We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Apartment Algar
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Vila Gale Nautico(Armacao de Pera)
US$136
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$865
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$407
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$347
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Viking(Porches)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Rosamar 1 Aparthotel(Armacao de Pera)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Vila Senhora da Rocha(Armacao de Pera)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aparthotel Rosamar II(Armacao de Pera)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
60
34
9
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
34
9
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewfirst floorroof terracefew minor nigglestoilet areabeds changed twiceair conchanged regularlyplenty of storagesplash poolplenty of bars and restaurantsself cateringthese apartmentscleaned every daysmall poolcomfortable bedson arrival
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is the first time that we have stayed in Algar Apartments (prev visits to Armacao stayed in the Garbe now Holiday Inn). We read the reviews beforehand and were so pleased that we stayed at the Algar. We had a studio on the third floor with a side view and partial sea view, studio had 2 full size comfortable single beds, leather sofa, tv (only sky news in English), full size cooker with oven and 4 rings, microwave and good quality cookware. There was also table & four dining chairs, iron & ironing board, pull out washing line on balcony, full size bathroom with bath & shower over. There were even clean tea towels & a new sponge scourer. Towels changed every couple days & sheets changed every three days. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff, so helpful & nothing was any trouble to them- Claudia on reception is great fun to talk to. The apartments also have a small gymnasium in the basement which is free and sun beds, chairs & a splash pool on the roof- great views. Mon Café first road on the left after the church square, Victor & Jose make great savoury pastries, perfect to eat there or packed lunches, plus free wifi

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The room was more than spacious and provided an excellent base for what I wanted to do. The staff were always very friendly and willing to help, from the front desk guys to Rui the night porter, who waited with me while the transfer bus did several laps of the town before picking me up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We returned from our week at the Hotel Algar on 14th September. The reason I booked this hotel was purely for the view and proximity to the beautiful beach. I had requested a nice sea view on a high floor. However, much to our disappointment our tiny balcony was at the side of the building, overlooking apartments in a bad state of repair.on the 5th floor. The apartment was very clean with linens and towels changed regularly. The kitchenette was tiny and basic and the only light provided was from the cooker hood, but it wasn,t much of a problem, as we only ate breakfast there. The bedroom was a good size with a/c and a TV, but only one socket in the whole room. The bathroom was in need of updating, but was very clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. We did request a 4.30am wake up knock on our day of departure, which didn,t happen, luckily we woke on time ourselves..

Room Tip: I would do if I had one.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandySkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Checked in on 4th Sept, went to supermarket underneath and sat on the balcony watching the sea/beach life across the way, whilst drinking a glass of white wine. Apartments cleaned every day, reception staff were all very friendly and helpful .Kettle, toaster and plenty of clean plates etc. Air con and a hairdryer, and plenty of room in the kitchen/bathroom and bedroom areas, what more could you want? Booked accom. through Travel Republic and Resort Hoppa sorted out the efficient transfer to and from the Hotel. Around the corner is a bigger supermarket where we found a great variety of food and a very drinkable white wine called Nico for the princely sum of one euro 75 per bottle. Another plus for the Hotel is the fact that on the 8th floor is a rooftop pool with a fab view.The only drawback to the beach is the cost of sunbeds-7.25 euros each- better to buy a lilo and use it as a bed too! Portugese people very friendly and English widely spoken.
This is a typical family resort where kids are out till 12( to knock them out) plenty of bars and good restaurants offering a tourist menu for 12 euros, incl wine-not for the disco types!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, but choose a higher floor for better views and less noise from the street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We arrived at the Algar following a 35-40 minute taxi ride from Faro Airport .
The Apartment was clean and decorated well.
When you walk through the door you enter the kitchen which is well stocked with utensils, cutlery, crockery, pots & pans, tea towels, table cloth. There is a cooker and microwave oven (which we didn’t use) a kettle and toaster. There is a small supply of washing up liquid but no dishcloth or sponge.
They do not supply tea/coffee so would recommend taking some with you. There are, however several shops/supermarkets where you can stock up.
There is also a Market a few streets back on a Saturday where you can buy fruit, veg/salad, fish, bread and sweets. The Lounge is also part of the Kitchen which is comfortably furnished with a sofa, coffee table and a television which shows Sky News and BBC2. The Lounge leads to a hall with the bathroom off it. The bathroom was a good size but a little dark at the end where the bath is as there is no natural light. The bedroom is very nicely decorated and bright with sliding doors onto the balcony which gives you an excellent view of the sea/beach.
There are plenty of drawers and wardrobe space with hangers.
We thought it would be nice to leave the balcony doors open at night so we could hear the sea hitting the shore but the noise from the crowds/entertainers goes on well into the early hours which made it impossible to sleep. There was something strange as far as noise is concerned. There is a children's play area across the road from the apartment and every evening there are stalls set up. The stallholders children use the play area and we could hear them and the entertainers louder in the apartment, especially in the bathroom as if it was amplified through the air vents.
The reception and bar/café area had, by the look of it, recently been refurbished and it was very smart and clean. We used the bar/café several times during our 9 day stay and found the food was very good. I would especially recommend the breakfast. There is seating inside or outside on the promenade which is a great place to sit with a drink in the evening and watch the crowds walk by. There are toilet facilities in the bar area but only for guests staying in the apartments so you have to ask for a key.
The rooms are visited every day by the maid but she only makes the bed. The towels are not changed every day and she will not do your washing up. The staff are all friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a sea view room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews