We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodation and Challenging Courses” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation and Challenging Courses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

A golf trip for 8 back in April 2012, we stayed in a Villa for 3 nights on the Gramacho resort from the day we arrived to the day we departed the staff were always friendly. On day 1 we arrived at 11:00 however check in time is from 2pm onwards. Staff still showed us to the Villa to allow us to get ready for the golf as well as purchase a few groceries from the local supermarket. We didnt hire a car and the transfer driver was more than welcome to take us out to the village rather than us ordering a taxi. On departure day we were not getting picked up till 4pm and once again the staff allowed us to stay a little longer rather than having to check out early in the morning. We played the Gramacho course which was more forgiving than Vale Da Pinta but you still need to be straight. However beware of the 12th green because its a big right to left putt and fast, also hole 16 strok index 1 is very interesting too. Vale Da Pinta was very challenging with undulating greens and tight fairways. All in all it was a lovely stay and experience hence we have booked again for this May

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holman_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuel A, Golf & Resort Sales Manager at Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Mr Holman,

We were very pleased to learn through your very kind comments that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for that.

We hope that we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you or your friends/relatives to the Pestana Golf & Resorts and we will do our utmost to make your stay a most enjoyable one.

Assuring you our best attention at all times, we remain,

Sincerely Yours,

Emanuel Amador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    32
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here on a bed and breakfast basis in a group of 3 golfers. Upon arrival we were guided to our apartment; a huge apartment! 3 big bedrooms with 2 ensuite 1 with jacuzzi, and a huge living room with a fully equipped kitchen (including washing machine!). We then had a tee time on the Vale Pinta course which was nice. A nice layout with some nice holes.
We played all the courses which were part of the unlimited golf deal, the best being Vila Sol about 45km from Gramacho on the way to the airport. The fairways were all well cut. The only improvement the courses could address are the greens; they weren't very receptive and putted quite slow. Otherwise the courses all have their great signature holes and are all courses that I would play again.
The real issue I would say that needs to be addressed is the restaurants in the clubhouses: the food is not good at all. Vila Sol has a different menu but I heard its status is not the same as the other courses of the Pestana group. Maybe they should copy Vila Sol's menu...
Otherwise the stay was extremely enjoyable and I would definitely want to come back in the Algarve to play these courses again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thibaut H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuel A, Golf & Resort Sales Manager at Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Mr Thibaut,

Firstly, we would very much like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Golf & Resorts - Carvoeiro and also for taking the time to fill in the tripadvisor guest questionnaire form, upon which we were indeed most pleased to learn that in general you found our facilities and standards to your liking encouraging you to a return visit.

We also would like to inform you that we haave taken good note of your construuctive commments and suggestions, which have already been forwarded to the F&B Director.

We do sincerely hope that we will soon have the privilege of welcoming you, or your friends or relatives, to the Pestana Golf & Resorts- Carvoeiro and we will certainly do our utmost to make your or their stay a most enjoyable and remarkable one.

In the meantime, we remain with our very best regards,

Yours Sincerely,

Emanuel Amador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Simply put, this resort is lovely. We weren't actually staying on the Gramacho estate but 2mins away on the Pestana resorts and the villas are remarkably nice...walk in wardrobes, jacuzzis (too complicated to work but the idea was nice), equipped kitchens, washing machines, spacious balconies, literally everything, and incredibly modern. Very impressed.

We were on a bed and breakfast deal and the breakfast is pretty much one of the best quality around - help yourself buffet, all the usuals, but just done better with better quality food than anywhere I've been in Europe for some time.

Unfortunately there are a few things which leave you not completely satisfied and thinking they could do a better job, and it's almost all around service. You really get the feeling they really don't care about you and the administration on their side is virtually non-existent between their various departments. Given the numbers of English tourists/golfers their English is also extremely limited and means that simple conversation turn into quite an undertaking.

Our villas/apartment had no hot water (for 5 people) for the entire time we were there (4 days), and despite mentioning every day twice a day and receiving assurance after assurance that it would be fixed nothing was done about it until the final afternoon, when we were checking out! One of the final excuses we heard was that despite saying someone has been sent out, they actually decided that it was more likely we had most-likely used all the hot water and therefore it wasn't necessary - pretty incredible considering it was mentioned 8/9 times to them.

As you would expect they also run a taxi-ing service from the various nearby sections of the resorts to the main reception where breakfast (and one of the golf courses) is. Despite informing them upon arrival that we would require this every day at the same time, we were left waiting every morning until we called up asking where it was, to find that they had no record of us ordering it. It got worse on Saturday and Sunday when they informed us that 'we don't offer this at weekends' - something you'd hope they would have mentioned as we checked in on Friday for a 4 day trip!

The golf is good quality, no one would be disappointed with the courses, however another thing they don't tell you about when booking is that no matter how many are in your group (9 in our case), they will always put you out in a 4 ball with other groups and mix and match your groups as they see fit. I understand why they do this but this should be communicated to all golfers prior to booking.

Such a shame overall that a couple of things leave you feeling that great facilities and resort are being run very badly with no real regard for the customer apart from getting you out of there as soon as they can with as little service as possible...they could have done so much better if with what they've got.

Room Tip: Large villas for 4-8 people - stunning quality/modern/facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I booked Casa Tini (number 44) via Villa Parade for 1st September for my wife and I plus my wife's sister and partner. It was the most relaxing week we have ever spent abroad. The Gramacho site is perfectly clean and well maintained. Our villa had a magnificent south westerly garden overlooking the 14th green and 15th Tee. I'm not a golfer but watching from that vantage point was brilliant. I hooked up a hammock between two of the garden palms and just chilled with a cool beer, occasionally taking a dip in the pool. The owner has built a nice little veiwing gallery into the rockery facing the golf course if you don't have a hammock though. As the villa is located on a corner of a cul de sac, it had a very wide well manicured garden, so there is enough space between the adjoining villa's to provide good privacy.

We felt very secure on the Gramacho site after I accidentally tripped the alarm while leaving the villa one day and a security officer arrived within one minute to make sure everything was ok.

We ventured out to the local beaches and coves which are outstanding. I'll be returning to the Carvoeiro area for sure but I'll probably book directly with villa owners next time as the prices are much cheaper. One thing I've learned is to book my flight several months in advance and leave the villa until a week or so before departure. I've always been lucky enough to get a greatly reduced rental while still getting a good quality villa this way.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2002RoadKingClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuel A, Golf & Resorts Sales Manager at Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Sirs,

Many thanks for writing your review on tripadvisor. Your comments are very important to us. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Pestana Golf & Resorts - Carvoeiro in the near future!
In the meantime we remain with our very best regards!
Yours Sincerely,
Pestana Golf & Resort Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho is a near perfect location for all golf lovers. But even for anyone who doesn't plays golf, this resort has all the ingredients to a fantastic stay: beautiful landscapes, really nice accommodations in fantastic villas and apartments and at some short distance, by car, to beautiful beaches in sunny and warm Algarve. For anyone who wants to get rest, comfort at affordable prices, this is a place to choose for one of the best golf resorts in Algarve.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuel A, Golf & Resort Sales Manager at Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for writing your review on tripadvisor. Your comments are very important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pestana Golf & Resorts - Carvoeiro in the near future!
In the meantime we remain with our very best regards!
Yours Sincerely,
Pestana Golf & Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

me and my faimly stayed here for a week and it was lovely. the restrant has very delicious food and lovely waitors.we had a balcony with a amazing view of the golf corse. we enjoyed it very much. we highly recomend it and wish to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_pearson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuel A, Golf & Resort Sales Manager at Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank your very much for writing your review on tripadvisor. We apreciate your very kind comments about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pestana Golf & Resorts - Carvoeiro in the near future!
In the meantime we remain with our very best regards!
Yours Sincerely,
Pestana Golf & Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Fabulous upmarket golf resort, great golf, location and facilities. Some staff excellent(especially Luis) but marred by some more surly staff. Bottles of white wine always served WARM even when you ask for chilled. Recommend Thursday night barbecue night, good evening and great value. BUT, don't always get a great product, today my omelette was served with a large piece of broken glass sitting on top! Not good at all.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TisGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuel A, Golf & Resort Sales Manager at Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your stay with us and for having taken the time to write your review on tripadvisor!

We were very pleased to receive your constructive comments and suggestions which have been forwarded to the departments concerned.

We hope that we will soon have the pleausure of welcoming you, or your friends and relatives, to the Pestana Carvoeiro Golfe and will do our utmost to make your stay a most enjoyable one.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times, we remain,

Sincerely yours,

Pestana Golf & Resorts Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
0.4 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho

Property: Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho
Address: Apartado 1011, Carvoeiro 8401-908, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#7 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#8 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort offers spacious apartments and villas with a balcony. It is situated just 2 km from Slide & Splash Water Park. It offers massage treatments and an outdoor pool with sun loungers. There is also Spa facilities (Indoor heated pool + sauna + steam room + jacuzzi). Guests can enjoy a round of golf at Gramacho and Vale de Pinta golf courses or a game of tennis on the court. A selection of regional and international dishes is served at the restaurant. Guests can enjoy a drink at the bar. The peaceful town of Lagoa is just 2 km away and the hotel is a 30-minute drive from Faro International Airport. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho Hotel Carvoeiro
Pestana Golf Resort Gramacho Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing