We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 11night stay”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous 11night stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for 11 nights at the end of April and had a fabulous holiday, the hotel was spotless including the room and the staff were all friendly and very efficient.The hotels situation is beautiful with stunning views and access to one of the best beaches I have ever seen down quite a few steps but good exercise we walked along the beach every morning and one day into Vilamoura which took about 1 hr and 15 mins so caught the bus back.
For buffet meals we thought the food was excellent and always plentiful whatever time you went for breakfast/ dinner but if you are B and B there are plenty of bars and restaurant's in town about a 10 min walk.
Our only downsides were the bar prices which are double those in town so take advantage of the happy hour from 5 o'clock or visit the supermarket were the green wine and beer was very cheap and the entertainment was the same nearly every night but it was early in the season and overall didn't stop us having one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays we have had we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: I would definitely pay for a sea view as the vista is stunning and if possible a high room but ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,391
    690
    133
    25
    9
See reviews for
425
1,468
66
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

just back form a two week stay at the porto bay. smart clean tidy hotel with always smiling welcomimg staff. located a short downhill walk in to ohlos village where nightlife is low key. several resturants in the area dotted around which i found much the same on the menus but quite cheap to eat in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRADLEY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 8th to 18th of June had a great time lovely room . Brilliant staff and food too . The only downside for us was the usual towels on sunbeds . We saw several people leaving towels on sunbeds and not returning on quite a few occasions . One case in particular more than 4hrs .Olhos D' Agua is a small village resort with lovely beaches a few shops bars and resturaunts .

Room Tip: High floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brenda578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. As you experienced there are many sunbeds to choose around the pool and at the green areas. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Currently on our last day at this excellent hotel and reviewing from the poolside on free hotel wifi which I think is a first for me. WiFi is free in public areas but subject to a charge in your room. The hotel is leased by Porto and as a result not as special as some of their other properties. However, what is lacking in the building is more than made up by the quality of the service. The rooms and public areas are spotless. All of the staff are friendly and very polite. We enjoyed the food. Dinner is a buffet and the quality high. There is an a la carte restaurant but we have not felt it necessary to use it. The resort of ola d'Aqua which is down the hill from the hotel is quite lively at night but the hotel is very peaceful and relaxing. Excellent place for doing nothing. The beaches are a steep walk down but worth it. Overall excellent We will certainly consider returning

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillandJan187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Porto Bay and it was a fantastic experience.The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly,courteous and extremely polite.Special mention for Carlos and Manuel who are a credit to the hotel.We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfasts were excellent.Plenty of choice of hot and cold options,fruit and pastries.Set in a lovely location we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.We will be returning at some point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What make the Porto Bay Falesia so special is the staff and their attention to detail.

From the people on reception to the restaurant staff, the poolside service and the maids - everyone is happy, pleasant and helpful. Throughout the day there are people walking round checking and making sure everything is OK.

The breakfasts are very good indeed with lots of choice, especially the fresh fruit, and while we were there there was unlimited freshly squeezed orange juice. The Portuguese egg tarts (not every day) were wonderful ..... what a way to start the day !!

There was plenty of choice at dinner with all the dishes being regularly refilled as well as at least two 'show cooking' stations. The dinner is themed and changes nightly, so there is always something different to try.

There is a large outside pool, which is big enough to actually swim in, and plenty of loungers both poolside and in a grassy area.

The hotel (this was late June) was very peaceful. There was no poolside music or rowdy entertainment. Even the aqua-robics were held with low music levels and away from the main pool area. The 6 day a week activities were run very well and catered for most tastes.

We stayed in a standard room with a land view which was of reasonable size with a good sized balcony. The beds are very comfortable !!

The hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants and bars and a couple of supermarkets. You need transport to get to Albuferia !

The hotel is on the top of a cliff but there is a path down to the local beach (136 steps - sounds worse than it is actually !). When the tide is out you can walk from here along the beach to the main town beach and do a circuit back to the hotel.

If you are taking a hire car from the airport, either get a good map for the final few km or ask the hotel to email their local map.

As you can tell we were very impressed by this Porto Bay Hotel and will probably be trying others in the group (as many of the guests that we talked to have already done !

Room Tip: A sea view room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UndercoverGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. Hotel was running 95 % late June. Thank you for the staff compliments. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our second visit to Portugal. Arriving at this hotel check in was quick and easy. Our room on the second floor overlooked the entrance road to the hotel and an adjacent hotel. Very little traffic as the road only served a nearby hotel. It looked west and therefore had good afternoon sun. We slept badly the first night as we were tired after a very early morning flight from UK. The reason for our disturbed sleep was that our room (256) was directly above the bar/entertainment area and so was noisy from 21.00hrs through till late. We asked to change our room, but this wasn't possible on the 2nd day so the offer was to view another room on day 3 and change if we so still wished to. We decided that if we spent time in the entertainment area till late we would be better served.
The hotel was excellent. Pool service discreet and excellent. Sunbeds plentiful both by the pool and in the gardens. Viewpoints with sitting areas are charming. Half board was our option. Food was always good, with fresh orange juice pressed daily for breakfast..
Room service was excellent. Linen, towels, beach towels changed daily. We particularly liked the toiletries.
The beach was a 134 steps but absolutely worth the effort. Tide times were provided in the hotel.
Would I return to this hotel. 100% yes.
Olhus d'Agua is a quiet resort, not for partying pub crawls. Just a few bars, eateries and souvenir shops in the central road to the beach.
The local Portuguese are so welcoming and appreciative of any effort to embrace their language and culture and make you want to return again and again.

Room Tip: Avoid 154/155/254/255 may experience noise from the entertainment are
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Entertainment from 21h30 until 23h30.Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,933 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing