is fantastic. Set on a cliff top, above a beautiful beach, we strolled along many times. The location is quiet, but has easy access to Villamora & Alberfiera. I am sure we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room for your best option, because if you do not you may be facing the car park &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 23Sandy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Returned from Porto Bay Falesia yesterday after a really superb holiday. We had upgraded to a suite which was lovely and spacious with two balconies (three tv's although a bit lacking in variety of programmes in English other than news!) with fantastic sea and garden views and loads of room - well worth the extra. Everywhere was so clean and the lady who serviced our room was always really pleasant and accommodating even though I'm sure she didn't understand a word of what we were saying.

We really enjoyed all the buffets at breakfast and dinner and there appeared to be something for every taste. The fruit was exquisite and the plates were replenished regularly. Went in the cabaret bar a couple of nights which was a bit quiet but we appreciate it is not high season and enjoyed the atmosphere of the football final in the TV bar area. We ate at the pool restaurant a couple of lunchtimes and there was plenty on offer from snacks to full meals.

Without exception we found all the staff extremely friendly and helpful with any requests we had and there were smiles and a friendly 'hello' when passing them in the hotel and grounds.

I think the hotel would be most suited to couples and families as there didn't appear to be a lot of local nightlife - the beach was beautiful but it is quite a steep walk down to it and there's loads of room around the pool and in the gardens for enjoying the sun.

We enjoyed our visits to Albufeira and Vilamoura but decided that taxis were the best option after attempting the buses and a very long walk into Albufeira. We are regulars at the Eden Mar in Madeira and they run a complimentary bus backwards and forwards to Funchal every hour or so - perhaps I could suggest that this might be a good idea (even if it incurred an extra charge) as the distance is longer.

Overall we really enjoyed our holiday and, unusually, had absolutely no complaints regarding the hotel - the weather could have been a bit warmer but, unfortunately, that is totally out of their control! Our next visit is to their sister hotel, the Eden Mar, in Madeira but would definitely like to return to the Porto Bay Falesia again in the future.

I would recommend the Porto Bay Falesia to couples and families looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday.

Obrigado to all those who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our corner suite (220) was beautiful - sun in the morning on one balcony overlooking the gardens and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazzanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review, a great "Obrigado" as well. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from the most relaxing of holidays. Hotel location is stunning with beautiful areas to sit and while away the hours. However only a 5 minute walk to the village and numerous good restaurants. Staff were polite, friendly and unobstrusive. Didnt see any managers but not an issue for me. Hotel and grounds were spotless. However please buy the pool man/gardener a decent hose. Poor soul using his finger to direct the water whilst cleaning. Rooms well equiped if slightly compact though plenty of storage. Breakfast offered a great choice. Always replenished and decent coffee. Relaxed atmosphere and no rushing for the last sausage. Beautiful sitting on the terrace. Tasty and reasonably priced food available at the pool bar. Recommend the rose sangria and steak sandwich. Ate in the Basillico restaurant once. Beautifully presented fine dining. Few negatives. No wifi which is strange. Poor choice of English tv channels. Entertainment mediocre. Not important to me but is for some. Definitely a couples hotel and would not recommend for families unless very young kids. If you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location with excellent service and food then this ticks all the boxes. I do, so will be back. Already priced it for August.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank viviennelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Free Wi-Fi available in all public areas, access subject to a fee in all rooms. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. We are not fans of buffets, but Porto Bay had other restaurants for afternoon and evening dining, both at the hotel and within close walking distance. Our room overlooked the pool area, and the balcony made a peaceful and shady afternoon retreat. We stayed on a room on the 1st floor, and noise from the nightly entertainment (and Sat night soccer games) was a bit annoying--but easily overcome by music from our iPad. The a/c ensured our Western preference for cool sleeping was met, and the location was great. Staff were helpful and pleasant beyond expectation. I cannot remember another hotel where the front desk staff member allowed the phone to ring while he answered my question. Perhaps I have lived in Germany too long......

The environment was relaxing, the hotel clean and well-maintained, the food exquisite, and the staff superb. I would recommend Porto Bay Falesia to friends and family without reservation!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank daffydoc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our 10-day holiday here was lovely, as it has always been when we have visited before. Nearly all staff are welcoming and go out of their way to help you whenever possible. Being (safely) at the edge of a cliff, the hotel has fantastic views of the sea and beach. There is a gate from the hotel grounds that lead to steps down to the beach. You need to be fairly fit for the walk back up and if you are not sure, I’d suggest walking up to the fifth floor of the hotel – if you find that too much you may struggle. It is possible to drive down (ask reception for directions) but they have sensibly just introduced parking restrictions on the track, so if there is no space when you get there, I suppose you’ll just have to try another day. There is a vigilant team of lifeguards on the beach and they operate a flag system. I was grateful for their warning and in case anyone else is not sure, yellow means you should not go into depth above your waist due to currents! If you want to check colour before walking down, you can see a flag if you walk through the hotel gardens down to the platform where there are some double loungers in the shade under some trees.
The pool/garden area is mostly quiet and peaceful – if you want noisy entertainment and loud music, this is not the place for you! The hotel pool restaurant has a good lunch/snack menu and we were pleased to find there are now some non-smoking tables outside as well. It would be nice for some of us if there were a non-smoking section in the sunbed area round the pool and I wouldn’t mind if they followed some other hotels with a ban on non-urgent mobile phone use as well!
Rooms are comfortable and kept clean efficiently. From the design of the building, some bathrooms have issues with water and odour coming from the drain in the bathroom floor. The hotel dining room is spacious and clean with some tables outside – all ‘no smoking’ now. The food itself is mostly very good but preparation and service spoils some of it. In the mornings, cooked breakfasts and pancakes are spoiled by being cooked in advance and kept warm for too long. Even when you see appetising fresh pancakes being fried in front of you, the woman who cooks them most days wants you to take an old one from the warm pile she prepared earlier. She does not take kindly to requests for a hot, fresh one that will spoil her system! She is slightly more lenient with the fried eggs but don’t expect service with a smile unless it is her day off and Cristina is doing them. Thank you Cristina! Everyone else in the dining room is friendly and helpful.
The evening entertainment is rarely anything to get excited about and if there is a good act, you’ll be lucky to get a table with a good view.

Room Tip: You have to pay more for a room with sea view rather than garden view. However, some rooms on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Me and my husband stayed at Porto Bay Falesia for 5 days at the beginning of May. Please, see below for the pros/cons/fun stuff and tips:

PROs:

- Beautiful garden surrounding the swimming pool area with amazing pine tree smell - I had the smell in my clothes and towels even after we were back. Delicious. The garden is well-kept, clean and spacious. There are sunlit areas and shady areas. There are four natural verandas outlooking to the ocean (which is a bit noisy in May, but maybe you'll find it soothing). Some verandas have chairs, some have couches and one has wide beds under the trees - suit your fancy.

- Kiddie play area (slightly away from the loungers to preserve peace and quiet for those who need it) - we don't have children, but if we did, we'd be using it.

- Breakfast: variety, quality, freshness, tasty; tables on the veranda outside, tables inside in the shade, tables by the window. Plenty of fruit for those wishing to have a light breakfast, plenty of bread and egg dishes for those who prefer a more substantial breakfast. Lovely watermelon, but... no strawberries. I was looking forward to strawberries in sunny Portugal in May.

- Dinner: I am not much of a dinner eater, but again - the themed buffet (different every day) offers variety, freshness, not too salty foods with two choices of soup, salads, starters, fried foods, steamed foods, baked foods, fish, meat, and various desserts. Good value for money if dinner is one of your main meals. My husband enjoyed his Rose wine.

- Clean room with complimentary tea/coffee, two small jars of peanuts are not complimentary plus of course whatever is in the bar. A while ago we stayed at a place in London which gave us complimentary bakery goods, so it's better to be clear what is complimentary in the room and what is not. Teas/coffees/milks/sugars are refilled every day at about 4 o'clock. You won't get a refill before that hour.

- Our balcony looked to the main entrance area, which gave us a cool, shadowed, refreshing place after we came back from the beach in the afternoon. I wouldn't want any other way, and May is not even that hot. You may pick the sunlit sea view rooms and have the air conditioner on, of course, but personally I like my windows open. A matter of choice, of course.

- Plenty of water in the shower - this may seem like a silly point, but some places in hot holiday resorts have problems with water. There was PLENTY of water in our shower with lovely water pressure. The bathroom has a bidet.

- Proximity to the beach - the beach wasn't too busy in May. There is a lovely cafe on the beach with ocean views which serves drinks and meals and general welcome (pricier than the meals in the village, though).

- The hotel has live music in the bar in the evenings - European/US/local hits of the 70-ies-80-ies-90-ies. Good music. Next door hotel has live music outside, so a couple of times we went there, too.

- There is a medium sized pool downstairs and a jacuzzi. The water in the pool is pleasantly warm, comparing to the outdoor pool. Spa and the usual services that the ladies/gentlemen may wish to avail of: massages, treatments etc. There was virtually nobody in the pool the few times I went there, so I had it all too myself.

- Room and reception will give you towels before you head to the pool area, just remember to ask.

- The outdoor bar staff were beyond any praise the one time we decided to have lunch. We have never met anyone so polite and willing to make us happy and comfy.

- There is a small library on the 1st floor where you can borrow books to read. Very few English books, though. But still - I found something.

- Nice choice of channels on TV - SKY, BBC, Euronews, Russian channel 1, TV5, one kiddie channel, 3 Spanish channels, plenty of German ones, a few French ones and more.

CONs:

- Some receptionists are a tad snappy. Some are very helpful. Very few are genuinely welcoming, unfortunately. We expected a warmer welcome.

- The carpet in the room had some stains.

- The normal room is a smallish one comparing to the ones they advertise on the front page of their website. None of these standard rooms feature in hotel's photos. When you book your rooms, be aware, what KIND of room you're booking. Only some are large.

- The phone in the room wasn't working when we came in. They did fix it after I let them know, however I think it is the job of the Housekeeping staff to check them. It only takes a second.

- Housekeepers do not speak A WORD of English. They understand some of it. (Maybe they have a better knowledge of Spanish or German, I don't know.) They work quietly and efficiently, though.

- On our last day while we were napping someone came in out of the blue "to change the carpets". Not good timing. Why don't you change them when the room is empty of guests?

- Originally, when we were booking the room, we bought a 5 Nights package from their own website. The Package includes: 5 night accommodation, Buffet Breakfast,
3 Buffet Dinners at the restaurant Madeira* (beverages not included), Transfers to and From the Airport - this is a quote from their site. Upon checkout, the receptionists had no clue and gave us a higher bill. So - DO CHECK AND RECHECK YOUR BILL: drinks, snacks and everything. If you buy a package, take a screenshot of the package deal for proof.

- Also, when we tried to book a room through email, we were told, there were no rooms for our chosen dates at all. However, there were plenty of rooms on the hotel's site - we understand, they prefer people to book through their online system. OK, but why lie? Just send us to the site.

- Some ladies by the pool were changing their wet suits for dry suits in front of everybody. The coverage with the towel was symbolic. Unpleasant. Although, the hotel cannot do much about it.

- No free wi-fi.

- Jacuzzi wasn't working properly, the Spa lady wasn't of any help, she had to get another hotel worker - however, in the end my husband figured it out - push the button down and slightly twist it with your thumb. But of course guests at a 4 stars hotel don't have to be doing that.


Fun stuff:

- Screaming birds - there were some that sang and some that screamed. :)
- Be careful what you eat in your room - ants will smell out and find your apple cores. :)
- While breakfasting, spare some breadcrumbs for the sparrows.
- Once at a breakfast, there was a very persistent fly - it wouldn't go, no matter how much I shooed it away. In the end I compromised by offering it a piece of fruit and taking the whole thing onto the windowsill. Where it stayed peacefully under the sun.
- The strawberries at the supermarket were 2,59 per kilo and coming from Spain. I still can't figure out where all the local strawberries were. We ate the Spanish ones anyway.

Tips:

- Do travel to the village - explore the little cafes and restaurants. Do visit the supermarket for some fresh fruit and water. 1,5 Ltr sparkling water is 0,59 as opposed to 3 Euro at the hotel.

- Do eat lots of fish and salads. Local white onion in the salads is sweet as apple.

- Do buy local olive oil before you go, or buy it at the airport duty-free. It's very good.

- Do get some souvenirs - especially bags and purses made by locals out of wood bark. Something unique.

- Do wear hats and sunscreen.

Room Tip: I can only say that I suspect that the sea view rooms will be rather warm in the afternoon. Also, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you very much for your extensive review. All rooms at our webpage have sizes and pictures according to room type and they are all available either directly with reservations dept. or by webpage. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused, carpets change process just on empty rooms, or under guest permission, will check what happened, however all rooms presently with new carpet. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 152 in Albufeira
1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 152 in Albufeira
2,071 reviews
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 152 in Albufeira
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
8.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,741 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £53 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing