We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As we hoped”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“As we hoped”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Being time share owners of this hotel group, we trusted that the experience would be as good as The Residence in Madera. We had no need to worry, everything was just as good with a room change for a better view no problem. Staff were wonderful, along with setting and good choice of food. We had friends staying in the area for the same week who ended up visiting us at The Porto Bay several times as they much preferred our hotel. Thank you for a wonderful holiday

Room Tip: Sea view a must, higher rooms to the east the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Difficult to compare with the Residence but we have a better beach... Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,343
    664
    125
    24
    9
See reviews for
411
1,407
63
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Having read all the reviews I wasn't disappointed the staff are excellent pool area clean with plenty of beds .It was our anniversary we where greeted with a bottle of champagne the village is small but plenty of bars .must say having looked at other resorts we picked the best area try pinnoccos for a drink.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank millers1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My partner and I have just spent 11 days at this Hotel , good location very helpful staff, spotlessly clean, lovely pool area plenty of sun beds and shades! we where on Bed and Breakfast but ate in the Hotel three nights and could not fault the food that goes for breakfast too
the only downside was the room! really not enough storage space as in drawers! very clean, but overall very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelac825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is very well located on a cliff overlooking a rocky beach and the ocean yet very close to town and restaurants. Worth investing in a room with an ocean view on a higher floor. Polite staff, comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biedronka15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

First visit to this hotel and will return next year because we had such a good time. Have had experience of Porto Bay Cliff Bay hotel in Madeira (5 star rating) so knew the standard to expect with Porto Bay Falesia (4 star rating). Smart, clean and tidy appearance to hotel. Staff were excellent all through hotel, with special mention for Carlos in poolside snack bar(friendly, courteous, helpful and charming) who should be promoted!!!. We had a 5th floor room with side sea view and were well satisfied. On bed/b'fast deal so can't comment on evening meal but b'fast was good with wide selection of food. Evening entertainment left a lot to be desired but you can always sit outside and ignore it!! Nevertheless we will return.

Room Tip: Choose high floor sea view for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank palucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose the Porto Bay Falesia after staying in the Porto Bay Santa Maria in Funchal. The standards are equally high. Good location within a 5 minute walk down hill to the little town centre where there is a wide variety of excellent restaurants. We opted for a sea-view room which was a little disappointing due to it being on the first floor and hence a restricted view through trees. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold dishes. Only complaint would be that the orange juice is out of a machine. Fresh orange juice costs 3.50 euros. Seems ridiculous when there are street vendors selling huge bags of fresh oranges for 1.50 euros! Service in the hotel generally excellent apart from one grumpy barman who really didn't want to be there. Evening entertainment pleasant but not quite 4 star standard.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must but try to get a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FeathersMcGraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused at the Bar, presently offering fresh orange juice at breakfast, however the orange juice from container is the same brand as Porto Santa Maria. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great accommodation situated 5 minutes from a stunning beach in between vilamoura and albufeira !

A great location if you want to avoid the buzz of two lively resorts either side,
Porto Bay is perfect for accessing both neighbouring areas by car relatively easily but without the late night stragglers on the way home disturbing a good holiday sleep !

Great clean well looked after accommodation looking out onto the ocean, highly recommend a sea view room, definatley worth the extra cost, food is plentiful and of good quality with a large selection and great choice whatever your fancy !

Breakfast is stunning, crispy bacon, gorgeous eggs and tons of fresh fruit washed down with an ice cold glass of cava and the pool bar menu is excellent - the monkfish skewer a personal fave !

Drinks in the bar in the evening are stunning, highly recommend the mohitos or the kit royale and totally worth a swift one before heading out for dinner.

Too tip.... If you want to sit in the shaded garden area overlooking the beach - get down there early, very popular little spot to unwind, munch on some peanuts with a beer and read your book.

Great stay and good value for money, thanks a million.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonahandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing