We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for family !! But !!!”
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed september 2010 after a bad holiday in spain with famliy ...portugal have the best set up for familys carneivo was a dream..best resurants ..very friendly very child friendly...very clean ..lovely weather....loads to see and do...stayed at monte santa in town house place was class ....big spacious rooms ensuites lovely big sitting room and nice kitchen..and cleaners in everyday! now hotel has problems 1. no sky sports meaning every one there has to leave hotel and give there busniess downtown no choice....cud spend there money in hotel and walk bak to town house....2. Food menus lunch / dinner not exciting at all ..cud b do the odd bbq in the hot weather and selling food i never ate there always seemed quiet and yet resort packed! playground was a added bonus lovely....great location is monte santo and will b bak...tks

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kilbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnalitaSantos, General Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you so much for such a positive and great review. We are so happy that you decided to stay with us and that you enjoyed your time with us.
Your feedback it’s extremely generous and encouraging.

Regarding your comments, impetus about the Entertaining, we have change and created a completely new entertaining schedule for all our guests. Weekly we will have some different activities, live music, children shows, special children’s activities, games, sport events; we hope in your future visit we can surprise you with that.

If you have any photographs or videos from your stay that you think capture the essence of the resort, please do upload onto TripAdvisor and visit us on Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and YouTube where you can share your Monte Santo memories with other guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Monte Santo Resort shortly!

Kind Regards,
Walter Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed in the resort last year in September 2011, a family of 2 adults and 2 toddlers. We contacted the resort before travelling as we had an early flight so asked if we could check in early, they said it was fine. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and we were able to check in early as agreed.
We found the accommodation to be the best we've ever stayed in and I'm very fussy with where we stay!! I wish I could have moved the townhouse home and lived in it! The kitchen had everything you could think of....it was more kitted out than my kitchen at home! There was plenty of parking for our hire car outside the townhouse. The beds were comfy to sleep in. The only issue we had were mosquitos biting us at night whilst sleeping, which we later found out most rooms had measures to stop this although ours didn't seem to.
The evening meals were very nice, although lacked choice. Being a fussy eater myself, I found there wasn't too much I liked on the evening menu so we ventured out to local restaurants. The breakfast was lovely. The toddlers loved the choice, especially the chocolate muffins!! Never really had to queue for breakfast either. Lunch was typical poolside food, burgers, chips etc. The resort had a great selection of cocktails which is always nice sat by the pool.
The pool was nice but cold when first jumping in. My husband especially liked the topless sunbathers, however it does state that the hotel doesn't allow this. The ladies sunbathing topless didn't do it near the childrens pool so I had no issue with it. We could always get a sunbed no matter what time of day we went but we did travel just out of season.
There was a small park for the children to play in.
The only thing that is lacking with this resort is evening entertainment. If it had something to do at night we would have stayed in the resort more and spent our money there.
All in all though the resort was picture perfect, the staff were friendly, accommodation was gorgeous and we would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Get a townhouse with a private pool shared with a few of other townhouses, well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamlamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnalitaSantos, Public Relations Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your extremely generous and encouraging feedback from your recent stay with us. We know that it can be challenging travelling with young families and it's wonderful to hear that you were so happy with everything.

It’s really nice hear that we be able to meet your expectations successfully it is very truly most rewarding.

Also with your impetus about the Entertaining, we have created an entertaining schedule for all our guests. Weekly we will have some different activities, live music, children shows, special children’s activities, games; all that to meet our guests’ expectations, any way thank you for your comment.

I would like to encourage you to become a InFavour member, where you will be able to receive exclusive offers, personalised stays and much more. Plus, it’s free!!!

If you have any photographs or videos from your stay that you think capture the essence of the resort, please do upload onto Tripadvisor and visit us on Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and YouTube where you can share your Monte Santo memories with other guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Monte Santo Resort shortly!

Kind Regards,
Walter Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Every bit as good as the first (definately 4.5/5 stars) however reading some of the reviews makes my blood boil and this has prompted me to review again. Why?

This place is fantasic but people have far too high expectations, I read in one report they provided the wrong type of pillow (if someone needs a particular pillow sort it before you go), another I didnt know the breakfast was included so I missed out (check before you go doh!!!).

Maybe just maybe receptionist/staff can be a bit unhelpfull, why? maybe it has someting to do with the customers attitude (think about how you behave towards staff!). And dont forget we all have bad days.

Another complaint (free shuttle not often enough and too small!) WALK (lazy *$%*££&) to town its all downhill (the receptionist you know the unhelpful one told us a great shortcut - how unhelpful is that!) and 10 mins (we did it with a 2 year and buggy full of shopping). Failing that taxis are cheap.

In short if you go with the intention of knit picking its a sure fire way of not enjoying your holiday and lets face it we can all find things that are wrong if we look hard enough.

Id reccomend this place AGAIN its fantastic, relax and enjoy (because you will) and for gods sake chill out.

Rant over!!

Thank you for listening :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Numpty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnalitaSantos, Public Relations Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you so much for such a positive and great review. We are so happy that you decided to stay with us and that you enjoyed your time with us.
We strive to be a clear example and reference amongst 5-star hotels in the Algarve and that starts with great stays from our guests.
It is truly most rewarding when we successfully execute on our service values. I have shared your positive comments with all team members for their exceptional service delivery.

We hope to see you soon hear in Monte Santo and please I forward my email to have the pleasure to meet you next time:
Walter.martins@imocom-grupo.com

If you have any photographs or videos from your stay that you think capture the essence of the resort, please do upload onto Tripadvisor and visit us on Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and YouTube where you can share your Monte Santo memories with other guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Monte Santo Resort shortly!

Kind Regards,
Walter Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Monte Santo is one of the best resorts we have stayed in, in fact we have been back 7 times, albeit for just a couple of days at a time.

Its modern, clean, wonderful indoor pool, sauna and steam room to relax in. We will back a couple of times this year.

We always stay in the clubhouse.

Room Tip: In the club house for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodiesIsleOfMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnalitaSantos, Guest Relations Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,


Thanks you for your Great Review!

Your detailed review was a delight to read. The Monte Santo Resort is absolutely a gem and tries its best to make everyone feel welcomed. Recommendations are greatly appreciated.
We notice that you mention that you have stay always in our ClubHouse, next time try to stay outside, also all the apartments are really stunning.

Even in these days of advanced technology, there is nothing like word of mouth!

Thank you very much for your kind review!
If you have any photographs or videos from your stay that you think capture the essence of the resort, please do upload onto Tripadvisor and visit us on Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and YouTube where you can share your Monte Santo memories with other guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Monte Santo Resort shortly!

Kind Regards,
Walter Martins
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 for a 4 night short break. We got deal through Groupon and wasn't sure what to expect. Well, what a fantastic place! I honestly can't fault it. We had a huge 1 bedroom suite fully equipped with all mod cons and a massive balcony.

The pool area was great - plenty sunbeds of the super high quality variety. There was even and indoor pool with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room which was handy as one day it got a bit cooler and we spent some of our time at the indoor pool.

Some previous reviews have mentioned that the hotel is on a hill. Whilst this might be a problem if you have real difficulty walking, I think for most people it will be fine. It takes about 20 minutes to walk into Carvoeiro town from the hotel and there is a bit of hill on the way back but nothing terrible.

Carvoeiro is a beautiful place with lots of lovely retaurants and not overrun with the tourist tat you get in some reports. I would not hesitate to recommend the Monte Santo to anyone thinking of visiting Carvoeiro.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanneMcDowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnalitaSantos, Guest Relations Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you so much for such a positive review and kind words. We are so happy that you decided to stay with us and that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to be a clear example and reference amongst 5-star hotels in the Algarve and that starts with great stays from our guests. We hope to see you soon for another great stay here at the Monte Santo resort!

We can see in your review that you didn’t experience our Restaurant & Bars services, we ask you to do next time because we did fantastic changes on the service, menus and product offers.
If you have any photographs or videos from your stay that you think capture the essence of the resort, please do upload onto Tripadvisor and visit us on Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and YouTube where you can share your Monte Santo memories with other guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Monte Santo Resort shortly!

Kind Regards,
Walter Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Das seit 2008 existierende schlecht ausgeschilderte Resort liegt auf einer Anhöhe zwischen Lagoa und Carvoeiro. Es besteht aus einem Clubhaus, in dem die Rezeption, einige Luxussuiten, ein Restaurant, Bar, Billard- und Dart-Spielraum und ein grosser Innenpool mit Sauna + türkischem Bad untergebracht sind. Von dort geht es in einen wunderschönen imposanten Aussenpoolbereich nebst umliegender Appartment- und Townhouse-Einheiten, Kinderspielplatz, Trimm-dich-Pfad, Tennisplatz und Grünanlagen. Wir waren während unseres Kurzaufenthaltes die einzigen Gäste, ein merkwürdiges Gefühl. Da auch das Restaurant geschlossen war, bekamen wir morgens das nicht ganz 5 Sterne gerechte Frühstück in unsere toll ausgestattete, riesengrosse Suite mit separatem Schlafzimmer, 2 Bädern und volleingerichteter amerikanischen Küche, serviert. Das Personal war recht freundlich. Der versprochene Willkommensdrink wurde nicht gereicht. Es herrschte keine herzliche Atmosphäre!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnalitaSantos, Guest Relations Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for choosing the Monte Santo Resort during you recent visit to the Algarve. We wanted to acknowledge and apologize for the short comings you had pointed out in your review of the “No warm welcome”.
Our main focus it’s the guest service and the detail, your review helps us to improve that. One of our strong points in our service it’s the way we received and make our guests so welcome, I had a meeting with my staff and review all the details on that matter.
We strive to be a clear example and reference amongst 5-star hotels in the Algarve and that starts with great stays from our guests.
We hope to see you soon for another great stay here at the Monte Santo resort!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Monte Santo Resort shortly!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This resort has the space and facilities to be so much better than it actually is.
A friend and I stayed here at the end of the season and the rooms were huge. Large lounge/dinner. Fully equity kitchen. 2 bedrooms. Lots of storage. Good pool area.
Now for the not so positives;

Attitude of receptionist at check in was apauling. It was as if we were bothering her trying to check in. It didn't help that we were made to wait 3 hours before we could get into our room. We were told 30 mins and after an hour I enquired and her response was- I told you I'd inform you when it's ready. Not great.
Had to carry bags to room ourselves as no driver about to drive the kart.
We were not informed about breakfast & that it was part of our deal. So we made our own each day.
Not given the 50 euro voucher for the restaurant we were entitled to.
The was never any change in bar till which meant a long weight each time you wanted a drink.
No smoke alarm in master bedroom.
No fireblanket in kitchen- holder was empty.
No batteries in air con remotes bar one. Which meant you had to keep changing them over. I asked for more but each time nothing happened.
No water pressure in one of the bathrooms Which meant the shower didn't work. Luckily there were 2 bathrooms.
No towels in the room and 1 hour wait to get them on our 3rd day.
One set of pillows. All feathered which is no good as my friend has asthma. So he slept on a set of folded of tshirts at night.
Shuttle bus to the beach is only twice a day and not advertised. Enough room for a dozen people. Once it's full tough. Its a 30 min walk up hill if you don't get on it.

As I say, such great potential, but seems like the staff don't really care enough to utilise them....

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulLondonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnalitaSantos, Guest Relations Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for comments.
As a hotel manager, it is never good to hear that we have failed to provide the expected level of service, and we didn’t, please accept my apologies.

We have investigated this with all departments concerned and meisures been taken to not have a similar situation like that. We hope that you do offer us the opportunity to prevent this during your next stay with us, and allow us to demonstrate our genuine hospitality. To that end, if you can take a moment and email us on walter.martins@imocom-grupo.com, we can further address these challenges.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Monte Santo Resort shortly!

Kind Regards, Walter Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,636 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
525 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: £77 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing