We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice - would definitely go back - fantastic setting!”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2010

On arrival we were met by friendly, helpful reception staff. Our first impressions of the hotel were excellent - very clean, well maintained grounds and lobby,seemed like a good choice so far. We paid for side sea view, which gave nice views of hotel grounds, neighbouring hotel and sea in the distance. Very pleased with the room, bathroom had recently been updated and decor modern for hotel abroad. Rooms cleaned daily, with the maids often adding a personal touch. Hotel has fantastic viewpoints, overlooking cliffs and Falesia beach, which is directly accessible from the hotel via 130 steps!! - not nearly as bad as it sounds. Good clean beach, and great for long walks.
Pool area and gardens are very well looked after and there are plenty of sunloungers either by the pools, or in the gardens. Pools good size and clean, but quite cold! Tennis courts in good condition and other games available for those who are feeling energetic!
Pool bar was expensive for food, but we found several good quality / reasonable cafes / bars within a few hundred metres of the hotel. We stayed on a B&B basis, breakfast was excellent, there was something for everyone.
Hotel located in quiet location between 2 main resorts , Albufeira and Villamoura, therefore, perfect for those who are wanting to explore. We hired a car and would highly recommend a visit to the old town of Albufeira - approx 15 minute drive from the hotel. Bus service also available. Also, plenty of eating options in nearby towns Oura and Santa Eulalia.
Overall, we really enjoyed everything about this hotel and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break in this area. We would definitely return here!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynseyk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

Thank you very much for your review which reflects entirely the Hotel. As you know you will be for your second stay member of our Prestige Club and you will be entitled to have 10 % discount on Food & Beverage together with other benefits. Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,344)
There are newer reviews for PortoBay Falesia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 2,344 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2010

Excellent hotel and the location is wonderful for the seaviews. We have been three times and each time had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connect52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

Thank you very much for your review and loyalty. Looking forward to welcome you back for your forth time, soon sixt time and added range of discounts with the Porto Bay Gold Prestige Card. Best regards, Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Just arrived back after a relaxing long weekend at the Porto Bay Falesia. We booked on the recommendation of Tripadvisor again...It never lets us down. My wife and I booked with Expedia and paid E80 per night ( same cost as bookling direct ) for a Garden View room ( yest it did overlook the car park too ) and guessed this was the best value for money I have ever received on a hotel. The hotel is impeccable in every respect. I honestly cannot praise the hotel and staff enough, from Jose the Taxi pick up at the airpot to all the waiters and reception staff - all impeccably well dressed, well mannered and the ultimate professionals. Most, if not all the staff could work in superior 5* hotels any day such was their attention to detail and impeccable English / German - One waiter even spoke Welsh !!!!! This alone had to be be worth 5/5 !! !

In short the Hotel is Excellent value, spotlessly clean, modern, comfortable and the service second to none. Yes - the drinks and food at the poolside bar can be slightly expensive ( E7 for sandwich & fries ) but I don't mind paying that little bit extra for such service.

Go on - treat yourself - stay here, you will not be dissapointed - I guaratntee it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwalltcoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

Thank you very much for your warm and kind review. What a pleasure to welcome you again soon. We will try to improve our Welsh. Best regards, Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

the hotel was excellent the rooms were great, clean and tidy and roomy enough! the hotel was very quiet so the nite entertainment wasn't exciting! the only downside was the food and drink prices! the location was great near handy shops and the ticket shop for transport. also there is a fab chinese restaurant down the street it is a must!!!! i would def use this hotel again but eat out!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymakers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

Thank you very much for your nice feedback and concern about food prices. We have a wide choice of food from our Show cooking Buffet or Italian À la Carte and variety of snacks all day long at our Pool bar restaurant catering at diferent prices overlooking the beautiful Falésia Beach and Cliffs. Looking forward to welcome you again at the Porto bay Falésia Hotel, best regards, Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. The setting is stunning with a pool and leafy gardens set on the cliff tops overlooking the sea. The hotel is bright airy and spotless. the pool has lovely lounge gardens and balconies ans well as the traditional pool and loungers. There are also bean bags and loungers in the gardens. Tennis, pool chess etc are all available to play in the gardens. You can also access the steps down to the beach. There is a stunning long walk to Villamoura marina starting form here along the beach. very enjoyable and bracing! There are also some bars and refreshment spots overlooking the cliffs and sea here.
We stayed on a B&b basis. The breakfast buffet is amazing. My son still talks about it. All tastes are catered for. You can even help yourself to sparking wine/bucks fizz! You can sit outside and watch the birds swooping over the pool and trees and cliff- such a good start to the day!
Staff were very polite,spoke English well. Reception, restaurant and cleaning was faultless. The bar has a happy hour form 5-7 and a variety of dance/barside games and children's entertainment from Pedro Not as brash as some places - quite low key and unobtrusive. It is a very quiet hotel. Never heard our neighbours. The atmosphere is very calm - they don't pipe music into communal areas and the bar does not boom through the building.
There is a fitness suite,indoor pool, which was welcome ion some breezy April days outside and a spa which I did not use - though was very tempted by the cinnamon and chocolate body wraps!
There is a good mix of people here. Many German and Dutch visitors and English the week we were there. Lots of couples and families with younger children. Probably not the place for party seeking people.
There is a very short walk to the local taxi rank, bus stop and travel agents which are great for getting about and into Albufeira, the water parks etc, Frankly, the greater pleasure was to explore the many small restaurants in Olhos d'Agua. From some small restaurants we really had some delicious freshly cooked fish an meats. I can particularly recommed Restauant Calheiros http://restuarantecalheiros.com.
We also were caught up in the volcano air delays and were treated impeccably by First Choice and Thomsons - we were so sad to leave Porto Bay for the second time!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnemarieStott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

This was our 2nd visit to Porto Bay Falesia, having visited in April 2009. Last year we booked a suite which included a small kitchen area, a huge lounge and spacious bedroom and good sized bathroom. This time we booked a superior sea view room, which was superb. The standards at the Porto Bay are exceptional with spotless public areas; spacious, comfortable rooms; excellent food; friendly staff. The breakfast buffet is the best we've ever had with a huge selection of hot and cold (my husband never normally appears for breakfast but joined me every day!). A really nice touch is the sparkling wine included at breakfast each day. The hotel is well placed for the local small town/fishing village with a selection of excellent fish restaurants and local life. The beach area (charges apply as the beach is not part of the hotel) is down steps but it is well worth it. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and on the grass area overlooking the sea. Hotel drinks prices were very reasonable and there is a very nice bar/entertainment room with entertainment every night. An added bonus was, as previous guests, we were entitled to 10% off the bar and food bills and bath robes and water and fruit in our room on arrival. Book a sea view room - well worth the extra charge. Our only gripe is the ridiculous 5 Euro charge to use the sauna/steam room.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen_Jennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Porto Bay Falesia is a well layed out resort. It is 4 star,but the best 4 star we have had the pleasure to stay in,in the last 3 visits to the Algarve.The location gives you a choice of three beaches,& easy access to long beach, or cliff walks with great views. Although we were bed and breakfast the main resturant produced an extensive layout of different meals, from continetal to an English fry up,but you are spoilt for choice.There is a second resturant at the rear which is Italian.A nice touch if you are not full board,or you don't want to go out.
The pool area is fantastic, with large grass areas & verandas with stunning cliff views,where you can sun bathe all day.There is a snack bar but if you want a shop there is one 100m from the outside of the hotel. There are indoor facilities like a pool which isn't big but will take 20 - 30 people comfortably.Aswell as this there are saunua, and steam room, which you have to pay for, but the spa is on all the time. They offer treatments down there aswell but we thought these were quite pricey.For children there is a small play park, table football, and table tennis.There are also 2 full size tennis courts.
If you want to get out & about there is a water park which opens at the end of April so you'll have to find that out for yourself.There is also a trip to Zoomarine.A large aquatic park which is good day out.There is oppourtunity to swim with Dolphins which we did on our last visit but this was an extra 50 euros on to of the trip price,so up to you.We used the local bus serive alot to get around if you want to visit places and this was reliable & cheap enough.Its good to get a map from the hotel or the rep as the local stops will be on this. For a lively night or day out then go to Albuferia.It has a new & old part to the town, the old being good for shopping for gifts,markets,etc.But the new has a long strip,& during the day you can shop and eat all you want, but during he night it is quite dense in the amount of bars so pull your socks up & be brave.
For entertainment in the hotel there was something every night.Firstly for children,and then a band or similar for adults.It was ok but what helped was the cheap cocktails during their happy hour.Throughout in the hotel you are always made welcome,and the service is excellent.All members of staff were really polite.
Lastly & not to go on we were stuck there an extra week duing the volcano crisis & Thompson were flawless in looking after us. The reps were always there and dealt with difficult situations well. A big shout to them. We were put up in 2 great hotels and ended up back in our original one which we didin't have any complaints about. What was good to see was where other travel agencies were abandoning their flight only customers, Thompson kept hold of theirs,and they only had to pay for their meals in their last hotel,after being put up in a 5 star hotel full board with us for 3 days. We absolutly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mookie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
2,012 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £50 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing