We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just gets better everytime we go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2011

As the tour organsier of a 20+ large group of golfers and this being my 10th visit. I must say that this hotel just gets better and better everytime we go. The location is stunning, the heated swimming pool a real bonus. The beach absolutley fabulouse. Breakfast, everything you could wish for and more. Also my favorite time of the day 'Happy Hour' on the terrace. 40% off all drinks and cocktails. The Indian restaurant The Raj is the best in town and located in the Hotel. All the staff are brilliant will no exceptions, a special thank you to Jane and Helen on the Golf Desk for all their hard work in organising everyting for us including transfers. Golf at Alamos, Salgados and Palmares was Fantastic. Praise was given by all of our party and we can highly reccommend the Holiday Inn as possibly the best hotel on the Algarve.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend. It's a perfect place for a short stay. The hotel from outside does not look great but... the room was VERY nice, spacious and clean. I was actually very nicely surprised. Our room was overlooking the Promenade and the sea. What an amazing view!!! Iron, ironing bard, kettle, hair dryer, minibar etc etc... The only comment I have re cleanliness is the outside of the hotel + balcony... a little work should be done to make those areas look better.
STAFF: The staff in general was very good (maybe except front of the house who didn't make me feel very welcome when we arrived. They were simply "cold"...). However, the staff at the breakfast was very nice. At this point I would also like to say thank you to the FANTASTIC guys working at the bar with an amazing sea view!!!!. Especially those two gentlemen working there on Saturday 30th May - afternoon and evening (One of them was also working there on Friday afternoon). Extremely professional but at the same time very approachable and polite. With their manners (especially the dark skin gentleman) they could be serving in the most exclusive hotels in the world. Both my partner and I thought that their attitude was fantastic. Guys - thank you for the best Sangria in the world! (please can I have a recipe? ;-) The entertainment on Saturday was very good too. Despite the fact that there were mainly old couples we have really enjoyed the atmosphere. We were simply too tired to go out but we did not regret staying in.
TOWN: the town was VERY quiet so if you are looking for a lot of entertainment I suggest you go to Albufeira (also amazing location + good restaurants, bars and pubs..). It takes about 20min to get there by car. I guess Armaco may be busy during summer time but at the end of April it's a very quiet town.
CAR: make sure you rent a car and explore Algarve. The roads are not busy and every few minutes you will see some amazing places. There is a lot of parking spaces outside the hotel!
The BEACH: AMAZING!!!!!! Long, sandy beach... I am very fussy when it comes to choosing holiday spots but the Holiday Inn + the beach + entertainment at Albufeira made our stay extremely enjoyable!
p.s. make sure you try those amazing ice cream at Armaco!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paddyjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel here on Tripadvisor - we are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us, and appreciate your kind coments. We hope it is not too long before we see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Having just returned from a great holiday at the Holiday Inn, Armacao de Pera, we have to say that the standard of service was second to none. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly and we had a very relaxing holiday.

The views from the bar and restaurant are simply stunning, looking out over the Atlantic Ocean, especially at sunrise and sunset when it is totally breathtaking. The walks on the beach were also very pleasant.

We would certainly have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone considering a visit to the Algarve.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chloeYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you for your recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. As you say the sunrises and sunsets can be breathtaking. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

The hotel dinner menu was fabulous. The adjacent restaurant, The Raj, serves excellent curry.
The 'in house' beauty therapist, Chloe, was terrific and great value.
We have visited this hotel many times and would not hesitate to recomment.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
3  Thank wlms576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the last week in April,having been recommended by friends and were suitably impressed.The breakfast menu is self service,with a great variation and excellent quality.The hotel has a swimming pool,with ample sun beds and a drinks/snack bar poolside.
Wspent six days there and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jack503822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

just returned from this hotel for third time,and loved it just as much as the first.wonderful location over looking the beach. The rooms and general area's are spotless. we went bed and breakfast,and there was plenty to choose from.
You could not fault the hot and cold buffet breakfast with something for everybody.
The stafff are most polite and very helpful.
We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettyted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We happened upon this holiday inn when we had to get out of our chosen hotel (Bayside Salgados Hotel) which was not fit for animals to live in, although they did wander round freely!
The Holiday Inn in Armacao de Pera, formally known as the Garbe Hotel, is worth every bit of it's 4 stars.
The rooms are excellently presented and very comfortable and I think just about all of them have a sea view. The view from our room was close to being the best we've ever had.

The swimming pool albeit small was heated just enough to make it a pleasure getting in and out. When you are in the pool you just look out over the beach into the sea. Fantastic.
The staff were also first rate. We booked three nights in an emergency using priority points and you would have thought we'd paid top rack rate, the service was first class.
We also tried the Raj restaurant,which is attached to the hotel, again first class.
All in all the Holiday inn Armacao saved us from a holiday nightmare and turned it into a holiday to remember. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rob_stephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
0.7 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
14.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
1,445 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,586 reviews
16.3 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera

Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range: £30 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armaçao de Pera, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armaçao de Pera accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao De Pera Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing