We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!!”
Review of Hotel Maritur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maritur
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel. Booked as a surprise birthday pressie for hubbies 40th Birthday. Arrived to bubbly in the room with a beautiful sea view (after looking past a very large mud pit-didn't ruin it!!)
The hotel is very clean & found no fault.
The food, we went half board, breakfast was buffet style with several choices, including cereal, toast, yoghurt, fruit, eggs (scrambled & fried), bacon, tomatoes, fruit juices, pastries, several coffees & several types of tea - EXCELLENT!!
Evening meal was off a set menu, all three course with a couple of choices (always a vegetarian choice). Food included, soups, fish cocktail, sword fish, pork, piri piri chicken, tuna steak & turkey. Pudding included baked apple, mouse & egg pudding - DELICIOUS!! (although side salad could have been larger) Service at dinner was slow as it was waiter service, but the food & personalities made up for the delay. The restaurant was very clean with a pleasant atmosphere
We purchased lunch, the prices very reasonable with a good selection.
There is a small supermarket & English bar just off the main road (out of hotel, turn left). Happy house 4pm-6pm, lovely friendly service.
The marina is down a VERY steep hill (aprox 1 mile), but worth the walk it's very pretty, there are shops, bars & restaurants, very reasonably priced.
Further along is the town centre, (aprox further 3/4 mile-steep hills). Very pretty, leads to the sea front. Large beer 2€!! Excellent sandy beach, very picturesque.
Down the hill from the back of the hotel leads to a beach (10 min walk). Not suitable if you have walking disability. The beach is secluded, there is a cafe on the beach but did not visit it. Worth the walk down the cliff if you can!!
There is a bus stop just around the corner. I did not use it so cannot comment.
The hotel has 3 pools. Two outside & a heated one inside. There is also a heated jacuzzi!! There is a small gym on site (did not use)
The is one of the best locations I have stayed in, great for a short break. Very quite & relaxing.
We left the hotel at 4am for airport pick up. The hotel arranged a lunch pack for us. An excellent touch to a superb break.
I would highly recommend this hotel & location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Angmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando A, Gerente at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest

First of all thank you very much for your preference.
Thank you very much for your words in your fantastic comment, our Hotel couldn’t be described better. But, of course, it’s also your sympathy and kindness.
We are really glad you have enjoyed your stay with us!
We are a small and family hotel, we try with small details make the difference and satisfy our guests in the best way.
This year we are offering a different service, we are going to open a pizzeria in the pool area specially for serving snacks and pizzas in the lunch time.
We have also a different menu à la carte for evening meals with different choices.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again soon in our beautiful Algarve.

Best Regards

Isabel Augusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    114
    53
    21
    10
See reviews for
57
160
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a four night stay here. The hotel is spotless,the facilities excellent and the staff are friendly,courteous and helpful.
The food and drink is very good and the buffet breakfast accomodates all
nationalities.
The location means a car is preferable.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Maritur and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok but only 50% would offer a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your visit in our hotel, and for your time to write us a comment.
Thanks so much for your positive feedback and for recommending our hotel to our future clients
We hope also to have your visit again in a future. You will be very welcome

Best Regards
Isabel Augusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was our 4th stay at The Maritur Hotel so that must say something. This hotel is very friendly, clean and excellent value. There are two beautiful beaches within walking distance and a bus stop for travel into Albufeira. The beach bars are closed in the winter season but by end of February the Gale ones were open. We love the quiet and the almost empty beaches at this time of year. Sao Rafael is our prefered area as there are so many lovely beaches all close by and by March the restaurants are open and in walking distance. Sao Domingos Restaurant is a little further away, need transport but well worth a visit.

Room Tip: A room with shade in the summer A sunny room in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for your review and for your preference.

We were pleased to hear that our guests were satisfied and coming back to visit us several times.
Our beaches are gorgeous and great for a nice walk through the sand in the magnificent winter sunshine that the Algarve has.

If you need anything we are always at your disposal

All the best to you

Best regards
Isabel Augusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here 6 nights at the end of February. Lovely hotel, the room was spotless and very comfortable with a great view. Bathroom again was spotless with lovely fresh towels daily. Breakfast was tasty although no hot food till the end of the week when there was more guests, but can understand this when its quiet. Very relaxing place to stay as not in the main town.. but a short bus ride away so wasn't a problem. The internet didn't work in room but staff said they were working on improving this.. but to be honest it was nice not to have it :) ... Indoor pool was ace" The staff were great, friendly polite and nothing was too much trouble... thank you all for a lovely relaxing stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillR0berts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando A, Gerente at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your friendly review.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to satisfy our customers.

Best Regards
Isabel Augusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here a couple of nights in February 2014. Very nice hotel, clean and comfortable rooms, awesome sea view! Bathroom nice and clean, room had good décor. Nice quiet location, not in the main Albufeira area but If you have a car which we did, it isn't so bad. Nice walk from the Sao Rafael beach also.

Facilities at the hotel were good, indoor swimming pool which we made good use of, including a Jacuzzi! It was a really quiet time of the year but nice and relaxing. Restaurant was good and plenty of seating, breakfast was reasonable, bakery, toast, coffee, etc. No hot breakfast options though but probably because of the quiet time of year. Restaurant in the evening had a decent selection, pizzas, omelettes, fish, etc. Service was good, the waiter was even playing the piano and singing! Credit to him for all his efforts to try and make the guests comfortable. Reception staff helpful and attentive. We left around 7 for early flight in the morning and they provided some continental breakfast options before the usual 8-10.30 breakfast time. Its little things like these that makes it worth it. Only disappointment of the hotel was there was no WiFi in the rooms, and not so great in the reception area either. But it wasn't the end of the world. They said they were working on improving the WiFi so hopefully soon it will be available. All in all a good stay and we would definitely return!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony, makes a huge difference having a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Mr. Mohammed
Thank you for your nice comment and for your time to review our hotel.
We are very grateful that our service and hotel have mached your expectations.
Our priority is the satisfaction of our customers and that`s why we work and dedicate ourselves daily.
Our selection of breakfast is also consists of hot food (sausage,bacon eggs etc) however, on request, in the low season.
Regarding our WIFI network, is already better at the moment and working in the rooms to, however we are still gooing to make a update in the general network of the hotel, in order to have wifi for customers with higher quality.
We would be very glad is you want to come back and visit us again.
We are at your disposal for future contact or any information you need from us.
Best regards
Isabel Augusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have just had our second stay at this lovely hotel. It is run with charm and efficency by all the staff, but especially those on reception, who could not be more welcoming and helpful. I'm sure the whole area would seem quite different in the high season, and we wouldn't visit then, but our stays in October and November were just perfect, very, very quiet in and around the hotel, with stunning weather and beautiful views. Can't wait to return early next year.

Room Tip: The sea views are definitely worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUEtwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando A, Gerente at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your great review.

It is very grateful hearing your kind words about our staff, we do always your best.

We hope also to see you back very soon. You will be very welcome.

Best Regards
Isabel Augusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is all about its location. The views are to die for, a spectacular beach that's five minuets walk away and a small shops and a few restaurants two minuets away. I've stayed in August and the room temperature was not overly hot thanks to being near the coast and in the winter, the rooms were surprisingly very warm, again thanks to being near the coast. Two minuets walk from the hotel you can find and all round pizza, fish, pasta, and meet restaurant, a Chinese, and English breakfast/ sports bar and a small shot that sells most things you would need such as toothbrushes, adapters, news papers, alcohol, tobacco and food. Absolutely amazing beach just down the road. So quite and relaxing with an indoor and outdoor pool. Defiantly a different holiday if you want to explore big city's and busy towns but if you want somewhere where you can just relax, in walking distance to restaurants and an amazing beach, look no further. The food at the hotel also contains a wide choice from pizzas to chicken and meet to the menu of the day. The only one bad thing would have to be the wifi. Hardly able to connect from the room and even reception. However it's nice to spend a few days without it and makes the holiday more relaxing. Stayed 7 times and look froward to coming my 8th time soon.

Room Tip: do go for a sea view room it is worth it. However if your someone who wants to a slightly cooler roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Louis

Thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure hearing that our guests are really satisfied with our hotel service, and come back again every year.

Hotel Maritur staff thank you very much for your kind words and are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards
Isabel Augusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
4.5 mi away
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#37 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maritur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritur

Property: Hotel Maritur
Address: Urbanizacao de Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#38 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maritur 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maritur offers outdoor and a heated indoor swimming pool, and spacious rooms with furnished balconies. It takes a 5-minute walk to reach Praia de Sao Rafael Beach or the nearby Arrifes Beach.All air-conditioned rooms have TV with satellite channels and a work desk, and each one boasts marble bathrooms fitted with amenities. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms.At Maritur, guests can take work-out in the gym or relax in the on-site hot tub. A game of tennis can be enjoyed on the sports courts.Hotel Maritur's restaurant serves Mediterranean specialities including seafood delicacies, and a pizzeria is also available on site. Guests can unwind with a glass of local wine on the poolside terrace.Maritur Hotel is 3 km from Albufeira city centre. The hotel is located 800 metres from Albufeira's Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maritur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albufeira
Albufeira Best Western
Best Western Maritur
Hotel Maritur Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing