We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD HOTEL WITH GREAT STAFF”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in early July. Porto Bay have made a very good
job of making the best out of an older building. The hotel was very full so pool area and garden
were quite crowded. The main restaurant achieved a good standard of food and service even when under pressure at peak times. The staff work extremely hard and are pleasant and helpful
in line with Porto Bay culture. Dinner on the Deck overlooking the spectacular cliffs is a real
pleasure and worth the small extra cost.
In some areas the decor is looking a little worn and tired and perhaps further investment in
upgrading the interior would bring up the standards more in line with other Porto Bay Hotels.
Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the young staff are to be congratulated on what has been achieved.

Room Tip: Our superior room was comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank madeirafanwhitleybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 2,470 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Having just returned from a week at the Porto Bay hotel I think that the old saying “small enough to care, big enough to cope” applies very nicely here.

Overall we found all members of staff that we came into contact with to be helpful, efficient, polite and above all friendly. After a few days we started to become personally acknowledged when the staff got to know us.

The room was ready on arrival. Check in was prompt and efficient. The porter immediately took our suitcases to the room and showed us how to work the in room safe.

Our room was on the 4th floor with a sea view along the coast towards Vilamoura and Quarteira, also overlooking the pool and gardens. The room itself was perhaps a little on the small side but apart from that was clean, modern and everything worked as it should. The flat screen TV had many satellite channels including Sky News and BBC World News. Tea/Coffee making facilities were provided in the room. The maid service continued in the style of helpful, efficient, polite and friendly. Pool towels were automatically provided in the room and were changed daily.

The buffet restaurant provided well prepared food with some dishes being cooked within the view of guests. There was always a very varied choice and every night there was a different theme. If you desire even more variety there is a separate al a carte restaurant serving Italian cuisine (not just Pizza and Pasta) and on a couple of days there was a BBQ served in and around the pool side restaurant/bar with light entertainment, both at additional cost. The BBQs also had a different theme on each occasion. Breakfasts were also very well presented with lots of choice, freshly squeezed orange juice and plenty of fresh fruit.

Lunch can be purchased at the poolside restaurant with a good high quality selection. Some of the dishes were cooked outside on the BBQ grill.

While we were there one of the semi finals and the final of the football world cup were being played and the games were shown on several TVs in public areas around the premises. They even changed the restaurant opening time on the evening of the final to accommodate those who wanted to see the match.

The 2 bars served a wide selection of drinks and cocktails at reasonable prices. Further entertainment was provided in the main bar. The various musicians (or dancers in some cases) were of a high standard.

The pool is of a decent size with 2 sections. There is also a separate pool for children. The atmosphere around the pool was quiet and relaxing with (thankfully) none of the blaring music heard in so many places. Even when some pool exercises were taking place the music was discreet. There were plenty of sun beds and parasols provided with several shady areas. A downside point was that several guests were very greedy with the sun beds and parasols taking several. There was an efficient pool side drinks service provided by again very friendly staff (who were still smiling after a long shift working in the sun all day).
If you have had enough sun but still want to swim there is a small indoor pool with a Jacuzzi in the spa area.
Whilst there are some facilities provided for children and while it’s certainly not child unfriendly we would say that this hotel is more focussed on the adult market. Older children are likely to become bored after couple of days.

The beach nearby is superb. The only downside is that you have to go down a fairly long flight of steps and then along a dirt track to get to it.

The village of Olhos de Agua is a few hundred metres away and has a few bars/restaurants most of which look quite reasonable – spoiled by a very noisy sport bar which looked completely out of character with the rest of the village. Although we did not make use of them prices seemed to be roughly on par with the Porto Bay Hotel. The monstrous RIU Hotel building dominates the road down the hill.

Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Rolly299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I were at Porto Bay Falésia hotel from June 14th tot 24th. We enjoyed our stay. Very tidy smokefree room with a nice little balcony. Satisfying choice of food for breakfast. But when you got your jugs of coffee and milk, and another jug with hot water for your tea, there was indeed little space left for the plates and the cups. At dinnertime there was some queuing since everybody seemed to be starving by 7 p. m. The staff were very professional and friendly. At the reception desk you could always be helped by a polite and polyglot staff. Wasn't there anything negative? Yes indeed there was: the proximity of the Riu club hotel situated at about a hundred yards. A devastating noise every day produced by waterpolo players from 10 a.m till 4 p.m made any afternoon nap impossible, even with the doubleglazed window closed. We had room 444, and I would not advise to choose a room in that wing of the hotel. Noisy buses arriving and departing with guests, poisoning the environment with their fumes...Olhos d'Água is a very small village, there is really nothing interesting to be seen. But altogether we were rather satisfied. We enjoyed the beautiful weather and the nice garden.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that the rooms on the swimming pool side are much better than the room we had, exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank jempiBrugesBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Porto Bay Falesia for five days in June. We had previously stayed at the Porto Bay Eden Mar in Madeira. The Falesia was everything we expected it to be. Check in was fast and efficient. Throughout our stay all the receptionists were courteous and happy to help. A special mention must go to Tania who was always eager to help and always with a beautiful smile.

Our room was not quite ready as we were a little early so we sat by the pool bar. I had the “Cocktail of the day”. This would become a recurring theme throughout our stay. I never found I cocktail I didn’t like.

We had a sea view room on the second floor with a view of the sea, pool and the colourful cliffs overlooking the beach. In the bathroom there are white towelling robes and plenty of white towels. There are also a couple of beige beach towels for use by the pool. We weree also provided with a small linen pool bag which is quite handy. Beach towels can be exchanged at Reception.

A small army of cleaners and housekeeping staff kept the hotel immaculate. They were, without exception, always cheery, saying hello or good morning when we passed in the corridors.
We had originally only booked bed and breakfast. The breakfast was buffet style and there was a great choice with everything you could possibly want to eat and drink and all of a high quality. We were so impressed we paid for the three day package to eat Dinner at the buffet restaurant. The food here was lovely and an excellent variety, with a different theme each night, i.e. Italian, Portugese and Brazilian on the nights we were there.

There is an outdoor pool and a paddling pool plus an indoor pool in the spa. There are lots of sun loungers and parasol around the pool and in the well-kept gardens.

As others have said there are a lot of steps down to the beach but they are shallow and wide so not that bad, at least not going down. Coming up was a different story and it didn’t seem to get any better as the week wore on. It was still worth it and we went down the beach for a stroll every afternoon.

During the day we ate at the Pool Bar a number of times and again there was a good choice and the staff were always very helpful. A special mention here to Rodrigo who is an asset to the hotel. We found the prices cheaper here than at some places outside and much tastier. All the staff at the hotel work extremely hard and are all helpful and polite.

We did go into the village for a drink one night but to be honest the bars outside weren’t up to much and were more expensive than the hotel. We therefore spent most nights having a drink in the hotel in beautiful surroundings. My daughter has since booked to go back in September with her boyfriend.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maisie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, next time should be a longer stay. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have just returned from an eleven night stay at the Porto Bay. This was our first visit to this hotel and we found it to be of a good standard.

The hotel is clean in all areas and well maintained, we stayed in a standard room garden facing the room was adequate if anything a little on the small side, bathroom was clean with a shower with good water flow. The room had a safe but you have to rent it per night it cost us 16 Euro's for 11 nights. (come on Porto Bay I shouldn't have to pay for a safe)

Wi-Fi was available in the lobby for free but this was not well known, there is a charge to use it in your room.

The pool and garden area are clean and well kept with plenty of good quality sun beds and parasols available, whatever time of day you could always find a couple of beds, and WOW very very few towels on beds before breakfast . The hotel is situated on top of a cliff with beautiful views along the coast, the beach is reached down a path with 130 approx. steps these are not steep but they do have sand on them towards the bottom so care should be taken not to loose your footing. It takes a leisurely 7 mins from the top gate to the beach.

The staff are all very pleasant and helpful in all areas of the hotel
We were half board and had our meals in the Madeira restaurant, evening meals were all themed buffet style, we found the food was only average and after a week it became rather boring. There is plenty to eat though, whether you want hot or cold food.
At breakfast there is freshly squeezed orange juice the lady puts the oranges in the machine in front of you its very good. Don't use the other drinks dispenser the juice is awful.

The hotel guests are mainly in the 40+ age group.
We recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triple7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. You don't pay for a safe rental but for insurance as well. Internet is free at all public areas and accessible to any device as soon you enter the Hotel, charged service in the room as normal trend for a larger broadband speed. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for 11 nights at the end of April and had a fabulous holiday, the hotel was spotless including the room and the staff were all friendly and very efficient.The hotels situation is beautiful with stunning views and access to one of the best beaches I have ever seen down quite a few steps but good exercise we walked along the beach every morning and one day into Vilamoura which took about 1 hr and 15 mins so caught the bus back.
For buffet meals we thought the food was excellent and always plentiful whatever time you went for breakfast/ dinner but if you are B and B there are plenty of bars and restaurant's in town about a 10 min walk.
Our only downsides were the bar prices which are double those in town so take advantage of the happy hour from 5 o'clock or visit the supermarket were the green wine and beer was very cheap and the entertainment was the same nearly every night but it was early in the season and overall didn't stop us having one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays we have had we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: I would definitely pay for a sea view as the vista is stunning and if possible a high room but ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

just back form a two week stay at the porto bay. smart clean tidy hotel with always smiling welcomimg staff. located a short downhill walk in to ohlos village where nightlife is low key. several resturants in the area dotted around which i found much the same on the menus but quite cheap to eat in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BRADLEY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 152 in Albufeira
1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 152 in Albufeira
2,071 reviews
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 152 in Albufeira
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
8.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,741 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £53 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing