We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definately go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mirachoro Praia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would definately go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly staff, I will admit the walk from the elevator was abit long, but I'm 23 so I can't complain. The room was big, with a balcony view of the town. The important thing was that it was clean. The hotel is at the top of a hill that features wonderful restaurants and bars. At the bottom of this hill is a small but beautiful beach. The room had air conditioning so when we got too hot in the night it was a life saver. Breakfast time was between 0800-1030 hours, it was a buffet style. It was well prepared and always re-stocked by a member of staff. I read someones comment that the toast takes ages, I would love to know how quickly they make their own at home. Because in pretty sure it takes 1-2 minutes normally. Some people are just impatient. My only gripe was that the orange juice was not orange juice. It was orange squash. But was still refreshing in 28c heat. The pool was my favourite place to hang out at, there was plenty of sub loungers, but people were leaving their towels or hats on them and going out of the hotel. So they could secure them upon their return?? Surely that is unfair, as at the end of May. The hotel was becoming more busy. I'm not quite sure what legislation there is about pool rules, sorry I do there is none. If you leave you stuff, be prepared to find it on the floor. Move your feet, lose your seat. That's was my second gripe, but its not the hotels problems, its more to do with the selfish people. Anyway if you needed another sun lounger a member of staff would get one for you. The pool was maintained very well. The indoor pool was very cold but once your in there you forget. Jacuzzi was excellent. Overall it was a very friendly, clean and relaxing. I will return one day again, but will have to wait until after I get married. James

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McEvoy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    259
    114
    28
    15
See reviews for
89
316
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Arrived to a wonderful reception from Alex who continued to make our stay very comfortable & entertaining. Fab brekkie. Lovely clean the towels & were changed daily.

My only complaints were the temperature of the fridge in the room (warm) & the pool could have been cleaner (the tiles/floor etc).

But all in all i will recommend you. Great location too xxx

Room Tip: i think the sunnier rooms were better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

A very comfortable hotel with all the amenities you would want and due to the time of year, very quiet, which meant there were no queues for dinner, lots of sunbeds to choose from, no noise and no rowdiness in fact one day the only pool users other than my partner and i were a pair of seagulls !... however we're not sure if this was down to how cold the water was, Bbrrrrrrr... !
Rooms are a good size, comfy beds, fridge, nice bathroom, fresh towells everyday, strange hairdryer ! only thing missing were tea making facilities, travel kettle next time !
We went B+B and were pleasantly surprised at the quality and choice of the breakfast, you will however need a 2 week stay if you want toast ! ( it is an understatement to say the hotel toaster is a bit slow) ! ... not really a big issue.
location is great, excellent bars and restaurants nearby, lovely beach in carvoeiro and even more beautiful beaches and towns in the surrounding areas to explore, praia de marinha is breathtaking. Go.
overall a very relaxing holiday with wonderful scenery, great food, very friendly people... didnt want to come home !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyjim100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

just got back from 1 week stay on b and b basis . Hotel was quiet due to it being May ..weather was lovely 28 d all week . room was clean and serviced our needs with good bed , excellent bathroom with HOT shower , fridge safe etc . Hairdryer is basic take your own ! Breakfast was buffet style , english continental , readily topped up and very edible . Outside pool was cool due to time of year but very clean , plenty of loungers and umbrellas . Inside pool jacuzzi and sauna all clean and free to use !
Location is excellent , great bars ,Check out Black Stove opposite run by a great bloke called Gus .. he made our holiday ! Tascos is good too for food at excellent prices . Also down on town beach is a great tapas bar .
Great town with no trouble and the locals are great !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahwStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

This was our second stay and like other reviewers we had complained mostly on our first visit about the chaotic breakfast service. We got a very good deal again with Travel Republic so went prepared to eat breakfast elsewhere. What a change! This year there was always more than one member of staff on duty and tables were cleared and relaid promptly. No problems with lack of cutlery/glasses/crockery and the food was replenished very quickly. Still haven't got the orange juice right, but this was our only complaint. The rooms were very clean - one day ours didn't get cleaned until 6.30pm - there was plenty of sunbeds and shades and the pool bar was manned most of the time. The indoor pool is still a no go area for us - far too dark and dingy. This is a shame as this could be a good selling point for the hotel on cooler days. All in all we were more than happy with our stay - maybe the owners have had a look at some of the previous complaint on this site and are making improvements.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank essexfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed here in September, and had a really enjoyable time. Overall, I think we got exactly what we paid for, and left with a good impression of the hotel. It's basically a nice hotel for what it is; the rooms are clean and have plenty of space, the pool area is nice with plenty of loungers, the staff are helpful, the breakfast had plenty of choice, the location is great. It's not the Ritz, so don't expect gourmet cuisine / room service / health spas etc, but the standard was generally very good. The only downside was that they employ very few staff, so although the ones they have are great, they are hugely over-worked, and constantly seem to be doing about five things at once.

Carvoeiro itself is lovely, and there are plenty of bars and restaurants in town. If you want something a little closer, the Italian restaurant opposite the hotel was very good, but the bbq restaurant next door was even better!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraser80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

The problem with this hotel is the service. It has a good pool area but sometimes the pool bar was not occupied by a member of staff and you had to go and look for somebody. Also like a previous reviewer being forced to wait until 2.00pm for your room seems a little pedantic to me, when you arrive shortly before this time as we did. Breakfasts okay with reasonable choice but like all hotels in this part of the world toasting machine painfully slow. Rooms and bathrooms a little on the small side although unlike other hotels in the Algarve the water pressure in the shower was good. The location is excellent. Although near the top of Restaraunt Hill the choice of good eating establishments nearby is excellent. All in all with a little more effort from management this hotel could justify its 4 four star status but as it stands three star is fairly generous. I would reccomend this hotel on the basis that improvements need to be made.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
2.3 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirachoro Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirachoro Praia

Property: Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Address: Estrada do Farol S/n, Carvoeiro 8400-505, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirachoro Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mirachoro Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirachoro Praia Hotel
Hotel Mirachoro Praia Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing