We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Porto Bay and it was a fantastic experience.The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly,courteous and extremely polite.Special mention for Carlos and Manuel who are a credit to the hotel.We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfasts were excellent.Plenty of choice of hot and cold options,fruit and pastries.Set in a lovely location we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.We will be returning at some point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,391
    690
    133
    25
    9
See reviews for
425
1,468
66
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What make the Porto Bay Falesia so special is the staff and their attention to detail.

From the people on reception to the restaurant staff, the poolside service and the maids - everyone is happy, pleasant and helpful. Throughout the day there are people walking round checking and making sure everything is OK.

The breakfasts are very good indeed with lots of choice, especially the fresh fruit, and while we were there there was unlimited freshly squeezed orange juice. The Portuguese egg tarts (not every day) were wonderful ..... what a way to start the day !!

There was plenty of choice at dinner with all the dishes being regularly refilled as well as at least two 'show cooking' stations. The dinner is themed and changes nightly, so there is always something different to try.

There is a large outside pool, which is big enough to actually swim in, and plenty of loungers both poolside and in a grassy area.

The hotel (this was late June) was very peaceful. There was no poolside music or rowdy entertainment. Even the aqua-robics were held with low music levels and away from the main pool area. The 6 day a week activities were run very well and catered for most tastes.

We stayed in a standard room with a land view which was of reasonable size with a good sized balcony. The beds are very comfortable !!

The hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants and bars and a couple of supermarkets. You need transport to get to Albuferia !

The hotel is on the top of a cliff but there is a path down to the local beach (136 steps - sounds worse than it is actually !). When the tide is out you can walk from here along the beach to the main town beach and do a circuit back to the hotel.

If you are taking a hire car from the airport, either get a good map for the final few km or ask the hotel to email their local map.

As you can tell we were very impressed by this Porto Bay Hotel and will probably be trying others in the group (as many of the guests that we talked to have already done !

Room Tip: A sea view room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UndercoverGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. Hotel was running 95 % late June. Thank you for the staff compliments. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our second visit to Portugal. Arriving at this hotel check in was quick and easy. Our room on the second floor overlooked the entrance road to the hotel and an adjacent hotel. Very little traffic as the road only served a nearby hotel. It looked west and therefore had good afternoon sun. We slept badly the first night as we were tired after a very early morning flight from UK. The reason for our disturbed sleep was that our room (256) was directly above the bar/entertainment area and so was noisy from 21.00hrs through till late. We asked to change our room, but this wasn't possible on the 2nd day so the offer was to view another room on day 3 and change if we so still wished to. We decided that if we spent time in the entertainment area till late we would be better served.
The hotel was excellent. Pool service discreet and excellent. Sunbeds plentiful both by the pool and in the gardens. Viewpoints with sitting areas are charming. Half board was our option. Food was always good, with fresh orange juice pressed daily for breakfast..
Room service was excellent. Linen, towels, beach towels changed daily. We particularly liked the toiletries.
The beach was a 134 steps but absolutely worth the effort. Tide times were provided in the hotel.
Would I return to this hotel. 100% yes.
Olhus d'Agua is a quiet resort, not for partying pub crawls. Just a few bars, eateries and souvenir shops in the central road to the beach.
The local Portuguese are so welcoming and appreciative of any effort to embrace their language and culture and make you want to return again and again.

Room Tip: Avoid 154/155/254/255 may experience noise from the entertainment are
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Entertainment from 21h30 until 23h30.Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ample sunbeds poolside. Even with people 'reserving' sunbeds. Great poolside drinks service.
Breakfast is brilliant, lots of choice. Just love the Portuguese tarts!
Different themes on different nights, good choices.
Friendly staff throughout the hotel.
Entertainment was not to my liking. Air conditioning in the room wasn't adjustable enough for my taste. But all in all a really wonderful relaxing week away.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s4stacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from a weeks stay at this well appointed hotel I can highly recommend it.
The staff from reception to poolside were very friendly and efficient. Rooms and general hotel generally very well maintained and clean. No trouble getting sunbeds.
Breakfast had a good range of the usual although it would be nice to order omelettes to order instead of just the fried and scrambled eggs on offer.
Pool restaurant had a good range of good value food, Carlos the manager was exceptionally polite and friendly as were all the staff here , other hotels take note it doesn't take much to smile!
Overall i highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back soon at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our first visit to Portugal, we were recommended to the Porto Bay,for a peaceful relaxing holiday, which was exactly that. Lovely rooms, very clean, towels and bedding changed most days, as was the whole of the hotel, reception area very attractive, All staff friendly and helpful. We were on the 5th floor with a part sea/garden view, upgraded with no extra charge. We only had bed and breakfast, but with so much to choose from we didn't need much for lunch and found plenty of places to eat in the evening. A very quiet area and more suitable for older people.Would recommend for the lovely views and beautiful areas in the garden and around pool to relax. 133 steps to the lovely sandy beach so not suitable for everyone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from spending a week at this wonderful hotel. Can't fault it at all . We booked this hotel and emailed them to tell them it was our anniversary whilst there and asked for a higher floor room. Upon arriving at our room on the 4th floor the porter told us we had been upgraded to a superior room which was great as the room was bigger than the standard rooms. We didn't have a sea view room but the view was fine we looked over other hotels and beyond on to the country side. We even received a free bottle of brut on our anniversary which was a lovely touch. The hotel staff are all friendly and the hotel spotless. We stayed Bed breakfast and was more than happy with what was on offer each morning. We spent the whole week around the pool chilling and walking along the beach. Ok there is about 140 steps to the beach but they are not a problem unless you are very unfit. The hotel is only a 10 min walk to the very small town . All in all a great hotel for a relaxing holiday .

Room Tip: If you can afford a sea view room then go for it but to be honest the other views are all ok .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dieselSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,933 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing