We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The position could not be bettered.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The position could not be bettered.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

In an unrivalled position, literally, right on the lovely and expansive beach of Armacao do Pera. there is nothing better than to be on a sunbed on the pool terrace adjoining the beach.
My room was clean and functional with a full bathroom and a small balcony overlooking the beach.
The hotel public rooms command excellent views over the beach and the Atlantic Ocean. The majority of guests appear to be on all inclusive terms. I ate only once in the Dining room, other than for breakfast. again good views and lovely rugged countryside.
A comfortable and superbly sited hotel on a lovely long beach.

Room Tip: Do have a sea view - its lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirthdayBoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your holiday here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure to welcome you back here again.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    327
    138
    42
    21
See reviews for
146
513
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Have just had a very enjoyable stay at the Holiday Inn Algarve. The staff were excellent and very helpful. Special mention for Claudia who went the extra mile to assist.
Food was good, the location was fabulous and the hotel clean and comfortable.
The room we had was a little small but again I have to say was spotless and had all we needed.
The only negative comment I would make is that a very loud generator or motor started up near our room at various times of the day, including very early on the morning. This loud disturbance went on for up to an hour at a time.
This did not spoil our enjoyment of our stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lacy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We have just returned from a 4 week holiday at the excellent Holiday Inn. We had a disabled room, as we find over the bath showers difficult, and the room was spacious with flat-screen television, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge and safe and it overlooked the sea. The bathroom was also spacious but we did have a slight problem with mould at the bottom of the walk-in shower and on the shower mat but this was quickly rectified to a large extent. Apart from that, both rooms were spotless and comfortable. The wardrobe had fixed hangers which were very high but the rep arranged for us to have ordinary hangers to hang from the fixed ones.
The dining room was well set out and the food was amazing. In particular, the fish was always beautifully fresh and well cooked. Even after 4 weeks, we still looked forward to each meal. The house wine was also good. Only quibble at breakfast was the toaster – why doesn’t someone invent an efficient hotel toaster!
The staff throughout the hotel were always friendly and helpful.
As others have said, the location is perfect – beach and sea on one side and a cobbled semi-pedestrianised walkway to the heart of the village on the other. We know that some people found the cobbles difficult but these are a feature of the Algarve. Also there are steps down from the hotel to the beach but there are handrails and we had no problems.
The pool area is a real sun trap and looks out over to the sea.
Entertainment in the hotel was only OK but the Elvis night was excellent. The young singer (not an impersonator) had everyone singing along and dancing.
Armacao was very quiet at this time of year with only a few shops and restaurants open but we understand it is very busy during the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A&CSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at our Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We apologise again, for your initial problem. We are pleased to know that it was quickly resolved.

We are pleased that you found the staff all friendly and helpful. We hope it will not be too long before you return.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We enjoyed a 14 night stay mid to end of January 2014 and found it to be a superb location with friendly courteous staff, a high quality and choice of food and a perfectly adequate and clean room. We would definitely consider staying at this hotel for the perfect winter break on a future occasion.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The staff really go out of their way to make Christmas and New Year "special". We again participated in the Charity Swim on Christmas Day, which had to be in the pool due to the poor weather and dangerous sea conditions, but everyone entered into the spirit of things and had a great time. Boxing Day was fantastic, by contrast, and we spent the day round the pool which is heated and sheltered. We had to return to UK on New Year's Eve unfortunately and would love to have stayed on for the festivities, with another Charity Swim, this time in the sea.

I have just read Yoxen's review and wonder why they booked into a hotel without participating in the New Year festivities. The all inclusive price for 2 days is half they wold have paid in the UK and includes wine with meals. The pool and the beach are definitely not "no go areas". The hotel has the best position on the Algarve and of course there are steps as its built into the Cliffside and given that they have visited the area before I would have thought they already knew this before they booked. The balconies are all furnished with 2 chairs and table and there is room for 2 to sit and take in the fabulous views, especially the sunsets. The toaster broke down the day before we left and was replaced by the much slower one, and as it was the holiday season it would not have been easy to get it repaired or replaced at short notice. There are plate warming areas round the buffet and we have never experienced cold plates, nor repetitive breakfasts. The hotel caters for every breakfast preference. We have stayed here several times in recent years and absolutely love it. Reception staff are wonderful and go out of their way to help and make every stay perfect. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunandbeachDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex Coast
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Overall first impressions are good, but look a little closer. From the outside all seems fine unless you are less able, then the swimming pool is a no go area or reaching the beach from the hotel.
We had a sea view room on the 2nd floor, lovely views one person at a time, the balcony was so small as was the room. The bathroom had a narrower door way than usual which was lucky because it gave you a couple more inches inside! Curtains had holes in them and there was a nasty stain on the base of one bed?
We were on B&B basis. Cold plates and the same repetitive food every morning. Maybe their main clientele from Saga like it that way. The toaster was not working, it took at least 8 tries to brown your bread so eventually they brought out a normal 2 slice toaster for the whole of the hotel to use. Shame on you Holliday Inn this was New Year!
I had to complain when I saw a waitress laying tables by holding the cutlery not by the handles! Have they been trained I ask myself.
Wi-Fi was only good if you signed up to HI loyalty group but even then my husband had to keep going to reception to have them re-boot it.
We didn't pay the 150euros each for the 2 day new years gala meals so being as the restaurant was out of bounds to us we had to find alternative places to eat.
It was my birthday on 29th December but obviously Holliday Inn don't take any notice unlike other hotels in the Algarve.
On our departure day we found the lady on reception quite rude. All she said was here's your bill, not a thank you, hope you enjoyed your stay or hope to see you again! Our answer to all those questions would have been - 'Maybe'.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review and your comments.

As the hotel was constructed slightly above the beach, disabled access to the pool area and beach are unfortunately slightly limited. Thank you for your comment regarding the toaster which was repaired and put back into service as soon as the parts became available.

In January we finished the installation of a new Wi-Fi system and reports to date are excellent.
Thanks for mentioning the cold plates at breakfast, we have now investigated and found a small fault on one of the units which we are working to resolve as soon as possible.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to show you that we do get so many things right. Please contact us when considering your next break away as we really do pride ourselves on providing our guests with good friendly hospitality. We would love to have you as part of the large number of clients that return to us every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
algarve
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate the New Year. we had a fabulous time. When we entered the dining room for the evening buffet the display and food on offer took our breath away. The freshness and colour of the display resulted in the most delicious meal. The waiters circulated continuously topping up our wine of a high quality. A first class band then began to play and everyone joined in the dancing. The cabarete that followed was colourful, entertaining and skilful with colourful costumes. We have been to many high class Hotels through out the world but this must be the best of the lot . In particularly we offer our congratulations to the catering. staff

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room., or if you want to see the sea view and the sun rise and sun set from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dustyAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review of your stay here for New Years Eve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our Gala Dinner.

It is very rewarding to receive comments like yours - Thank you very much.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Algarve soon.

With kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
17.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
2,881 reviews
9.0 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#35 of 163 in Albufeira
725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
8.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
16.8 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera

Property: Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armaçao de Pera, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armaçao de Pera accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao De Pera Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing