We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little hotel, perfect location, good price”
Review of Hotel Frentomar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Frentomar
Ranked #61 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 18 September 2010

A great hotel at a really low cost!
In the older parts of Albufeira, 10 minutes walk from the marina and just a few minutes from the restaurants in the old town. Just a minute´s walk from the hotel is the elevator(!) or stairs that take you down to the beautiful beach.
We had a great view of the sea and the beach from our balcony. The room was small but had everything we needed including a fridge, and everything was very clean and well kept.
I would definitley go back to this charming little hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KickanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Frentomar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2010

Frentomar was a very simple family-run hotel, but had everything we needed, and was a fantastic deal for that location. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and were extremely accommodating. The location was also unbeatable - a 2 minute walk to the beach, and restaurants close by. Having a refrigerator in the room was also really helpful. The rooms with the sea view are a MUST. Waking up and seeing the ocean every morning was too amazing for words.
The safety boxes were broken, but we never felt extremely safe here. I also would have liked to have a telephone in the room, but there was one in the cafe across the street, which was ideal. I can whole-heartedly say I would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveladdict333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My partner and I stayed for a week in July. On the plus side the hotel is spotlessly clean, and the view of the sea from the rooms at the back of the hotel are amazing. Thankfully the maid service mops the floors each day and refreshes the towels, as things can become a little sandy after a day at the beach. Our room had no air-conditioning, but the nights were cool enough.

We didn't try the breakfast at 4 euro per person provided by the hotel. According to Bruno - at reception, it was continental, consisting of bread and jam etc. Instead we bought ham and cheese from the local mini market and some baps, for less than 5 euros, and had breakfast and a beach lunch for the day.

The one problem we had was with our airport pickup. The hotel advertises airport pick up for 30 euro per couple. We arranged our pick up with Bruno via email before we arrived. The taxi did not arrive. We were stranded at the airport and had to pay an airport taxi £50 euros to take us to the hotel, which wasn't as much as it could have been, as the taxi driver knew where he was going.
If the hotel wants to offer airport pick up they really should have a dedicated form for each potential resident to complete with all their details and a contact number of the third party pick up service they use. Even though we forwarded our flight details and time, no one checked them thoroughly and apparently they thought we were arriving at 12 midnight instead of 12 noon, which was very annoying.

The last thing that's worth mentioning is the restaurant right next to the hotel, O Penedo. It has a lovely terrace overlooking the bay, and is excellent. The staff are amazing and the food is delicious and reasonably priced. Like a lot of restaurants in Portugal bread, cheese, pate and olives are offered when you take your table, again it's all delicious. However, only accept what you want as you will be charged for each item individually, and send it all away if you don't want anything.

All in all I would definitely recommend Frentomar as clean, secure, budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthernIrelandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 9 days from 12th June, 2010. I would call it more of a guesthouse than a hotel, as there was no bar or restuarant. However it was very clean and in a superb location in the Old town of Albufeira. We had a large sea-view room with balcony and went to sleep every night to the sound of the waves. The room itself was basic enough but had everything one would expect, including a t.v and fridge. There was no safe in the room but that was not a problem as the place felt very secure and is family run. The bathroom was adequate but there were no toiletries supplied, so bring your own soap.!!!
All in all, if you are looking for good but basic accomodation in a fantastic location, at a very reasonable price, you cannot fault the Frentomar. They also supply a transfer service from and to the airport, if you e-mail them before you go, at €30 each way.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anneharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Best choice for the price. Rooms have large balconies with beautiful see-view through the coast. Very friendly and helpful staff. The best address in the city

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gedWarszawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

basic hotel but had everythng we needed and i recommend booking room with sea view because the views are outstanding. The staff were very helpful and spoke good english aswell. Great place to stay if you want to be close to everything and literally 1 minute form the gorgeous beach. We Stayed for 3 nights and couldnt fault it one bit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexBrad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

hotel frentomar is a great little basic hotel in albufeira the views from the front rooms are fantastic , its very clean the hosts are lovely and they will bring breakfast to your room so u can have it on your balcony not the place for anyone who likes five star comfort i was charmed by its simplicity we had a wonderful stay and i would recomend the frentomar for those looking for the more traditional algarve hotel

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
#98 of 154 in Albufeira
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#76 of 154 in Albufeira
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#71 of 154 in Albufeira
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frentomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frentomar

Address: Rua Latino Coelho, Albufeira 8200-150, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £34 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Frentomar 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Frentomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Frentomar Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing