We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Maritur”
Review of Hotel Maritur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maritur
Ranked #58 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My partner and I absolutely love going to this hotel, it is very quiet, no children, in a quiet area and about 700 metres from the most beautiful cove. The staff are all fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them. They arranged a cake and champagne for when we arrived as was my partner's birthday. Have only been back home for three days but want to go back again NOW!!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view room then just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chelseablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Chelseablonde
Thank you for your review and for having chosen our Hotel and its relaxing sea views to enjoy your days in Albufeira. Nothing rewards us more than the satisfaction of our guests, and I will personally make sure that all our staff is aware your kind words.
We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in a near future.

Kindest regards from our whole team.
Fernando Augusto, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

I must say this was the quietest hotel I ever stayed in bar none!
It's not a bad place, just strange it's a bit like stepping back in time.
The rooms are really little apartments, living room, bedroom and bathroom,
we had a sea view which was very nice, distant, but better than a car park!
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and I have to say it was awful but maybe we were unlucky other people seemed to like it. I found the staff very friendly and helpful however
there weren't many staff around.
When we went to breakfast I thought I'd stepped back to the seventies, Abba or Chris deBurge on a loop over and over again.....mad!

All that said it was more strange than bad, if your looking for a lively entertaining place to stay
this is not the place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bungyjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you very much for your comment.
Our hotel is known as a quiet hotel to relax, however getting relatively close to the center of Albufeira.
Therefore possible to enjoy the quietness while having fun around.
Try to came in a busier time and you will probably see the night life and entertainment of Albufeira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This was a wonderful place with great ocean views. The staff was amiable and very helpful. We loved our stay in Albufeira. Beautiful coast and sandy beaches. You can walk to the beaches from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trail-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you very much for your comment. We fill very happy that you enjoyed your holiday so much.
Hope to see again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Maritur Hotel, Albufeira, Portugal in October 2011. We were 'booked in' by a beautiful and extremely helpful receptionist and went up to our room. Phew, very hot in the hotel and the temperature outside was pretty much the same (30 degrees). Nice room with two single beds pushed together, nice bathroom which was quite large, sliding patio doors leading onto a good size balcony which had a table and two chairs. Awful view from the balcony of a large piece of waste ground but we were able to see the blue sea in the distance. Couldn't get the air conditioning in the room to work so had to sleep with the doors open. Went down for breakfast in the morning. Oh dear. Bit of a shock for a Four Star hotel. Much too hot in the large room. The nice waiter took away the dirty crockery but seemed too afraid to speak even though we were the only guests in the room. He kept himself out of the way by walking around the perimeter of the room but it would have been much better if he said something. It didn't appear to be a friendly hotel at all. We used the free internet near the reception but it was difficult to get logged on and we had to ask the lovely receptionist. She too seemed afraid to engage in conversation and after getting us on-line she disappeared behind her reception counter. We were much too hot inside the hotel so asked a member of staff if the air conditioning could be turned up a bit. "Oh no." Was the reply. "The manager (owner of the hotel) doesn't want to spend money and A/C is expensive to run."
Good points were the super indoor swimming pool. The water was a good temperature and the jacuzzi was well worth going in. There's also an outdoor pool which was nice and clean and a joy to be in as the outside temperature was just too hot. Plenty of sun loungers around the pool and the hotel's restaurant right next to the pool.
Apart from not talking to guests we couldn't fault the staff. The room was clean but the mini-bar was empty and if you required anything you have to fill out a form, take it to Reception and they will get your order. We didn't try it at all.
The hotel is well situated for a great sea food restaurant just five minutes walk away down the hill. It's quite an expensive restaurant but excellent food and you are right on the beach too.
The reason I wouldn't give this hotel the Four Stars is because there was not A/C, the breakfast was terribly poor, internet was difficult to get on-line and the staff had obviously been told not to talk to guests.
Would I return? Definitely not.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the outside pool have a better view of the sea. Rooms on the front side of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Wow what a great place - for us as a peace love family that dont want to be surrounded by hordes of other British holidaymakers it was perfect ! Yes it is out of the town so unless you fancy a good hours walk in the heat to get into town then it is a 10 min max bus ride instead - not cheap at 2 euros a head. If like us though you are there for the stunning little beach coves, impressive waves & sea swimming then you can;t go wrong. A 5/10 min stroll gets you to the nearest cove with a lovely if pricey retaurant, wcs & loungers if you want them. The next cove along is busier but again beautiful. We spent nearly all our time here just enjoying the huge amount of fun to be had from playing in the sea - the waves make it very exciting if you have an inflatable ring etc ! Even though it was the end of August it was SO quiet never any trouble finding a quiet spot on the beach & the Hotel although we were told it was fully booked was heavenly. No noise from the corridors or pool at night, no traffic noise at all, no disco nothing....The food was superb with a great buffet breakfast of continental foods & cooked eggs, bacon,sausage. The room was spacious with a sea view & balcony, lovely large bathroom (some slight disolouring to the grouting in places my only down comment), nice quiet air con., hairdryer, fridge but no kettle. 2 outdoor pools & an indoor one - all SO quiet we often had them to ourselves - certainly no rush for loungers here ! We did take a sightseeing bus trip all around Albufeira & didn't see another Hotel to compare to this location for us - but if you want night life, bars etc this isn't for you ! Most of the guests were Portugese which is a good sign if the locals like it. The staff were excellent - & we certainly hope to be back again sometime soon. There was a building under construction across the road but we only saw 1 workman with a shovel on 2 occasions so not exactly a problem unless it suddenly takes off.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Very friendly staff and good atmosphere. Good choice of breakfast. If you want a nice quiet quality hotel this is for you. If you want a allot of night life then this hotel is to far out

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank studan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We just got back from a wonderful holiday in Algarve! Ok this hotel is a bit far from the main strip or the old town, but its location is as wonderful as if it was! Yeah ok ok its a bit quiet but who wants kids running and screaming while you want to relax by the pool....yeah so what it has a pizza place open to the public..how much time do you spend the restaurant anyways!!! You can also take your food next to the pool and enjoy it there!! Food not the best but its not like anybody is forcing you to eat there for God sakes!!!! Breakfast was great...really nice FRESH not stale bread..lovely croissants and cakes..fresh eggs and bacon cooked in front of you by a lovely lady! What the hell do ppl eat in the morning?!?!COME OOONNN you lot just want to complain for nothing.....The beach next to this hotel (about 7-10min walk) its so beautiful it takes your breath away...so unspoiled...its little so hurry up in the morning and get a nice place! Restaurant on the beach a bit pricey so ill get a packed lunch! We climbed an the rocks and got the most amazing pictures EVER!! Really amazing...the water is lovely as well....at the far right of the beach there is a little cave which you have to explore first thing in the morning as the tide come after 12 so it will be a bit dangerous after!

All in all this hotel was delightful...rooms lovely and clean! And who said the cleaning lady was not smiley enough!! WHAT DO YOU WANT HER TO DO?!?! Cleaning in 40 degrees cant be that FUN!!! She was lovely....gave her a big tip for all the hard work she has done!! And we did actually have a room at the back at the hotel but we had the most amazing sunrises EVER!! Some ppl are just to pretentious....think they should go and sleep in their own tent and SHUT UP!! Recommend this hotel to everyone!! kids will love the pool (they have a kids pool as well) and the beach..so child friendly! Also me and my partner loved just walking hand in hand picking lovely rocks from the most unspoiled beach ever!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Aprilkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
2 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
2.7 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
954 reviews
3.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maritur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritur

Address: Urbanizacao de Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#39 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £37 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maritur 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maritur offers outdoor and a heated indoor swimming pool, and spacious rooms with furnished balconies. It takes a 5-minute walk to reach Praia de Sao Rafael Beach or the nearby Arrifes Beach.All air-conditioned rooms have TV with satellite channels and a work desk, and each one boasts marble bathrooms fitted with amenities. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms.At Maritur, guests can take work-out in the gym or relax in the on-site hot tub. A game of tennis can be enjoyed on the sports courts.Hotel Maritur's restaurant serves Mediterranean specialities including seafood delicacies, and a pizzeria is also available on site. Guests can unwind with a glass of local wine on the poolside terrace.Maritur Hotel is 3 km from Albufeira city centre. The hotel is located 800 metres from Albufeira's Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maritur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albufeira
Albufeira Best Western
Best Western Maritur
Hotel Maritur Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing