We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Very helpful personnel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Odessa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location. Very helpful personnel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were given a room with a view (1st floor) despite that we booked a non-view one, so it was already positive. Also the personnel at the reception was very helpful – they organized a taxi to meet us at the train station, provided us extra help which was more than their obligatory job – so the services exceeded our expectations! Special thanks to Lídia Guia and Teresa.
Food was ok, but nothing special (we stayed at HB option). At the same time when we tried a local restaurant, we realized that our dinners are not bad at all in terms of variety and price. Every day we had meat, fish, pasta options with numerous salads, fruits, deserts. Even a soup was offered, so it was ok. Perhaps, we expected a lot of sea food with crabs and lobsters, which was not the case…
The rooms do need a renovation but they are cleaned very well. In general the hotel can be recommended, but book in advance to get the best prices.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfesenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    327
    139
    43
    21
See reviews for
146
516
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My experience at the Holiday Inn, Armação de Pera, Algarve was disappointing.
I am aware that I went in August which is the peak season and you end up paying for that as well.
The location of the hotel is fantastic as you can basically park your car and do mostly everything if you stay in Armação de Pera.
The staff as courteous without going out of their way to be nice.
The hotel however has many negative points. It is in major need of a renovation. The rooms as old and worn out. The curtains have holes. The pillows are filled with pieces of sponge. The mattresses do not offer any support. The air-condition unit made noise all night long. The bath towels are small and thinned out.
The breakfast is standard and boring.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MitchLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay.

We are very sorry that you were disappointed. Your feedback is much appreciated - it assists us in improving our standards. We will investigate your points and resolve these issues.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the holiday inn for a week, really enjoyed our stay there friendly staff, rooms cleaned every day we wanted a balcony as we had asked for one and we did get one the next day, overall a nice quite place beautiful terrace if you dont want to go to the beach, bit of entertainment in the hotel would add to it otherwise would be back again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolineday35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here in the near future.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herning, Danmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for 1 week on the second floor with a seaview. Really nice hotel. The room was a nice size with big very comfortable beds. The terasse was tiny and not really usable for anything else than drying your towel. Luckily it was not so hot that we needed to have the aircon on, because when we tried, a really bad smell of old came from it. Bathroom was nice and clean.

Breakfast was really good with everything for a full english breakfast. Toasters should be changed though at it to for ever to toast a piece of bread as it needed to go through several times before it took colour.

Nice pool area with a lot of deckchairs, and here comes the reason for me not giving this hotel 4 or 5 stars: we went to the pool around 10am every day. By this time there were about 10-15 people around the pool, but EVERY single deckchair was "reserved" with a towel. Despite signs everywhere on the walls forbidding this, nothing was done. Shame. Also by the end of our week the water seemed rather cloudy.

The location of the hotel is perfect just at the beginning of the promenade with loads of restaurants within a very short walking distance

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andersostergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Andersostergaard,

Thank you for your taking the time to evaluate our property. I am elated that our hotel location and room accommodations exceeded your expectations. Please accept me sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced with the condition of the pool and service received. I appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate people and department.

I do hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We had booked for ten days at the Holiday Inn on an all inclusive basis. On arrival it seemed that there had been some confusion between our travel agent and the hotel which had left us a bed short on the first night for me, my disabled wife and our three children. This was quickly resolved by Claudia and her staff and this was the only blip in our fantastic holiday.

We were offered an upgrade on day three of our stay, which we were more than happy to take even though the room we were assigned was more than adequate due to there being more space in the upgraded room.

When I read through some of the other reviews where complaints have been made about staff, I find this hard to understand as every member of staff at the hotel did their upmost to make this holiday as enjoyable as possible for us. This includes the front desk staff, the housekeeping, dining and bar staff. They were all friendly and bent over backwards with any request we had, even those who had language barriers still made an effort to communicate in their own friendly way. Our children were paid so much attention, they didn't want to leave, and as we were made to feel special we didn't want to either lol

The standard of food was good compared to other hotels I have stayed in, and there was a good choice for all, which was turned over on a regular basis to keep fresh. There's plenty of seating with fantastic views, with on hand staff to clear services as soon as we had finished.

The room was fantastic, we had an executive room on the ground floor with a sea view, whilst this may not have been one of the 'updated' rooms as mentioned in other reviews, it was comfortable, spacious, clean fully air conned and attended to by housekeeping daily and I found no faults at all with it.

If I could find any 'niggles' and I mean only niggles as this didn't spoil the holiday for us, about the hotel at all it would be the sunbed situation, where in our case by the time we had breakfast and got our three kids ready and changed, other than three of the days there was practically no chance of getting just two sunbeds due to the large amount that had been 'reserved' even though signs were posted not to do so, what was even more frustrating was that these same people who had reserved the sunbeds, were then walking about in the local town or on the beach and just occasionally nipping back during the day. This is difficult for the hotel to deal with I suppose when you have a 200 room hotel and prob only 20% sunbeds and with the beach being so close, but in peak season, you are also lucky to get one on the beach also (which are chargeable) One other niggle from the kids was the lack of available choice on ice creams included as part of our inclusive package, a large sign displaying a good large selection, but at one point in the week this was a reduced to a choice of 5, my advice would be to indicate on the sign what was sold out to save time and disappointment for the kids, and during peak times like this to ensure a better supply, keeps the kids quiet for longer lol.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable break, staff that are on a par with 5 star hotels and resorts I have stayed in, especially Claudia at front of house, and fantastic dining staff. They are fantastic ambassadors for the company and the hotel and they should be very proud of the service they provide, it was exemplary.

It is a nice hotel, in a nice area that hasn't suffered the same sort of colonisation and commercialisation as other parts of the Algarve, there were a good mix of nationalities whilst we were here and you felt that if you wanted to stay nice and private you could or if you wanted to try and make friends the option was there if looked for, and we look forward to returning once again.

Thank you to all who made this a holiday to remember for me, my wife and my family.

Gareth Robinson

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazrob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel...clean...well kept tidy pool area...excellent reception staff. BUT...is so let down by the poor food and sullen old men(waiting staff) in the restaurant.
BREAKFAST....nice selection overall but the cooked option sits in 'rechauffe' dishes with lids on from 7.30...when you come in at 8.30 the 'fried' eggs are rubbery and overcooked, the bacon is steaming and soggy and the scrambled egg is past its sell by date'.i have never had such limp and small croissants.The 'toaster' takes at least 3 goes to achieve a nice browned slice and the hot drinks machines cannot cope with the demands of a busy restaurant. ..takes 3 pushes to fill a jug/pot with boiling water for tea....meanwhile a queue has formed behind you.
DINNER....again a good variety of food on offer but the quality of the main courses which sit in the rechauffe dishes means they are soon pretty inedible....fried potatoes sat with lid on...fish over cooking as the service goes on...overcooked veg sat stewing in a hot water base. The sweet selection must all be bought in and they have little to no flavour...so disappointing for a supposedly 4 star hotel.But the salad selection is good and ensures you don't go hungry.
Holiday Inns need to review their food and beverage operation at this hotel if they expect present customers to frequent other hotels in the group.
I work in the catering industry for over 40 years so I feel I'm more than qualified to pass comment on substandard food operations.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Mark T,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Overall we were very happy with the hotel.
All of the staff were very cheerful and helpful (with the exception if one grumpy little waiter in the restaurant).
The hotel was very clean we had no complains with our room. Particularly as we had the added bonus of a sea view which wasn't what we expected.
Breakfast was ok, nothing special but very good value compared to other Holiday Inns (we has to pay on the few occasions we ate there as we booked on points).
Huge negatives.... Lack of an iron. Never ever been told before at any HI in any country that irons are not available!
Also, if you want a sunbed by the pool, you have to be there early. Very early. The management must tighten up on this. We could be there at 8am and half the sunbeds would have towels on them, with some people not appearing until lunchtime. This shouldn't be allowed to happen.
Sort those 2 little niggles out and you've got a great little hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank UK_Miggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
17.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
9.0 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#35 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
16.8 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera

Property: Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armaçao de Pera, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armaçao de Pera accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao De Pera Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing