We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
france
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Lovely location, good facilities, clean rooms. Staff very helpful and pleasant. The walk to the beach is long and involves walking past a rowdy pool of a neighbouring low rent hotel and this takes the luxury away from the experience but all in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Facing the sea if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,313
    651
    122
    24
    10
See reviews for
407
1,371
62
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent a week in this hotel at the end of May. The location is beautiful, views of the sea and beach from several seating areas around the hotel grounds.
I had previously e-mailed the hotel asking for a room near the lifts as my husband is disabled. They put us in 304 which was ideal. They even made a wheelchair available for my husband to use - nothing was too much trouble. The staff were friendly and efficient. The pool bar staff in particular gave excellent service. Meals in the restaurant were plentiful and varied, although one or two nights my husband was disappointed by the lack of meat (not a fishy person, but I loved it!).The whole hotel was very clean and well kept. The chambermaids worked very hard and very cheerful.
Annoyed that lots of guests put their towels on sunbeds despite a notice to the contrary.
Enjoyed the happy hour 50% drinks early evening too.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed a very relaxing week and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the better views and worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzieBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Maurice, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent 5 days/nights at Porto Bay Falesia (end of may 2014) and we were extremely satisfied. All the staff was very professional, caring, always smiling, and spoke good english, some french (and probably other languages). Whenever we had a specific request, the manager was very helpful and efficient. The food was always fresh, clean, and tasty. So were the rooms : very comfortable and clean. The pool area is very relaxing (no annoying music or dj), the access to the beach convenient, and what a beach !!
Only negative point (but it's ok to live a few days 'disconnected') : 6 euros per day for wifi (we chose no wifi !)
Anyways, on the plane back home, we were already debating on when we would next visit Porto Bay Falesia…!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. You can start to organise your next stay, we do have now free internet in all social areas. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We enjoyed 10 days in this hotel in May. As other contributors have said the hotel is lovely very relaxed the staff are very polite, from the reception to the cleaners all spoke and if asked anything they went out of their way to help.
We had no issue with he food always fresh and plentiful, clean rooms every day. We didn't have a sea view, not really bothered about that as we don't spend that much time in the room.
If I have to make any observations, not really a complaint, is free wi-fi should be available throughout the hotel, it is very patchy.
We also noticed that the vent drain in the bathroom (room 181) started to smell but that was on the last day, I didn't bother to report it.
We enjoyed this hotel and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anniemo-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Free Wi-fi now available throughout the hotel except rooms (small charge). Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The location, service, facilities, food, I could go on, this place exceeded our expectations, it is situated within walking distance to the beach and the village of Olhos d agua which I would recommend over many other places in that area particularly if you prefer a nice meal and a quiet walk along the beach in the evening as apposed to clubbing or just drinking! The beach is beautiful and you can walk for miles, and there is a plenty of activities and restaurants near by. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations of a 4*.

The rooms were spacious and beds unbelievably comfortable with a slim duvet rather than just a sheet and fluffy pillows. Complimentary Rituals products everyday.

Reception were always friendly and helpful with taxi’s and when we couldn’t work out our safe in our room!

Breakfast was really good, everything you could want, fresh fruit bar, bread station, cheese & meats, eggs, sausages and pancakes! And you can have a glass of bubbles too, which I thought was a nice touch. Tea & coffee served to your table and the rest was buffet style.

We ate lunch in the bar restaurant a few days and the food was great, it was well made and a lot of it! the waiters and waitresses were really helpful and recommended some good wine. There was waiter service to your sun loungers too.

The setting of the hotel is beautiful, lots of places to sunbathe with a few quiet areas overlooking the cliffs and beach. The beach is a walk down some steep steps and you can walk all the way along the beach to the marina, which takes about an hour and half, with some nice places to stop along the way.

We visited the bar in the evening a couple of times, and they had a lady signing, but it was a bit dry. It was nice for a quiet drink and they made a mean Hendricks and tonic! We were younger than most there and preferred somewhere with a bit more atmosphere, but still good for a quite drink.

Overall I would highly recommend and would definitely go back – It is good for couples.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zozzle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel was nice and worth the money you pay for it. Rooms we're clean and bed was comfortable.
Breakfast had a limited variety and really doesn't cater for vegetarian needs.
Excellent resort for 50 plus age group.

Room Tip: Room with sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SZA1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing