We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porto Bay,”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our first visit to Portugal, we were recommended to the Porto Bay,for a peaceful relaxing holiday, which was exactly that. Lovely rooms, very clean, towels and bedding changed most days, as was the whole of the hotel, reception area very attractive, All staff friendly and helpful. We were on the 5th floor with a part sea/garden view, upgraded with no extra charge. We only had bed and breakfast, but with so much to choose from we didn't need much for lunch and found plenty of places to eat in the evening. A very quiet area and more suitable for older people.Would recommend for the lovely views and beautiful areas in the garden and around pool to relax. 133 steps to the lovely sandy beach so not suitable for everyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Hilary p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,341)
There are newer reviews for PortoBay Falesia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 2,341 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from spending a week at this wonderful hotel. Can't fault it at all . We booked this hotel and emailed them to tell them it was our anniversary whilst there and asked for a higher floor room. Upon arriving at our room on the 4th floor the porter told us we had been upgraded to a superior room which was great as the room was bigger than the standard rooms. We didn't have a sea view room but the view was fine we looked over other hotels and beyond on to the country side. We even received a free bottle of brut on our anniversary which was a lovely touch. The hotel staff are all friendly and the hotel spotless. We stayed Bed breakfast and was more than happy with what was on offer each morning. We spent the whole week around the pool chilling and walking along the beach. Ok there is about 140 steps to the beach but they are not a problem unless you are very unfit. The hotel is only a 10 min walk to the very small town . All in all a great hotel for a relaxing holiday .

Room Tip: If you can afford a sea view room then go for it but to be honest the other views are all ok .
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dieselSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have just returned from a very relaxing week at the Falesia. This is a large rather impersonal hotel on the cliff top above Olhos d'Agua. It is a short walk to all the excellent bars and restaurants in the village. Breakfasts were excellent with freshly squeezed orange juice a star. all the staff were very polite and most spoke excellent English. The outdoor pool is lovely and there was no trouble getting sunbeds. It is a pity that the pool surrounds are not regularly cleaned,old wet paper napkins, straws lying on the edge for a couple of days. We had a superior room on the first floor above the bar area. It was rather noisy until the entertainment stopped at midnight. Try and get a higher floor, the views are also much better. We were B&B but did have the barbeque one evening 19€. the salads and starters were lovely but the meats and fish were dry and disappointing. Drinks are very reasonably priced for a 4 star hotel.
Would we go again? Possibly, but not during a world cup!

Room Tip: Sea view room on floors on the higher floors
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked the PBF as we had stayed at the Porto Mare resort in Madeira and found that the usual Porto Bay standards were evident. Customer service was very good.The hotel sits on the cliff top with fantastic views. There are a couple of footpaths down to the beach but its a bit of a climb back up all those steps. Lots of sunbeds and very peaceful in the garden area. Olhos De Agua is a quiet little resort which has grown from a fishing village. There is only a small choice of bars and restaurants so we took up the hotel promotion for 3 dinners and found the food was very good. Another good restaurant can be found in the neighbouring village of Roje Pe called O Pinhal...recommend the Portuguese steak. When we return to the Algarve, we will choose the PBF.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, these can cost extra.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Wonderful hotel in a fantastic surrounding!
We liked the big pool and a LOT of sunbeds - you don't have to fight with anyone to get a bed and a parasol. Views were amazing, and we took daily walks on the (firm) beach - especially when tide was low. Not suitable to swim in the ocean for small children - hight waves sometimes
Food for dinner was OK, but could use a bit more variation. Breakfast was fine
Walk to Olhos de Agua (small town by the sea) took 15 minutes. Several restaurants to be found there. Nice, big double bed in the Junior Suite
Only problem we experienced was really bad wifi connection in our room (320) on the 3rd floor, but I think they installed more WiFi Access Points on the day we left?

Room Tip: Room 320 is a Junior Suite with excellent Sea View from two balconies
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Presently new wi-fi cable and antenas which improved connection and band. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for one night before departing home after some days at the Algarve. The hotel is amazingly located with a breathtaking view over the Atlantic ocean.

Although it's one of the bigger resorts, we found it surprisingly individual with nice small details such as coloured beanbag chairs and beds to enjoy the view over the sea.

Breakfast is fine, parking space is available and at the main street some few mins away are dozen of tasty restaurants which are catering to a crowd of Portuguese and tourists alike.

The only point to criticize is the staff which is serving the food outside at the pool bar: Those boys and girls really seem to be highly disinterested in delivering a good job, not to speak of service in terms of asking if you wanted anything after sitting there for 30 mins.

In addition the management wants you to pay for WiFi which is just another sign of not having reached modern times where you expect a hotel of this standard to not only train staff appropriately but also deliver a fast and sustainable WiFi connection complimentary.

All in, the hotel is a very good place to unwind after a trip and offers amazing views and long walks along the beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveltheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Presently wi-fi is free of charge at all public areas including pool areas. Please accept our apologies for any delay at the Pool Bar, normally one of our best rated service areas. Should stay longer to enjoy the hotel, one day is to short. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Falesia is truly a fantastic hotel . We couldn't fault anything in our weeks stay.
It fully lives up to its 4 Stars, the staff are very friendly & hardworking. The food is very good and the whole place is immaculate. If you want to feel pampered in a quiet,laid back resort, then this is the place for you!
Thank you again to all the Staff at the Porto Bay Falesia, you're all doing a great job and deserve plenty of praise. Well Done!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glenip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
2,009 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £50 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing