We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to go here for the Massage and Indian Food Alone!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I went on holiday with a friend and it was a last minute booking so we werent expecting too much, we entered our room to be greeted with an amazing view of the beach and a balcony. We had a nice room with good sized beds and great ar con.
The hotel was in a great position - right on the beach and within walking distance of the shops and restaurants of the town.
The staff were ok - sometimes a bit slow and hard to find.

SPA - My friend and I both had the full body massage in the Spa with Chloe - she was lovely and we loved the experience, I loved it so much that I went back for a hot wax pedicure aswell - We would both highley recommend paying her a visit to help you truly relax into your holiday!!!

FOOD - Another must is The Raj - the Indian restaurant attached to the Holiday Inn - this is the best Indian food that my friend and I have ever had. we recommended it to another guest while we were there and she thanked us for the recomendation saying she loved it. But watch out for your order they give you a lot of food!!!

We will be going back. Enjoy your stay xx

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank emily h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Hi Emily,

Thank you very much for writing about our hotel here. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We very much appreciate your special mention of the Total Harmony Beauty Salon and the Raj Indian Restaurant - thank you.

We hope it is not too long before you return.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Our Family of 2 adults & 2 children (14 & 11 years old) have just returned from 10 nights at the Holiday Inn Algarve.
This is a great hotel, with great staff who we found courteous, competent, with a welcoming smile & always ready to assist.
The hotel facilities are great. Our rooms were really nice & complete with security safe, fridge, tv including BBC1, air conditioning etc & were well maintained daily, cleaned with fresh towels etc. Even though our rooms faced the promenade, pedestrian noise was not an issue & our nightly sleep was never disturbed.
The pool & pool area are great with loungers & sun umbrellas & all this is complimented with a private access to the beach from the hotel to enjoy the sea (a bit chilly for us) & sand. Its really the best of both worlds.
Make sure to join the hotel BBQ on Saturday & reserve a seat on the terrace.
The hotel location is great & central to all amenities.
As we experienced a very relaxing & fun family holiday, I have no hesitation to recommend the Holiday Inn Algarve. Thank you Holliday Inn Algarve & see you again !

PS Make sure to take the 'fishing boat safari' with Captain Lelinho (tele 917444814) to view the coast & visit the caves & remote beaches a stones throw from the hotel. This 'safari' for $15 pp / 1,5 hours can be ordered directly from the beach, where the pedalos & jet skis are hired. It's a small boat that can manoeuvre into the caves to give a real 360 degree experience. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Hi Michael,

Many thanks for writing about your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday, and hope it is not too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Algarve.

With kind regards

Vicki Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

For many years (really many), this hotel has been a favourite for regular visitors from the UK. Due to some ‘interesting’ political connections, many years ago, (pre 1974 revolution), the original owners (nothing to do with the existing owners), obtained permission to build a hotel right on the edge of the beach, something you could never do these days. As a result, it has a fabulous view, and you can just walk down onto the beach. It’s a very personal hotel, they seem to know all their guests, service is really good, and the recent affiliation with the Holiday In group upgraded the rooms and public areas to a very good standard. This hotel represents superb value for money, and delivers on its promises. You could pay a lot more elsewhere, and get a lot less. What more can I say?

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

average holiday inn w/ prime location. staff is OK. but not extremelly willing to assist if help is needed for the guest.our room was towards the ocean which is wonderful. the rooms seemed to be refurbished not so long ago so it was nice. the parking for the cars is a mess. not enough spaces for the guests and people are parking everywhere.

Room Tip: ocean side is a must
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank servicefreak34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed 7 nights B&B in room 310.

We arrived around Midday and had to occupy ourselves till 1:30pm till our room was ready. No big deal really.

Our room had no balcony and not really much in the way of a view at all but no big issue as we didn't spend much time in it anyway.

Bed was a little too firm for us, didn't have the greatest of nights sleep over the week to be honest.

Full length mirror by the bed. Kinky.

Bathroom was small but had everything we needed including towels and never ending supply of showergel. Water temp was fine for us the whole time.

Aircon was free and great. Tended to leak onto the desk if we left it on for a long time though. But handy if you needed a drink.

Mini fridge was very well hidden in a cupboard, which we then filled with bottled water - Thus eliminating the need to leave a saucepan under the aircon unit!

Safe was free also which was good. I left some valuables out on purpose one day to test the cleaners integrity and they were still there when I returned, so credit where credits due.

Nice flatscreen TV with Sky Sports and BBC1 - Good for catching up on the Olympics when we got in at night. No porn though. Really?

Breakfast was the same every morning but was nice. Very good fried eggs, very weird scrambled eggs! FYI one morning I ate ten mini croissants with (rebadged) nutella. If they broke even that day I'd be very surprised.

The pool area itself is small but there are other areas to sunbathe up a few stairs either side, saying that we did struggle to get sunbeds on a couple of days when we didn't throw our towels down till after 11am.

The pool itself is small. Has a shallow end that suddenly drops to a VERY deep end. I went down very early for some (small!) lengths before breakfast and had it to myself one day. The pool was perfect temperature and great for a quick cool off from the very hot sun.

The pool bar is well stocked but pretty expensive. Staff were friendly but you were waiting for up to five minutes at times as they had seemingly disappeared sometimes. Had a salad and sandwich there one day - It was wack bro.

The pool area looks right out to the sea with a lovely view. Getting a sun bed on that beach is another matter. It's literally packed with Portugese families from dusk till dawn and seems they pre-book all the sunbeds the night before so good luck there! We got lucky one day though.

Tip... The bar that is on the beach on the left just after you come down the steps from the hotel is VERY cheap.

Cleaning staff were great the whole time we were there. In and out very quickly.

Front desk staff were a mixed bag. Some were really friendly and helpful - In particular a blondish lady who's name I don't remember. Others were pretty stand-offish and I didn't feel like they were particularly pleased to see me whenever I asked for something!

Front desk booked us cabs to visit Silves and to hunt down a Blackberry charger after I left it at home, both guys were really friendly and gave us loads of recommendations.

Armacao as a place is a bit of an odd one. Loads of 6-10 storey apartment blocks sitting on the long pedestrianised promenade. It gets PACKED at night as the Portugese stroll up and down.

I was a little let down with how little there is to do there. It's even lacking in much choice for proper restaurants. There's only really a handful.

Clipper was nice food but our waitress had a bit of an attitude.
Praia de Rocha was average, didn't feel very welcome.
Walter was really nice.

Good gelado ice creams to be had as you walk home though.

As a resort, it's pretty boring. We got cabin fever after a few days so spent an afternoon in Silves and also another morning at the Fiesas sand sculpture place - Worth a look for 9 euros.

We also booked a sea fishing trip from Vilamoura, which was enjoyable after a 2hr coach journey picking everyone else up.

You'll be pleased to know I caught two mackerel. She caught nothing and ended up feeling a bit seasick.

In summary. Nice hotel. Weird resort. Some staff could do with cheering up - Maybe a team building exercise sea fishing to boost morale?

Obrigado..!

You're welcome!

Peace out...

Room Tip: Not so friendly reception staff responded well to high fives and pats on the head
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Well, this hotel is perfectly located right on the sea front at the western end of Armacao de Pera.

I stay in many hotels due to the nature of my career (past 16 years) and used some of my IHG reward points to assist. I travelled with a group of freinds aged 41 - 50. The staff were very friendly and helpful; we were upgraded to a sea view without prompting (although my Platinum status may have assisted here). This was our first time here.

Situated on the 3rd floor our rooms were clean and newly decorated. The rooms had 32" Samsung flat screen TV's and quiet Mitsubishi air-con units. The beds were superb with firm mattresses and crisp clean bedding.

The bathrooms were small but clean and had everyting that you needed, there was no issue with the water supply or it's temperature. The bath towels were not bath sheets and worked ok for me. The balcony was small with a couple of chairs and a table, well separated from the adjoining room and secure due to the construction and location. Despite the lack of a locking mechanism on the balcony door I was not worried about secuirity whatsoever and the railings were sufficient. The room had a 4 pin safe which was perfect for securing cash, cards and passort etc.

There was one lift in the hotel; fast enough and worked perfectly last week.

Breakfast was €11 and for me represented great value offering; fresh fruit, cereals, a host of breads, three types of egg, bacon, sauasages, cold meats, tomatoes (the baked ones were fantastic), jams, yoghurts, teas, coffees, juices ............ as much as you needed.

The pool was on the small side and perfectly sufficient ulness you are an Olympic freestyler - the children and the families I saw had a great time in and around the pool - all guests respected one another and indeed made freindships! We never had a problem with sun loungers although there were a couple of flights of steps down to the pool area from the hotel. There was an even mix of ages beyond 30 yrs last week, largely comprising couples and families.

Amracao itself is populated by visiting nationals who own apatments behind the promenade. The prom was busy in the evenings as the locals strolled the sea front prom. If you like ice cream then there are dozens of places - it's a popular thing here.

The only people spending in the main (in restaurants and bars were non-national), the recession has hit somewhat. We stumbled across the 'Kippis' bar - a Portugese run bar where the service and feel was great - we went most nights.

The restaurants were limited in style, the food was good however, all fresh and well priced especially away from the front on the streets behind.

I would visit again.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with a sea view - the higher rooms have been recently refurbished.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarnseyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Bom Dia from Portugal.

Thank you for writing about your stay at our Hotel here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday in Armação de Pêra.

We are pleased that you are planning to return and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With many thanks and kindest regards

Vicki Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We had to book into this hotel as the apartment we usually stay in was double booked! We booked into the Holiday Inn for 2 nights. We were in the Algarve for 16 days but there is no way we could pay the prices they were asking for (£2200 they quoted for 16 days)! So we booked in for 2 nights in order to give us time to find a suitable alternative (which we did, Jardins de Pera = beautiful & great value). We still payed a fortune for 2 nights for a seaview room (160 euros per night)! Now I don't mind paying good money for a decent hotel but this is a 3 star at a push, def not a 4 star as advertised! The room wasn't the cleanest, lack of towels (the towels were also very small not adult sized) & no hot water!!!! This is was especially disasterous as we have 3 young children! There was no locking mechanism on the balcony door! We were on the 3rd floor! Very dangerous as we have toddlers! Couldn't relax as we were continually watching that they didn't go out onto balcony! The pool is very small & very deep (3m), no children's pool. In fact nothing for children at all! The pool bar is very expensive! The hotel food is disgusting apart from the Raj Indian restaurant which Is very nice. The breakfast food was the same every day & the fruit was tinned!!! The majority of hotel guests were over 60. My children, who are very well behaved, still caused a stir amongst the old ones as it disturbed their peace & quiet! In fact I was asked by an older lady at the pool to take my children away as she couldn't concentrate on her book because of the noise of the children laughing! The pool is also inaccessible to people with limited mobility or people with prams as there are lots of stairs & no lifts to pool area. The location of the hotel is excellent as its right on the beach but it is still not worth the money. In order for this hotel to reach & exceed expectations, it needs a complete overhall & refurbishment & new leisure facilities. There is no indoor pool. Also needs new lifts! We were stuck in the hotel lift for 15 mins one day!! It only has one & it's old!!! Some of the staff were very nice others were the polar opposite! I really wouldn't recommend this hotel especially if you have children!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Danielle777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

We would like to thank you for your review, we are very sorry that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that we can investigate further

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details.

Kind regards

Vicki Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
1,396 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,227 reviews
17.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
14.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
4.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera

Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range: £41 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armaçao de Pera, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armaçao de Pera accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , IHG, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao De Pera Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing