We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Certificate of Excellence
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best location in the area”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We enjoyed a 14 night stay mid to end of January 2014 and found it to be a superb location with friendly courteous staff, a high quality and choice of food and a perfectly adequate and clean room. We would definitely consider staying at this hotel for the perfect winter break on a future occasion.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    344
    150
    48
    22
See reviews for
153
554
42
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The staff really go out of their way to make Christmas and New Year "special". We again participated in the Charity Swim on Christmas Day, which had to be in the pool due to the poor weather and dangerous sea conditions, but everyone entered into the spirit of things and had a great time. Boxing Day was fantastic, by contrast, and we spent the day round the pool which is heated and sheltered. We had to return to UK on New Year's Eve unfortunately and would love to have stayed on for the festivities, with another Charity Swim, this time in the sea.

I have just read Yoxen's review and wonder why they booked into a hotel without participating in the New Year festivities. The all inclusive price for 2 days is half they wold have paid in the UK and includes wine with meals. The pool and the beach are definitely not "no go areas". The hotel has the best position on the Algarve and of course there are steps as its built into the Cliffside and given that they have visited the area before I would have thought they already knew this before they booked. The balconies are all furnished with 2 chairs and table and there is room for 2 to sit and take in the fabulous views, especially the sunsets. The toaster broke down the day before we left and was replaced by the much slower one, and as it was the holiday season it would not have been easy to get it repaired or replaced at short notice. There are plate warming areas round the buffet and we have never experienced cold plates, nor repetitive breakfasts. The hotel caters for every breakfast preference. We have stayed here several times in recent years and absolutely love it. Reception staff are wonderful and go out of their way to help and make every stay perfect. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunandbeachDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex Coast
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Overall first impressions are good, but look a little closer. From the outside all seems fine unless you are less able, then the swimming pool is a no go area or reaching the beach from the hotel.
We had a sea view room on the 2nd floor, lovely views one person at a time, the balcony was so small as was the room. The bathroom had a narrower door way than usual which was lucky because it gave you a couple more inches inside! Curtains had holes in them and there was a nasty stain on the base of one bed?
We were on B&B basis. Cold plates and the same repetitive food every morning. Maybe their main clientele from Saga like it that way. The toaster was not working, it took at least 8 tries to brown your bread so eventually they brought out a normal 2 slice toaster for the whole of the hotel to use. Shame on you Holliday Inn this was New Year!
I had to complain when I saw a waitress laying tables by holding the cutlery not by the handles! Have they been trained I ask myself.
Wi-Fi was only good if you signed up to HI loyalty group but even then my husband had to keep going to reception to have them re-boot it.
We didn't pay the 150euros each for the 2 day new years gala meals so being as the restaurant was out of bounds to us we had to find alternative places to eat.
It was my birthday on 29th December but obviously Holliday Inn don't take any notice unlike other hotels in the Algarve.
On our departure day we found the lady on reception quite rude. All she said was here's your bill, not a thank you, hope you enjoyed your stay or hope to see you again! Our answer to all those questions would have been - 'Maybe'.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review and your comments.

As the hotel was constructed slightly above the beach, disabled access to the pool area and beach are unfortunately slightly limited. Thank you for your comment regarding the toaster which was repaired and put back into service as soon as the parts became available.

In January we finished the installation of a new Wi-Fi system and reports to date are excellent.
Thanks for mentioning the cold plates at breakfast, we have now investigated and found a small fault on one of the units which we are working to resolve as soon as possible.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to show you that we do get so many things right. Please contact us when considering your next break away as we really do pride ourselves on providing our guests with good friendly hospitality. We would love to have you as part of the large number of clients that return to us every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
algarve
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate the New Year. we had a fabulous time. When we entered the dining room for the evening buffet the display and food on offer took our breath away. The freshness and colour of the display resulted in the most delicious meal. The waiters circulated continuously topping up our wine of a high quality. A first class band then began to play and everyone joined in the dancing. The cabarete that followed was colourful, entertaining and skilful with colourful costumes. We have been to many high class Hotels through out the world but this must be the best of the lot . In particularly we offer our congratulations to the catering. staff

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room., or if you want to see the sea view and the sun rise and sun set from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dustyAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review of your stay here for New Years Eve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our Gala Dinner.

It is very rewarding to receive comments like yours - Thank you very much.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Algarve soon.

With kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here in August 2012 and had an amazing time. The hotel is right on the beach and next to lots of restaurants and bars/ pubs. The room was great and we had free wifi in the hotel reception. The pool area is lovely as you overlook the beach.The sunsets are amazing overlooking he beach to the east. Breakfast is served buffet style and theres so much choice. I would recommend staying here as we had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gbryant86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and very much appreciate your comments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back this year.

With kind regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Went over to visit friends in Armacao for a long weekend and stayed at the Holiday Inn for its proximity to the places I needed to be. Managed to check in early as I arrived at 11 am. My booked room wasn't ready so the front desk found me another. I was very pleasantly surprised to find I was place in a a seaview room on the 4th floor. The view is amazing. My stay was peaceful and incident free and I was able to come and go in a relaxed fashion. Whenever I needed help the staff were very accommodating. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi Mick,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your kind comments.

We hope it is not too long before you return.

With kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Cannot understand the review under YIKES...this hotel has the best location in the Algarve being sat right on the best beach.We had a room on the fourth floor which was furnished and decorated to a very acceptable standard with clean carpets and furniture in perfect condition.

The public areas are also clean well appointed and decorated. The staff and service are second to none. Every member of staff had a smile and nothing was too much trouble. Food was plentiful and the dining room a delight.

We found the hotel both inside and out to be spotlessly clean and have no complaint whatsoever.

Room Tip: rooms on third and fourth floors have been more recently upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wheeler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing our Hotel here on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your comments.

We hope it is not too long before you return here.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
17.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,094 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
983 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
1,308 reviews
11.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,039 reviews
1.1 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera

Property: Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armaçao de Pera, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armaçao de Pera accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao De Pera Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing