We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wander the cobblestone streets and enjoy the ambience”

Centro Historico de Albufeira
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.80*
and up
Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira
Ranked #11 of 101 things to do in Albufeira
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wander the cobblestone streets and enjoy the ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Luckily we stumbled upon this area on a day trip to albufeira.
The cobblestone roads were like out of a movie.
Lots of cute shops and restaurants that appeared to serve tourist trap food (in my opinion).
There were strips of clubs and lounges that looked like they would be a blast at night time!

Definitely the party place for young people to go.
Not sure id stay in old town albufeira because I can imagine how noisy it would get at night time but cool to wonder in the day or for late night drinks!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,158
    839
    327
    111
    71
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our hotel was 10 min walk away from here. Loved it here day or night, loads of bars, restaurants and shops. Always something happening from street entertainers in the main square to live music into the evening. Completely safe, buzzing atmosphere to be enjoyed by all ages. Food and drink prices to suit every pocket.
Careful of the cobbled pavements though. Ladies choose your footwear wisely if your going here at night drinking, can imagine there's been a few falls in heels after a few cocktails.
This old town is loads better than "the strip"

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracyspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely in Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed beside the strip in albufeira. It is nothing like old town Albufeira. It is so quaint and lovely old style houses and restaurants. It costs about 5 euro taxi from pray de oura. The sidewalks are dangerous enough to walk on as I slipped on them a few times they look like shiny cobblestones and with the wrong shoes it can be trickie. Its lovely to dine out by the lovely beeches there. They are a little pricy but worth it. The only annoying thing is that they are all looking for your custom and can be very pushie. The shops are the same as anywhere really with the same things in them with exception to one or two. Some of the pubs had musice and karaoke. Something for everyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Catwalk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Walking to the Old Town from Oura Praia Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

For sure the Old Town in Albufeira deserves a review but I have nothing to add to what others have so beautifully already said. Allow me to say the walk to the old town is itself an attraction.
My wife and I walked down to the Old Town from the Oura Praia Hotel twice. Please allow me to share my thoughts with you regarding this journey, it may help you get a better picture of how far, and how easy the journey is. More importantly it will give you the confidence to walk down to and explore the Old Town if you are staying at the CPO or OP. The walk will be something you will be glad you done, when you look back at the photographs you are sure to take during your walk.
The very first thing you will notice when you step off the taxi from the Airport to Albufeira is the uneven footpaths. So as it is a twenty minute plus walk to the Old Town, from Oura Praia, please keep one eye on the ground as you go. Another thing is to remember is that the cars drive on the wrong side of the road over here, so be careful when crossing roads specially at roundabouts.
I also suggest you walk on the left footpath (staying on the left side of the road). You will be going straight on through two or three roundabouts during this walk, and they are considerable safer to navigate on the left. My last note of caution for you don't forget to put your sun cream on. You do not want to get burnt during your walk / visit to the old town.
Ok time to come and walk with me as I retrace my steps to the old Town.
Leaving the Oura Praia Hotel at the pool exit we turn right, this road is called Rua Oliveira Martins. At this point it is useful to know that if you keep walking straight following this road naturally in a you will eventually (20mins +) end up at the Escalators that take you down to the Old Town.
40 seconds into our walk we pass the left fork in the road that would take us down the hill to the CPO. Straight on we travel (here the road changes name to Rua Jose Fontana) two minutes later we reach the roundabout that intersects the Av Sa Carnerio. The Wild & Co sign post on our right is the landmark telling us we are on the right track. (this marks the start of the famous strip where all the pubs clubs are. At the top of this strip stands the Montechoro Hotel which looks straight down the strip)
But today we have no time for visiting the strip as we press on together straight through the roundabout we continue on our walk this section of the road is called Av. Infante Dom Henrique.
We cross the road here walking on the footpath on the left hand side of the road this is to allow us navigate though the next roundabout safely. This is a big roundabout and there is a little restaurant very close to the roundabout which we pass on our left called Tres Palmeiras again we are travel straight through the roundabout here and we can see the road rises gently upwards in front of us. As we get near the top we pass a nice little restaurant on our right called Restaurant A Concha (The Shell Restaurant).
On and over the top of the hill and we are descending now. We can both see the bay below which tells us the Old Town is not far now. We pass a house all on its own on the left looks like a nice spot for a house however it looks a little lonely here on its own seems like there is a private access to the beach probably behind it.
We continue down to the bottom of the hill eventually reaching the beach. WE could walk down this beach as it stretches all the way down to the old town. However we prefer to stay on hard ground, as we do not like the idea of a long walk along a beach where our feet sinks into the sand. So we stay with the road that sweeps up a hill to the left following the coastline. This is a stiff climb, and we are thankful for the sheltered benches that are so plentiful on this section of our walk. It gives us the chance for a quick rest or to snap off a few photos as the views of the sea / beach are quite good here. This hilly section of the road is called Rua Almirante Gago Coutinho. I feel the strain on my legs here and am glad to see such inviting benches.
Upon reaching the top we definitely deserve to stop sit and enjoy the view before continuing on our way. We are tempted to use the view finder at the top to scan the sea, but we are so close to the old Town why not press on so we do. One minute later we are descending to the old Town via the escalators looking forward to a nice cold drink after our efforts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank dok951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old town is better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Loved my stay in Old Town every amenity is so close to you Beach Restaurants Hotels Etc. Went to new Town lovely for the younger age group .The Strip is the main attraction in New Town very long area and very busy late at night .I would still prefer the Old Town and will return

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centro Historico de Albufeira also viewed

 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Centro Historico de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing