We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Albuferia townhouse”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Albufeira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
diane s
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pro's and Con's”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
4
people found this review helpful

I believe that my review should be honest and true to my experience of staying at this house and on that basis I’m sorry to say that our experience had pro’s and con’s. I will begin with the con’s.

When I booked and paid the deposit on this house at the end of September 2016, I had booked and paid for a 3 bedroom house, which I have to say was more than we had wanted to pay but given the calibre of the property (that was shown in the photos) and it being a 3 bedroom, we were happy to pay the extra. We had booked for 2 wks arriving late July 2017.

It was with great disappointment to us when we arrived and was met by the representative for the property, that we were informed that it was only a 2 bedroom property. We were informed that it had been a 3 bedroom property but due to the room not complying with government legislation on the rental of rooms, it was not habitable and off limits. This was the first time that I had been informed of the bedroom issue, which was very frustrating and disappointing, and I have to say left me feeling somewhat cheated and mislead. The representative was quick to say that my children could share the twin room or sleep on the sofa bed in the lounge but I’m sure as you can appreciate having spent the great deal of money that we had on the house, neither myself, my Husband or indeed any of our children were keen or deserved to sleep on a sofa bed for 2 wks!

Thankfully our Children were at an age where, they could share the twin room, although it was not ideal and indeed not what we had paid for. I have to say that this house should never have been advertised as a 3 bedroom as the third bedroom was located on the basement level and the other two rooms, were located on the first floor. I, (as I’m sure any other parent/person would agree) would not be comfortable having someone sleep in the basement, whilst everyone else was sleeping on the first floor. Particularly in any emergency scenario. I have since seen that it is now advertised as a 2 bedroom but at the time I had booked it and until we arrived, I believe this to be a 3 bedroom property. I was not informed of the reduction in rooms and I was not offered any refund on the 3 bedroom that we had paid for but could not use! Reading the visitors book at the house I had seen another person also made comment to experiencing the same problem.

That as you can imagine, didn’t set things off to a great start. The representative took us around the property and showed us where everything was and on the face of it, everything seemed fine and as the photos had shown. A few minor issues we discovered later on were that some of the glasses in the cupboard were very dirty, one wine glass had a large crack through it, so very dangerous. Some of the cutlery was dirty and some of the Kitchen knives were rusty. I don’t believe the property had all that you needed there to cook an evening meal, if that was something you had chosen to do.

Other negatives were, they did not have additional pillows available, so you only had one very small pillow to use. We had to use the cushions that decorated the bed as an extra pillow. The bed itself in the master bedroom was very uncomfortable, it was hard, creaky and I could feel the springs when you laid on the bed, I had to use an additional blanket to lay on top of, to soften the mattress and make it more bearable. The kids also complained their beds were hard.

The property did have it’s own white plastic sunbeds and mattresses, which you could take down by the pool everyday but you had to bring them back in at the end of each day, which was a pain as they were very heavy and awkward to carry. Ideally, the pool should have sunbeds already positioned to use or the house should provide more lightweight and manoeuvrable beds to use. Perhaps the fold up kind. We were also told by the representative that we could take the small potable parasol down by the pool and stick it in the ground. When we did that on the second day, one of the permanent residents came over to us quite abruptly and said that the sticking of parasols directly into the ground was not permitted and all parasols needed a base, and so this meant that we had to bring down the much larger parasol from the house which was better, but the base and parasol were very heavy, so carrying that back and forth each day as well as the beds, was hard work! Which you don’t expect to do on holiday especially in the heat!

One of the other disappointments, was that the photos of the pool area, led us to believe that our villa was one that directly led onto the pool but in fact the house (casa H) is Eighth along the row of houses and so you couldn’t sunbath on the villa terrace, while the kids play at the pool as they would be out of sight and ear shot. Again misleading.

The positives were that the rooms we could use, were very spacious, as were the wardrobes, the showers were excellent, very powerful and always very hot. Aside from the issues in the kitchen cupboards, the house was clean and tidy and decorated to a very good standard. The cleaners did come after our first wk to clean through, change the beds and provide fresh towels. There was a lovely terrace area to the rear, with large table a chairs which is lovely to sit around of an evening and the neighbours next door were very friendly.

The walk into Albufeira, is not 20 mins!!! I timed the walk at a moderate pace and it took 30 mins. The local taxi driver numbers given were only useful once, the second time I booked a taxi, we waited one hour and it failed to arrive, when I tried calling them back, there was no answer. The local restaurants, the Farm Village Snack bar and Cocheira were fabulous and come highly recommended, there is also a small supermarket called Pingo Doce which is great and has a fresh fish, meat and bakery counter.

Personally speaking, I would stay in the area of Calicos again but not at this property for the above reasons and the fact that we were not offered any refund by means of an apology for paying for 3 bedrooms and only having 2!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fimcg2018
Quarteira, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Albuferia townhouse”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely townhouse, loads of space, a/c, the pool area is lovely and we had it to ourselves most of the time . Beach towels are included.. we didnt know this.. would have saved space in luggage! The area is quiet but there are 2 restaurants at the end of the road which are good, shops are a few mins walk, the old town is a 20 min walk, we hired a car so drove.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Han1Dan
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a fantastic holiday -the house is in a great location with everything you need -pool, outdoor dining area fab kitchen lovely en suite bedrooms -easy to book and a great restaurant round the corner !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taj2201
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic , Spacious Albufeira Three Storey Town House”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fabulous spacious three storey town house .
Within walking distance to the Albufeira Old Town.
With the space at the property being so well utilised there is plenty of storage and space for all your needs .
There is a great shared pool and a three tiered garden for sun lounging and shaded eating area.
We found this a great property and would definitely visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umbertolo...
Alicante, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing