We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from monte santo . And all I can say is poor not 5 star at all from the service to the pool area to the reception how can this place get a 5 star rating . Having stayed in the pine cliffs and tivoli Victoria this place seemed like a dump . Only plus side was the house itself very impressive . If you like your luxury monte santo is not for you.

Stayed: June 2014
6  Thank holibopsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback posted on TripAdvisor.

We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.
We would very much like the opportunity to discuss the points you have raised further, therefore can I kindly ask you, to contact our Accommodation Manager, Luis Vicente, directly.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hear from you at your convenience.

Kind regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Monte Santo Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Wow what can i say, perfect in every way 5* from start to finish thank you for a perfect.stay theres a fab kids club that takes place, and you can book swimming leasons aswell..i booked in with the massus..she was brilliant pool staff bar staff food staff are all fantasti,reception cannot do enough to help you
The whole place is very very clean thanks for all you did for us

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Your eloquent recognition of our associates and the Resort grounds and facilities is most appreciated and nothing can be more gratifying! Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings on TripAdvisor!

We can’t wait to welcome you back for a future visit.
Once again, thank you for such excellent comments.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Monte Santo is a very nice resort with fantastic staff. Rooms are spacious with all the mod cons available - air con, washing machine, dish washer, iron, hair dryers, TV, CD player with iPod dock, DVD player & a digital safe. Bathrooms are large with jacuzzi & shower. There is a little patio with table & chairs to sit at outside & admire the splendid gardens. Drinks are reasonably priced in comparision to most 5star establishments. We went self catering so I cannot speak for the food. There are indoor & out door pools. We also did not use the spa. If travelling into Carvoeiro then you will need a taxi - it is too far & too hilly to walk. The hotel runs a shuttle service 4 times a day (11am, 2pm, 4pm & 6pm) so it is possible to get into town for free & get a taxi back after eating/drinking (cost betwen 5 & 7 euro). Plenty of good eating to be found in town - see other reviews. My only gripe with the hotel is that for such a large complex, it has no shop. The nearest super market (if you are self catering) is a fair old treck so do not do what we did & walk it - it is a good hour! Other than that Monte Santo is a fine choice for a holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TheGunBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and detiled information which are very helpfull for the readers of this platform.
We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them.
Regarding your comments about the drinks, please be informed that our pricing is in line with our competitors however we will certainly take your feedback on-board and look for improvement opportunities for next year.
In fact that the resort does not offer a supermarket but we have available before and during our guests stay a grocery list. However, there are three supermarkets with everything you need on a day-to-day basis at reasonable prices at about 5 minutes driving distance from the resort.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that you will continue to make enjoyable visits.We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for a quick 2 night stay while visiting and old friend. What a fabulous place, friendly staff very clean and excellent service. Exquisite restaurants in the quaint Carvoeiro just a short car or Taxi ride away. But if you just want to stay in great food here as well. For a well travelled lady I would definitely go back. I have no idea where the people were staying who gave it one, not here for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tinakid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a fabulous review of our property on Trip Advisor, your comments were highly appreciated.
It was certainly a thrill to read your feedback and very rewarding for all of us at Monte Santo to learn that service provided was so much appreciated.

We hope that you have the opportunity to return and stay with us once again in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Travelled with wife, 4yr old and 2yr old for one week this July (2014) and stayed at a 2 bed townhouse. Home two days and already caught my wife checking prices and availability today for next October (I checked yesterday!!). I couldn't compliment the staff or the resort higher (and we have stayed in every continent but S.America, in ALL forms of accommodation). The small pools by the townhouses are great but we still walked every day to the clubhouse pool, which is idyllic. Thought long and hard about berating the resort so that availability and price would remain favorable but didn't have the conscience. Reservations: 1. There was an offer of 10€ for breakfast the week we were there and yet my bill showed the regular price of 15€, which i noticed on the plane but the breakfast was worth it. 2.Carvoeiro beach is pretty small and has rip currents but hotel can do nothing about this. 3. It is a bit of a walk to Carvoeiro but taxi back was often under 5€ and we rented a car which meant we got to Aqualand, Zoomarine, Lagos Zoo, Krazyzoo etc. - all of which are very close by car. Next time we go we will def have the apartment stocked before we go, a service which we should have availed of this time. I would buy a property here if they were reasonably priced (and I especially liked that nobody tried to sell me one when I was there!!).

Room Tip: no need - all are beautiful and all are equally well situated. Maybe avoid the main clubhouse?? We w...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jmcgree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind remarks regarding your experience. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us and we would like to express our gratitude for your wonderful comments.

It was with some sadness that I noticed that by mistake, we charged a higher breakfast rate than informed at the time. However, I was told that hours after we received this comment, we returned the difference charged mistakenly. Please excuse the inconvenience caused.
In fact Carvoeiro beach is not too large. Not only for this reason, we offer a shuttle that drives a return transfer to Praia Grande and at the end of the day, to the center of Carvoeiro.
The grocery list is a service that we have available for our customers before and during their stay. It allows our guests not only to have all the items available on arrival but also be supplied during their stay.

I can perfectly understand what your wife feels as our high number of repeat customers reports a total satisfaction with our accommodations and sevices that keeps our valued guests coming back year after year.
If you need any assistance on your future booking, please don't hesitate to contacat our reservations department directly.

Thank you again for your kind comments. I'll be looking forward to welcome you again in October.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited the monte santo from 15th -20th June inclusive. Upon arrival we were checked into room 3 which was a really large apartment and was spotless as it stayed throughout our stay. We also had an outside area which included a patio table and chairs and a huge sunbathing bed. The apartment was cleaned daily and the maids took it upon themselves to load the dishwasher when we hadn't done it for which we were very grateful for. One evening my partner accidentally turned the a/c off but within 10 minutes of reporting the problem to the hotel it was fixed by a very helpful
maintenance man. The main pool
was also lovely and the pool staff were very polite. I cannot comment on the restaurants at the hotel as we mainly ate out or had lunch in our apartment. I would highly recommend the monte
Santo and hope that we are able to return in the not too distant future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Monte Santo Resort.
We were thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable time with us I have shared your kind comments with the rest of the team as they are determinedly working to enhance the overall guest experience.
Indeed the VIP Suites at the main building are the most luxury accommodations in our resort offering beautiful views to our pools and gardens. I'm glad to read that you had the opportunity to enjoy such a wonderful accommodations.

We thank you for your preference and hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Simply blown away by the gardens, water features and of course a bit of nature in the mix.
Definitely a home from home with the space, right down to the necessaries from your kitchen!! Staff couldn't possibly do enough, explaining everything from local eateries to places to entertain our daughters. Cleaners cleaned every day. Wi-Fi available in our condominium. Any printing you want done then just email to reception and pick it up next day. Everyday a lovely smiling person greets you by the pool and for the token you give (which you receive on arrival with your key) entitles each person to a large clean bath towels for your lounger. Definately recommend for families and certainly an upper class of people which reflect in the price(Worth every penny). Will be back next year and the year after also. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I suppose upstairs you could leave all windows and patio doors open. BUT when on lower floor you gai...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dhosford71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and detiled information which are very helpfull for the readers of this platform.

Our team of staff here at Monte Santo strives to excel in excellent guest service and top quality accommodation and facilities. It is our utmost important goal to achieve total satisfaction form our guests, therefore the time you have dedicated in leaving your review here on Tripadvisor is of extreme value to us and we truly appreciate it.
I also noticed your comments about the friendliness and professionalism of our team members who were delighted to receive such kind words of praise.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in June. Please rest assured that we will do our utmost to propose you, once again, with a very pleasant stay.

Kind regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,476 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: £83 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing