We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fab stay at the Monte Santo”
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another Fab stay at the Monte Santo”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

From the moment we arrive we were looked after from reception to our cleaning ladies to the pool staff and restaurant/bar staff and even the maintenance staff. All of them played a big part in another fab holiday and of course the sunshine was a bonus lol
The facilities are brilliant from the heated indoor pool, jacuzzi and 5 other pools outside. The best bit is the rooftop jacuzzi, not a lot of people know about these. every apartment has a jacuzzi on the roof top and you book it with the pool staff. we have used it several times.
we love the location and its just a 15 minute walk downhill into town, never quiet made it back up the hill walking as its a bit steep but its on 6 euros in a taxi and it takes you straight to your apartment door.
we are quiet surprised when people have left negative comments about the staff as they all have been nothing but polite, helpful and friendly during our stay. Treat them with respect and they will look after you. ... the apartments themselves are pure luxury from home and we requested the same apartment as last year and monte santo accommodated us and gave us the same apartment...so happy days...
As we were arriving late evening we were able to choose items from the grocery list and our groceries were there when we arrived.
Do not let the negatives comments put you off, you have to stay here at least once and form your own opinion on the monte santo....and we bet you will go back just like we have :o).
To us its absolutely top notch , luxurious,totally relaxing and above all pure 5 star service...

Room Tip: Choose one of the apartments or town houses rather than the rooms attached to reception area..You ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManxieMaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am firstly delighted to see that you have chosen to return to Monte Santo and it gives me great pleasure to know that we are your preferred hotel in the Algarve. Thank you for your preference.
I was also very pleased to read your wonderful review and detailed information which are very helpfull for the readers of this platform.
Our team of staff here at Monte Santo strives to excel in excellent guest service and top quality accommodation and facilities. It is our utmost important goal to achieve total satisfaction form our guests, therefore the time you have dedicated in leaving your review here on Tripadvisor is of extreme value to us and we truly appreciate it.

We are very grateful for your positive review in regards to your stay with us and hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    184
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
395
185
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just had a 5 night stay. The resort was fantastic, and the apartments were extremely luxurious! There was a large variety of breakfast choices and the dinner menu had something for everyone. We decided to go self-catering, however we found that the local supermarkets had a pretty small selection and we ended up eating breakfast at the resort every morning, and we ate out every evening except one. The prices are reasonable and there are a number of restaurants by the beach so this was not a problem. Very nice to have the option though and there were excellent kitchen facilities.

The location of the resort is good, with Carvoeiro beach around a 15 minute walk away, but the resort do put on 3 shuttle buses every day. The spa and pool facilities are fantastic and we made full use of them.

If we were to fault anything, it would be that the apartments are not very soundproof and we could regularly hear the family below us. The resort does seem to attract a large number of families and the restaurant area can become quite loud in the evening if you go early. However, this is something that cannot be helped and is a minor problem.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this resort for a luxury break and we would love to return!

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review on your stay at Monte Santo Resort.
We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed the comfort and elegance of our luxury apartaments
and our excellent restaurant service.

I have passed on your comments to our resort staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 day break. This hotel surpassed our expectations as was very reasonably priced. The gym and facilities were excellent indoor pool is a good size. The outdoor pool was huge and well kept. Couldnt believe how empty it was mid May. The restaurant was exceptional quality and staff in all areas polite and friendly at all times. Does appear this resort is aimed at those with younger families but wasnt an issue. Rooms were spacious and very well equipped (2tvs. Dvd. Ipod4 dock) and well looked after. Trip into town was 5mins by taxi (5 euros) and I would recommend buying beers and water from the town as a lot cheaper.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cubafan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review on the site following your stay with us and we are so pleased that you found everything impeccable. We are indeed a family resort with fantastic facilities in a quiet area of Carvoeiro at 10 minutes walking distances to Carvoeiro beach and centre.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My boyfriend and I have just got back from a 11 day stay at this resort. We were so impressed with everything about it and for the money we paid on a last minute deal- it was such a treat. The resort is compact lovely indoor and outdoor pools. Outdoor pool quite chilly but great for cooling off and it is a big pool. Lovely beds to lay on whilst enjoying a cocktail in the sun. We did not eat at the hotels restaurant but it was very smart, a nice setting. The tennis court and gym are great for keeping fit on holiday.
The apartment we had was lovely, I think we were upgraded as we had a large two bed, two bath (which became his and hers) one with a sea view from our sizeable balcony where we ate breakfast each morning. Lovely toiletries, ipod dock and speakers, tv in each room, remote control air con, good hairdrier, good quality sheets and towels, jacuzzi baths, powerful showers all great to add to the experience. Washer/dryer was a great thing to have although we didn't use it and having a dishwasher was also great, the one time we left our dirty dishes on the side housekeeping had washed them in the dish washer. We bought fairy liquid and when we had washed up housekeeping put our dishes away. Great service as not something you would usually get in self catering apartments- they made up our room each morning and replenished the toiletries and changed towels. The resort was about 3/4 empty which made it very quiet, even if full it would still feel like there's enough distance between guests. The walls are thick and you do not hear neighbours, resort is on a quiet road so no noise.
Staff friendly and helpful. Overall a fantastic stay, I could go on singing it's praise....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauLizG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort.
I was thrilled my team took care of your every need during your stay with us and delighted to read you also enjoyed our excellent apartments and resort facilities.

I look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kind Regards

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel from May 9th-13th this year with 3 of my friends and it was the best experience! The overall look and feel of the hotel is great, the facilities are great and in tact (5 pools, sauna, gym) and the service was beyond excellent.

All the staff, from the restaurant to the front desk, were extremely helpful and polite, and our every need was met. William on the front desk was especially helpful to us over our stay, helping us book cabs and offering advice on what to do and where to go during our stay.

We had a two bedroom apartment with two bathrooms which was lovely and convenient for us. It was cleaned and replenished daily.

The food in the restaurant was very good too. There could've been a bit more selection but, nonetheless, the quality of the food served was really good.

As four young girls, we did want to go out and experience the nightlife. In that respect, the location of the resort wasn't the greatest as Albufeira (where the main party strip is) was about a 30 minute cab ride away which cost about €40 each way. Split between us it wasn't too bad but I would definitely say this hotel is geared more towards families. There is a small beach about a 5 minute drive from the resort and the resort offer a shuttle bus.

Overall, we loved our stay at the hotel and I would definitely stay here again and recommend others to stay here despite the location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyEO-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Monte Santo Resort and we appreciated your feedback posted on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us appreciating the resort's fantastic accommodation's and facilities. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed the services that we offer. I am delighted to discover that our associates have positively contributed towards this enjoyment. I will pass on your encouraging feedback to them as they all are working very hard to make every guest feel special.

On your next visit to Monte Santo, I suggest you visit praia da Rocha in Portimão, about 15 minutes drive from the resort. A wonderful city with many attractions and a great night life.

Thank you once again for your contribution and we do look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ive just got back from a long weekend holiday with 3 other friends. Everything about this resort was amazing. The quality of service received from all of the employees, in particular William at reception was 10/10. He was so helpful, friendly and welcoming throughout. The only downfall was its location as it is a good 40 minute drive to the nightlife in Albufeira. Other than that, the resort is beautiful. Would definitely recommend it to those wishing to experience a taste of Portugal's finest.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VDigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate the wonderful endorsement on TripAdvisor.
I can see that you were particularly impressed about the friendliness and professionalism of our team members who were delighted to receive such kind words of praise. Thank you.

On your next visit to Monte Santo, I suggest you visit praia da rocha in Portimão, about 15 minutes drive from the resort. A wonderful city with many attractions and a great night life.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your friends back again very soon to Monte Santo.

Warm regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were looking for some cheap sun and this fitted the bill perfectly. The resort is in a nice quiet town 45 minutes from Faro airport and is reasonably new. We stayed in room 6 on a room only basis, which was located in the club house which was very nice. A main room with a great kitchen with full cooking facilities along with a lounge and dining area, 1 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. It also had a very large terrace with sun loungers and table and chairs. The neighbouring terraces were only separated by a small fence, which would have been slightly annoying but luckily no one was occupying the adjacent rooms. In fact I’d imagine the whole resort was only about a quarter full which was nice as the pool area was very quiet. Pool was a bit chilly but this was understandable for the time of year.

We cooked our own food for a couple of nights and it would have been nice if some things like oil and washing up liquid were provided, but as we went shopping anyway it wasn't a huge problem. We had hired a car, which I would recommend. It was about a 20 minute walk down a big hill to the town and access to the supermarket required a car. Parking is free at the resort.

The small amount of service we received from the staff at the resort and all were quite friendly. I imagine this place would be very expensive in the high season, but for a short break in May it was great value and the weather was more than good enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we were delighted to read you enjoyed such a wonderful stay.

It is was pleasing to learn that you memory our full equipped, privileged and stylishly furnished Monte Santo Suites.

Carvoeiro beach and centre is about 15 minutes walking distance. Our daily free shutle service to the beach and Carvoeiro centre allows our customers to use this service several times a day.
I also noticed your comments about some items that you missed in your Suite during your stay and was dissapointed to learn that you have not been informed about our shopping service that we organize before guests arrival or/and during their stay. Please apologize for not having received this information before your arrival.
However, I'm please that you found one of our three nearby supermarkets and could enjoy our full equipped kitchen.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
17.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
24.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 15 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Property: Monte Santo Resort
Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing