We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bachalao”
Review of The Clipper

The Clipper
Ranked #10 of 109 Restaurants in Armacao de Pera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$23
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely bachalao”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The food was very good, but it took some time, they seemed more eager to get customers in than the kitchen could cope with. So, by all means, go there, but go a bit earlier than the evening rush. The bread was not fresh, but the main courses - cod, pork, beef etc were all good. The spare ribs did not have any barbecue sauce, so they did not resemble the photo in the menu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Knut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    155
    67
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great menu and food quality and great location bit pricey but worth it we went twice in the week and both times all three courses were very good


Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super Food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ate here on our last night, great value and very friendly towards families, we sat outside and had a great view of the sun set, would go back anytime

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CSRS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the football!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

On the night we visited the reason for going was that we could watch England disgrace themselves, again.
The melon starter was the best melon I have ever had, the portion size was enormous. The fish was nicely cooked and plentiful.
It is a Tourist restaurant, so if you want to feel comfortable surrounded by fellow travellers this is a good place for you.
The staff I found to be friendly and the service efficient.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cally Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very popular with tourists”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We ate at the Clipper one evening because it was always very busy and we didn't want to wander too far from our hotel because we were tired.

We noticed that there were a lot of tourist eating at this restaurant and the menu did reflect this with slightly westernised menu option such as steak or other meats with sauces and served with chips or potatoes etc.

I chose fish and my husband had pork in a mustard sauce which he said was very nice. The waiting staff were very friendly and the restaurant has a very nice atmosphere. If you prefer to eat slightly English style food or fancy a good old steak one then this is the restaurant for you.

It is worth remembering restaurant closes at 10.00pm unlike the Portuguese restaurants in the centre that will stay open until the last person has gone home!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonySallyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clipper also viewed

Armacao de Pera, Faro District
Armacao de Pera, Faro District
 
Armacao de Pera, Faro District
Armacao de Pera, Faro District
 

Been to The Clipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing