We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We went to this hotel as it is part of the Porto Bay Group and we had stayed in the Porto Bay Cliff Bay Hotel in Madeira. We enjoyed the four day break and would definitely return although it was different from the Cliff Bay which we love. The hotel is sited above a lovely beach where we could walk for miles and close by is the village with some good restaurants which we shall use on another visit. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety in fruit, cerals, breads and pastries. The cooked food was spoilt by rather inferior bacon and sausages. We stayed in the hotel for dinner. The hors d'ouevres were great with plenty of variety and choice. The main courses were on the whole quite disappointing and then the desserts were good. Another time we would not stay in the hotel for dinner. The facilities are good and the staff are polite, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a great four day break as all we wanted to do was walk, swim and lie in the sun. There is a pleasant garden area and plenty of space around the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,341
    663
    125
    24
    9
See reviews for
411
1,404
63
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just returned from the Porto Bay Falesia, we stayed at the hotel for 10 days and we were very impressed. On first impressions the hotel was very clean and the lobby was smart. The welcome from the reception staff was very friendly and check in was efficient.

We had a rear facing room and it was more than adequate. The room was a reasonable size and was nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable, it was nice to have a thin duvet. The bathroom was great with a bath and shower, the shower was very powerful and nice ritual toiletries were provided. Although I can see that a sea view room would have been lovely we felt that for us it wasn't worth the money to upgrade as we spend a relatively small amount of time in our room. Our balcony got early evening sun which is the only time we would ever use it so for us a rear facing room was perfect. The cleaners did a superb job of keeping the rooms immaculate and they picked up on any issues with the rooms such as light bulbs going out and got them sorted out in no time.

The pool area was very well looked after and there were plenty of sun loungers. The views over the ocean were stunning. The grounds were all beautifully maintained. There was a nice poolside bar and restaurant that sold nice if slightly expensive food. The service was excellent at the poolside bar, all the staff were extremely friendly.

The breakfast was really nice with loads of choice. There was a good selection of hot foods plus cold cuts, fresh fruits, pastries (including delicious Portuguese custard tarts), nice coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. We never went hungry.

We had a meal at il basilico which was lovely and also went to a BBQ which was tasty with loads of choice and wine included in the price.

Overall we loved our stay, the location was lovely and peaceful but near enough to more lively places and restaurants. The staff without exception were lovely and helpful. Overall a lovely experience and brilliant holiday. We are already considering visiting the Porto Bays in Lisbon and one of the hotels in Madeira.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sfl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia or Lisbon (Porto Bay Liberdade). Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just got back from our 10 night stay at Porto Bay Falesia. We both really enjoyed our stay here, the quality of the hotel is far better than the quality of the other European 4 star hotels we have visited previously. The location of the hotel is in a quiet area off Albufeira with an adequate amount of places near by for dining out and only a couple mins walk down a private path to the beach, yet only a €6-7 taxi trip to get to the main strip in Albufeira also. The room itself was well equipped and even though we were right above the main entrance with the road right below us, it was still quiet enough as so we weren't disturbed by noise and never woken by traffic etc.. We only ate breakfast here so all I can say about the food is that the quality is as expected and the variety of food was high enough so that we were spoilt for choice even after 10 days. All the staff were friendly and spoke excellent English, there was only one little incident where there was a mix up about a payment for an excursion but the staff soon rectified this and apologised for the mix up, no harm done.
If we return to Portugal I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank R-Burgess-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having stayed at Porto Bay hotels in the past in Madeira I already knew of the chain's first class philosophy when it comes to staff and good service and this hotel certainly lived up to expecations. All staff are friendly and the standards of service they provide is friendly and first class.

The hotel enjoys a good location with excellent views over the cliffs and sea, a short ten minute walk to the centre of Olhos D'Agua. Every inch if the hotel is clean and tidy and the facilities are good. There is a large pool and access to the beach below by private footpath/steps. There are plenty of sunbeds/umbrellas beside the pool or on a grassy area alongside. There were one or two days during our stay (early June) where after late morning you might have trouble finding a sunbed though I saw only one or two days when the sunbathing areas were so busy, but might be an issue in the peak season - the hotel enjoys pretty much 100% occupancy in the peak months

I had a sea view suite. This had a small entry hallway, comfortable bedroom, good bathroom with quality toiletries and large living room with 3 piece suite, dining table and small kitchenette with kettle, tea/coffee etc and fresh coffee machine complete with coffeee capsules. Also fridge, microwave, etc. My only disappointment with the room was the impression given when booking that there is a large balcony when you book a suite. In fact there are two completely seperate balconies, one off the bedroom and a (very small) one off the living room, not connected or in view of each other. As they are next to each other, sperated by a wall, it is a shame they cannot knock through this wall to create one large balcony.

Also, the hotel, if asked, say they will "try and accommodate any requests" i.e. high floor room. Unfortunately, in reality this amounts to seeing what is available when you arrive/check in, they do not trouble themselves to plan in ahead to accommodate such requests. Specific rooms appear to be allocated only on the day or maybe the night before. I do appreciate that logistically such requests are difficult and it requires careful thought/planning and so creates more work but the best hotels do manage it.

We were B&B so cannot comment on meals except for breakfast which was a very substantial buffet with everything you could want, including freshly cooked hot food, wide selection of bread, fruit, cereals, meats, cakes, etc. Special mention must go to the restuarant staff at breakfast who give a consistent excellent, efficient service with always a smile (even when serving ignorant guests who can't even utter any kind of "thank you" when their used plates and mess is cleared up so promptly)

Unfortunately although I booked a transfer from the airport with the hotel they neglected to book the taxi, meaning I spent 45 minutes looking for a non-existant driver at FAO before calling the hotel to learn that they had in fact forgotton to book it. I therefore took a taxi, this cost me Euro 50 as opposed to the hotel cost of Euro 40 but the hotel were very apologetic and immediately paid the difference (I must say that if I was reception manager I would have made the gesture of paying for the whole transfer under those circumstances but no matter!)

So I can definately recommend this hotel. Olhos D'Agua itself is a different story, I was very disappointed with the village itself which is nothing like many of the pretty, bustling villages that can be found along the coast (i.e. Alvor). This place is rather scruffy and the presentation of most of the restuarants leaves alot to be desired. If you wish to eat in the outdoor seating at a restuarant you will at most places have to sit on uncomfortable plastic or metal tubed garden chairs, with no cushion, at plastic tables with no effort whatsoever to add any sparkle or atmosphere. No wonder most were empty. Right down by the harbour there was a little more atmosphere but this was spoint by the prevelance of loud music bars and lack of any romantic restuarants with real character. Such a shame - the village and its location shows much promise, but whoever looks after tourism for the area needs to get the restuarant owners together and point out some obvious and simple ideas that could transform their places for very little cost.

As a result, we went further afield on most nights but this was not a problem as Albufeira is a short taxi (or bus) ride away, as is Vilamoura. However, because of the lack of character of the village we are unlikley to visit again. We will however stay with Porto Bay hotels again for sure (a new hotel opens in Lisbon shortly) and I would recommend the chain highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suitableforupgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review and detailed comments. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused with taxi transfer, will look with reception to find what was the problem with booking. We try our best to fulfill all clients request, but very dificult in some rooms types with hotel running 100% and average 10 days stays. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for a week in May. We had a friendly welcome from Simeos who we found helpful during our stay.The hotel is in a good location with beautiful views of the sea and the colourful cliffs. There are steps down to the long beach which are shallow and even with a couple of resting places with a bench if you need them. It is a short walk from the village of Olhos d'agua where there is another beach and several restaurants.
The hotel is well maintained and immaculately clean. The garden and pool area are lovely and well kept. I didn't find the outdoor pool too cold so the solar panels must be helping.
We ate in for breakfast and for the evening themed buffets.
I liked that we could choose where to sit.
For breakfast I chose from a good selection of fresh fruit followed by a cooked breakfast that included a tasty fritata. However I thought the orange juice and the pastries were disappointing for a 4* hotel, like the economy brands from a British supermarket, especially as oranges grow in abundance locally. We bought a large bag of about 30 local oranges from the roadside for around £1. The pasteis de nata were soggy and somewhat lacking in flavour with the exception of on the last day when they were superb.
There was an excellent selection of salads at the evening buffet followed by cooked meat and fish. I especially liked the beef picanha and the perch and swordfish. Service there was variable but Mila was great and found our missing bottle of wine.
The other restaurant in the hotel served Italian food, we didn't eat there. I would have preferred to have tried some local specialities such as cataplana.
Trying to get merchandise from the spa was a slow and frustrating experience.
The staff at the poolside cafe were all really good, we regularly went there for drinks and enjoyed apple tart and an excellent steak on a stone on our last day.
We steered clear of the evening entertainment which mostly sounded like 20th C pop. One evening flamenco was advertised but when we got there we were disappointed as it was not flamenco.
I would have liked some Fado.
I enjoyed a Portuguese lesson and an interesting chat about the locality with Sissy.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review and food & beverage tips. Fresh orange juice available at breakfast since June. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry England
Level Contributor
219 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent hotel, location on a cliff overlooking the sea - stunning. Comfortable beds and rooms cleaned daily, towels changed daily, including beach towels. All staff helpful and friendly. We stayed on the bed and breakfast basis, where a good selection of breakfast food was offered, to suit all tastes, fresh fruit, cold meats and cheeses. Hot food, bacon, sausages, eggs, etc. Bread(s), pastries, tea, coffee fruit juices and cava if you are adventurous!. Pool area lovely, still a few people reserving sun beds, this was not discouraged by hotel staff, though it didn't effect us. My only gripe is that the local bars and resteraunts didn't match up to the quality that the hotels bought to the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Covbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went to Porto Bay Falesia because we had been to Porto Bay Eden Mar in Madeira last year and loved it. This hotel was 1st class too. We were b&b as we like to try local restaurants but we did take 3 meals in the hotel main restaurant (very good value), 2 bbq's and 2 meals in the a la carte as well as a couple of lunches in the pool bar and the food was excellent in all of them but the a la carte especially was wonderfully presented and as good as a high end restaurant whilst being reasonably priced, the setting overlooking the sea and cliffs added to the experience. Our favourite local traditional restaurant was Calherios (down a side street off the main road from Albuferia) which we visited 3 times and for lunch S Martino for Pizza or salad or Café Crème which is great value. It was our 1st visit to the Algarve and in all honesty, though it has beautiful beaches we probably wont go again as it much more for those who like to sun bathe for most of the day and isn't perhaps as interesting as Madeira where we loved Funchal old town and museum and churches etc. We did hire a car for a few days though and visited, Silves, Lagos, Alte and the mountains and the General Manager. who was very knowledgeable and genuinely interested and helpful gave us lots of tips of where to go. Back to the hotel though, it was a beautiful setting, lovely beach just the right size village, great food, definitely first class staff (especially in the bar where we always started and finished our evening and Il basilica), very well run and led by 'hands on' management. The entertainment was a little bit cheesy but okay and probably what most people want and I would definitely recommend Porto Bay as a group of hotels, the loyalty scheme (10% off everything if you have used them just once previously) is excellent and makes you feel valued and more likely to use hotel services (check your bill on checkout though as ours wasn't on and we had to remind them - no problem). If you plan on a holiday in the Algarve you cannot do better than this hotel I think, just the right balance between luxury and relaxed.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor sea view and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing