We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Porto Bay Falesia for five days in June. We had previously stayed at the Porto Bay Eden Mar in Madeira. The Falesia was everything we expected it to be. Check in was fast and efficient. Throughout our stay all the receptionists were courteous and happy to help. A special mention must go to Tania who was always eager to help and always with a beautiful smile.

Our room was not quite ready as we were a little early so we sat by the pool bar. I had the “Cocktail of the day”. This would become a recurring theme throughout our stay. I never found I cocktail I didn’t like.

We had a sea view room on the second floor with a view of the sea, pool and the colourful cliffs overlooking the beach. In the bathroom there are white towelling robes and plenty of white towels. There are also a couple of beige beach towels for use by the pool. We weree also provided with a small linen pool bag which is quite handy. Beach towels can be exchanged at Reception.

A small army of cleaners and housekeeping staff kept the hotel immaculate. They were, without exception, always cheery, saying hello or good morning when we passed in the corridors.
We had originally only booked bed and breakfast. The breakfast was buffet style and there was a great choice with everything you could possibly want to eat and drink and all of a high quality. We were so impressed we paid for the three day package to eat Dinner at the buffet restaurant. The food here was lovely and an excellent variety, with a different theme each night, i.e. Italian, Portugese and Brazilian on the nights we were there.

There is an outdoor pool and a paddling pool plus an indoor pool in the spa. There are lots of sun loungers and parasol around the pool and in the well-kept gardens.

As others have said there are a lot of steps down to the beach but they are shallow and wide so not that bad, at least not going down. Coming up was a different story and it didn’t seem to get any better as the week wore on. It was still worth it and we went down the beach for a stroll every afternoon.

During the day we ate at the Pool Bar a number of times and again there was a good choice and the staff were always very helpful. A special mention here to Rodrigo who is an asset to the hotel. We found the prices cheaper here than at some places outside and much tastier. All the staff at the hotel work extremely hard and are all helpful and polite.

We did go into the village for a drink one night but to be honest the bars outside weren’t up to much and were more expensive than the hotel. We therefore spent most nights having a drink in the hotel in beautiful surroundings. My daughter has since booked to go back in September with her boyfriend.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maisie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, next time should be a longer stay. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    704
    134
    27
    9
See reviews for
440
1,502
67
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have just returned from an eleven night stay at the Porto Bay. This was our first visit to this hotel and we found it to be of a good standard.

The hotel is clean in all areas and well maintained, we stayed in a standard room garden facing the room was adequate if anything a little on the small side, bathroom was clean with a shower with good water flow. The room had a safe but you have to rent it per night it cost us 16 Euro's for 11 nights. (come on Porto Bay I shouldn't have to pay for a safe)

Wi-Fi was available in the lobby for free but this was not well known, there is a charge to use it in your room.

The pool and garden area are clean and well kept with plenty of good quality sun beds and parasols available, whatever time of day you could always find a couple of beds, and WOW very very few towels on beds before breakfast . The hotel is situated on top of a cliff with beautiful views along the coast, the beach is reached down a path with 130 approx. steps these are not steep but they do have sand on them towards the bottom so care should be taken not to loose your footing. It takes a leisurely 7 mins from the top gate to the beach.

The staff are all very pleasant and helpful in all areas of the hotel
We were half board and had our meals in the Madeira restaurant, evening meals were all themed buffet style, we found the food was only average and after a week it became rather boring. There is plenty to eat though, whether you want hot or cold food.
At breakfast there is freshly squeezed orange juice the lady puts the oranges in the machine in front of you its very good. Don't use the other drinks dispenser the juice is awful.

The hotel guests are mainly in the 40+ age group.
We recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triple7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. You don't pay for a safe rental but for insurance as well. Internet is free at all public areas and accessible to any device as soon you enter the Hotel, charged service in the room as normal trend for a larger broadband speed. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for 11 nights at the end of April and had a fabulous holiday, the hotel was spotless including the room and the staff were all friendly and very efficient.The hotels situation is beautiful with stunning views and access to one of the best beaches I have ever seen down quite a few steps but good exercise we walked along the beach every morning and one day into Vilamoura which took about 1 hr and 15 mins so caught the bus back.
For buffet meals we thought the food was excellent and always plentiful whatever time you went for breakfast/ dinner but if you are B and B there are plenty of bars and restaurant's in town about a 10 min walk.
Our only downsides were the bar prices which are double those in town so take advantage of the happy hour from 5 o'clock or visit the supermarket were the green wine and beer was very cheap and the entertainment was the same nearly every night but it was early in the season and overall didn't stop us having one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays we have had we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: I would definitely pay for a sea view as the vista is stunning and if possible a high room but ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

just back form a two week stay at the porto bay. smart clean tidy hotel with always smiling welcomimg staff. located a short downhill walk in to ohlos village where nightlife is low key. several resturants in the area dotted around which i found much the same on the menus but quite cheap to eat in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRADLEY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 8th to 18th of June had a great time lovely room . Brilliant staff and food too . The only downside for us was the usual towels on sunbeds . We saw several people leaving towels on sunbeds and not returning on quite a few occasions . One case in particular more than 4hrs .Olhos D' Agua is a small village resort with lovely beaches a few shops bars and resturaunts .

Room Tip: High floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brenda578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. As you experienced there are many sunbeds to choose around the pool and at the green areas. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Currently on our last day at this excellent hotel and reviewing from the poolside on free hotel wifi which I think is a first for me. WiFi is free in public areas but subject to a charge in your room. The hotel is leased by Porto and as a result not as special as some of their other properties. However, what is lacking in the building is more than made up by the quality of the service. The rooms and public areas are spotless. All of the staff are friendly and very polite. We enjoyed the food. Dinner is a buffet and the quality high. There is an a la carte restaurant but we have not felt it necessary to use it. The resort of ola d'Aqua which is down the hill from the hotel is quite lively at night but the hotel is very peaceful and relaxing. Excellent place for doing nothing. The beaches are a steep walk down but worth it. Overall excellent We will certainly consider returning

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillandJan187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Porto Bay and it was a fantastic experience.The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly,courteous and extremely polite.Special mention for Carlos and Manuel who are a credit to the hotel.We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfasts were excellent.Plenty of choice of hot and cold options,fruit and pastries.Set in a lovely location we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.We will be returning at some point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,961 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing