We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointed customer”
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disapointed customer”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed there last week booked 3 town houses for family.accommodation 1st class.breakfast good.lunches OK.entertainment for kids zero kids bored stiff.choice of food and quality for dinner definetly not 5star we ate out most evenings.good news is u can eat lunch instead of dinner in your half board deal.thank god

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you found our resort accommodations very satisfying.
I feel sorry to discover that you were dissatisfied with our dinner choice and I have shared your comments with the Food & Beverage Manager so that we can look into improvement opportunities.
I also noticed your disappointment regarding our kids club.
We offer a daily activity program for children from 4 to 12 years monitored by a team of 3 members who speak fluent English.
In addition to the daily program, we have a colleague who comes to entertain our young guests in some of the evenings from 7pm to 10 pm that has been receiving excellent comments.
However, I have shared your comments with colleagues in order to improve some aspects.

I would appreciate if you could reach our front office manager directly so we can update your profile with your recent experience and assist making your future stay a memorable one.

I would like to sincerely thank you for your contribution, I do hope to have the possibility of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    190
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
411
189
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here last year with my wife and young son. The hotel is of a very high standard and the rooms are excellent. The pool is a bit cold but we didn't mind as all of the other facilities in the hotel were amazing. The rooms are perfect for families as they are large and comfortable.

Would recommend for any families looking for a great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you have decided to returne to Monte Santo.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found all aspects of your stay very much to your loking.

We hope to welcome you back again to Monte Santo resort in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Apartment and complex were amazing. Beautifully clean and spacious. Public areas very clean. Lovely pools, outside pool was cold so inside pool busy. Lunches ok but limited choice if you don't want sandwiches. Only ate here one evening after a long day at zoo marine (well worth a trip). The food for the adults was ok only 4 main courses to choose from. 2 pizzas which ended being steamed to keep hot and 2 pasta dishes one was excellent. Poor for children though, we had 2 boys aged 2 and 4 and were charged half adult price for both. So ended up paying 25 Euros for 1 slice of pizza a few bits of pasta and a bit of bread, no children's deserts but they did bring ice cream for the boys.
Overall excellent and would return just head into town for food.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank drsjclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with is and found, resort facilities and accommodation of your satisfaction.

Zoomarine is indeed an excellent choice for a family day trip. A Theme and Water Park takes you on a journey of fun.

I feel sorry to discover that you were dissatisfied with our lunches and dinner choice and I have shared your comments with the Food & Beverage Manager so that we can look into improvement opportunities.
We regularly review the pricing to ensure that we are in line with the other resorts in the area. Whilst we will be more expensive than a fish & chips in Carvoeiro centre, I would have to say that the quality of the food is to a higher level and at an excellent standard.

We value guest feedback and I am grateful you have taken the time to share your comments on this platform.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Monte Santo resort in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Monte Santo Resort is a lovely family resort situated on the edge of the small fishing town of Carvoeiro in the Algarve. It was a last minute booking and we were not disappointed. We booked a two bed townhouse and our package included breakfast everyday. We had an early morning flight and I emailed the resort the day before and asked if we could have an early check-in. We arrived at around 1pm and our townhouse was ready for us.
The townhouse was spotless and very comfortable - it had everything you would need for a self catering holiday. The downstairs was very spacious which included a lounge/dining/kitchen area, plus a downstairs toilet and two sets of double doors opening onto a small garden/patio area. The upstairs had two bedrooms - one king size double and one twin room. Both bedrooms had ensuite bathrooms and the main bedroom also had patio doors opening out onto a spacious balcony with sun lounger and small table on it. Another bonus was the amount of wardrobe space and hangers!! The beds were also really comfy!
Given that this was school half term week - the resort was quite busy but not over crowded and not at all noisy. The staff were all really friendly and very helpful. The indoor pool was a bonus (along with the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room) as the outdoor pools were a bit on the cold side (which was a shame as there were 6 of them)!
There was also a kids club but we didn't use it.
Carvoeiro is nice but not many shops. Eat at Primavera Ristorante Trattoria and the Wolf Bar and Grill. Praia de Marinha is a stunning beach!Really comfortable, clean and spacious accommodation.
To sum up Monte Santo is a really lovely resort with beautiful surroundings - very well maintained. Really helpful staff and excellent service. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Request an end townhouse - they looked slightly larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Justine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the fantastic review following your recent stay with us. Monte Santo team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed the experience from the accommodation, facilities to the service supporting them. I sincerely hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in May and had a fab time.
The apartment was great, finished to high standard with full size kitchen, staff were more than helpful and extremely welcoming.
Pool both outdoor and indoor were lovely, very well kept and clean.
It's about a twenty minute walk into town, we hired a car so we could explore the surrounding area.
We did not eat in the restaurant as we ate in the town at night.
We travelled with a baby and the staff provided all the equipment we requested!
Very child friendly.
Would love to return

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Aoifeot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, S at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your wonderful endorsement on TripAdvisor.
I can see that you were particularly impressed with our wonderful resort accommodations.
I also noticed your comments about the friendliness and professionalism of our team members who were delighted to receive such kind words of praise. They are truly dedicated.

Thank you again for your comments.
We hope that you travel plans bring you back again to Monte Santo in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just had a half term break here, room excellent, had full facilities in the kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, Cooker, toaster etc . Lounge had full sound system, DVD player, tv and there were tv's in each bedroom as well as built in radio in each room, very nice!
Only down side was outside pools far too cold, and the inside pool was nice to have but was busy! Massages were lovely and great value. Well situated for getting to town is a 15 minute downhill walk or the hotel runs a shuttle bus service, also near to beautiful local beaches. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the review following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you were impressed with our well-appointed accommodations.
I am particularly pleased to read of your satisfaction and that you will be returning to Monte Santo resort.

Thank you again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We rented an apartment with two rooms for the Easter of 2014. The apartment is very well equipped, with dishwasher, three TVs, a sound equipment, etc.
Furniture is comfortable and there are terraces in the two levels of the apartment.
Both rooms had a jacuzzi in the bathroom and there was another small bathroom in the ground floor.
For the price, you can not ask more. It's likely much more expensive in summer, although Algarve use to have goo price/quality ratio.
We didn't have breakfast, as we where using our own Nespresso and because some comments says it's not worth the cost.
The big swimming pool is very nice with loots of space and there are other smaller pools near the different buildings.
The worst thing for me was the SPA, if you can really call it a SPA, it's mainly a heated pool. There where two jacuzzis, but only one was working and the place was CROWDED with children. Not the usual concept of a relaxing place. We went there and moved away without using it. We used the jacuzzis of our apartment instead.
I'm not giving five starts mainly because of the SPA. We had free access to it but we didn't use it at all. Not very inviting when you see 20 children jumping and shouting.
The treatments where good dough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JR451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Monte Santo Resort and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I’m very pleased that you liked the property, accommodations and the daily free access to our indoor heated pool, jacuzzis, sauna, steam bath and gym.
Considering that we are a resort dedicated to family holiday, I regret to hear that you did not have the opportunity to enjoy a more relaxed moment in this area that we call our Health & fitness centre.
Regarding our Spa, I think there was a misunderstanding and perhaps confusion with what is our Health & fitnesss center.
Our spa rooms, are just meters from the main reception and offers a variety of marvelous massage, facials, and body treatments.
I also noticed your comments regarding the breakfast. On your next visit to Monte Santo, I suggest that you may experience our wonderful buffet of hot and cold diishes and friendliness of an excellent service.

Thanks again for your feedback and we genuinely hope that your next stay with us will exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3,369 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 19 in Carvoeiro
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,071 reviews
5.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
20.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Property: Monte Santo Resort
Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing