We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday resort, great pool”
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stated here for a week in August as part of a longer stay in Portugal.

The town house we stayed in was really good. Two large bedrooms both with en-suites including jacuzzi baths. Large lounge and kitchen kitted out really well. Air-con throughout and a daily maid service.

We shared a pool with about 10 other houses, plus the resort has a large central pool.

Breakfasts were good, but just good. Bar was nice but lacking atmos, we didn't use the restaurant as there are plenty of good ones within a 5 min drive.

Charging for wifi is a little cheap for a 5 star resort, not many hotels in Europe charge for wifi nowadays. The main pool gets busy early with people claiming beds by getting up at 8am and placing their towels on beds. This is against hotel policy but no-one is enforcing this, which is a real shame - some real selfish behaviour by some guests.

The kids club was really aimed at kids younger than our 6 and 9 year old, which is a shame.

All-in a good experience, not entirely sure it's worth the euro360 per night that we paid though

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank richardspeldhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you found our townhouses very satisfying especially with the garden space for the young ones and our 6 outside pools.
I feel sorry to discover that you were dissatisfied with our breakfast buffet choice and bar and I have shared your comments with the Food & Beverage Manager so that we can look into improvement opportunities.
We take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We do hope that you return to see us again here at Monte Santo and that your overall experience is more positive. We are always aiming to improve and implement new and better standards for our guests to have an even better experience than the last one. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kndest regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is our second time here staying in one of the town houses -adults and older teenagers. We found the house very comfortable and clean - maids cleaned and serviced the house each day, quite late in afternoon but that did not bother us. We had practically sole use of the plunge pool and surrounding patio area the whole time. The pool is bracing when you first get in but great to swim around in. husband and son played tennis every day. Borrowed equipment is a bit ropey -choose your racket with care and perhaps take a couple of tennis balls! Had to pay extra for tennis €10 which seems steep to me and would have expected free use as have had in other 5* resorts. We self catered - kitchen equipment is very basic. Coffee machine and grill pan missing on arrival but were replaced quickly once we realised. If you get a taxi ride to the supermarket, when you come out, don't ring the free number on phone provided but rush up to a taxi delivering someone - they will usually take your fare but will not if you have rung. We got taxi returns much quicker this year with this method! Last year we waited about 30 minutes before taxi arrived - not fun in searing heat!
We enjoyed the walk to and from town - it is steep and would not suit families with littlies or anyone with limited mobility. Try Onze for a great meal.
There is little organised to do at Monte Santo - for us this was fine. We enjoyed lazing about, swimming and taking life easy. If the children had been younger, not sure it would have suited. Ate in restaurant twice. Lacking in atmosphere as seems poorly used but food was good.
I agree it would be good to have a few English speaking TV stations. We often just wanted to sit down and watch something late evening. Luckily we took a few DVDs. The DVD 'library' they offer is an old cardboard box with all the DVDs slung in. Extremely poor choice and the one we borrowed was completely useless as very badly scratched and would not play. A decent DVD library would be a good extra to provide. However, don't want to rant over something so minor!
We found the staff all helpful.
Overall, we had a great holiday which suited us very well. I came back tanned and very relaxed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continuous trust and for leaving your kind words following your recent stay with us at Monte Santo Resort.
I was delighted that we met your expectations especially with our townhouses, pools and service provided.
However, I regret how negatively some of your comments affected negatively your overall experience.
We have taken notes of your comments and I will personally ensure that some of these matters are resolved so that they do not cause annoyance to future guests of the resort.
We would be delighted to welcome you back again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent 8 days at the Monte Santo Resort in July/August 2014 with our two teenage sons.
On arrival we were upgraded to a townhouse which was spacious, well designed and elegantly furnished. We had a balcony off the master bedroom and a lovely terrace/garden off the open plan living area overlooking a shared private pool.
The resort was very busy (school holidays) but the staff ensured that there were enough sun beds for all around the main pool area.
We often had lunch at the pool bar/restaurant and (as a guide) a cheese and ham toastie with fries was under €5. We only ate in the restaurant one evening during a special jazz night and both the food and entertainment were fantastic.
I would also like to mention the staff at the resort as they are fabulous - polite, cheerful and always there to help.
The resort is a bit out of town but there is a little supermarket about a 5m walk away where you can get the necessities and fresh bread etc. The 20m walk into Carvoeiro is downhill and there is a lovely road which follows the coast. Along this coast road going into Carvoeiro you will come across Martins Restaurant - a really good all rounder overlooking the beach/square in Carvoeiro. We used to get a taxi back from the town to Monte Santo for between €5-€6.
Overall the Monte Santo resort is great, a good location for a family holiday in August but I should imagine an either better one in May/June when the kids are at school!

Room Tip: Town houses are fabulous and away from the hustle and bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kitchensink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor, we are grateful for your recommendation.

We are delighted to learn that all aspects of your stay were enjoyable, particularly the service you received. We are thrilled with the amazing compliments on our associates and we are proud to learn we have exceeded your expectations.
Considering that we are a resort dedicated to family holiday, we do have a considerable number of children especially in times of school holidays. However, you will always find a space at our resort. Monte Santo offers a lot of space and quiet corner's to relax.
Thank you again for your review and we do hope that you will continue to make enjoyable visits.We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We have recently returned from a holiday at monte santo and had a wonderful time. We were worried having read some of the negative reviews but we experience nothing but good service and an excellent resort.

The kids club with Ana, Carmen and Deborah was good entertainment for the children (although our children used it sparingly) and our children adored the staff that ran it.

Our apartment and the facilities were excellent and clean; as were the pools and the grounds.

The only negatives were the gym which I ended up not using once as I refused to queue on holiday and the mini bus service which was wonderful and friendly but very unreliable! In these instances perhaps the front desk could be a little more helpful!

We didn't have a car and didn't need one as the shuttle of the hotel went to ferragudo also (lovely big beach). We walked into town and got a taxis back. We taxi journeyed to Silves and Potimao (for the festivals) and then to the beach Marihna and it worked out a lot cheaper than hiring a car and much more relaxing.

Overall we had a wonderful holiday the restaurant/resort had entertained most evenings and it was very relaxing. We are very sad to be home....

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank lmrisoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We are thrilled with your review and we would like to thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for your compliments on our associates and for your 5 star rating. It is very important to receive such a great review as it motivates us to keep work on with the good work. Thank you once again for your kindliness.
Regarding your remarks of the gym and the shuttle service, we have shared your comments with the Management for their consideration.

We look forward to welcome you back on our Resort for another wonderful experience.

Kind regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a quality resort devoted for families. The appartments are modern, spacious, well decorated and offer everything you may need during the stay. Large and beautiful pool and plenty space for relax. The breakfast was quite good and it is possible to sit outside by the pool which is great. You feel safe and happy in there. Staff is really friendly and always ready to help in every need. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the pool area or garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tozepinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Monte Santo Resort. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our luxury accommodations, spacious grounds, save envoirment and all our facilities.
I have passed your appreciation on to our staff who were delighted with your great comments. .

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again to Monte Santo

Kindest regards
Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

When you read the reviews you will be amazed. Personally I find it helpful to understand a little bit about the reviewer to see if they are like me. I am married, a middle aged professional person with three children aged 7.5,2. I dont mind spending on holidays because it is valuable time, but if I do spend I want quality - Monte Santo definately fits the bill. I am not a big fan of all inclusive holidays and have found apartments not really suitable with a large family in the passed. Having a villa on a complex really worked well for us. Rather than rave on about the place as others have, and they are right I thought I woudl highlight the best bits in my opinion, and a few places that coudl be tightened up. Please do not take this as negative, more areas of improvement for the hotel to consider for our visit next year! We stayed in a two bedroomed town house, each enclave of ten town houses have their own pool, which is perfect.

1. For a five star resort, charging 15 euros for Wi Fi is just annoying, put your prices up slightly and include as standard, it is far more impressive
2. Many people like to excercise as part if their holiday, the gym is poorly equipped and poorly staffed, equally there is no Wi Fi. There was one running machine that was often queued for and two excercise bikes, one of which was broken, the other wasn't in great condition. There are some free weights and one machine. The gym is adjacent to the outside pool, menaing children often play in there and the staff just don't care. This woudl be easily fixed by frosting the glass wall and locking the door by the outside pool and making the sole entrance via the changing rooms, you need to buy some more cardio machines.
3. Get some bar staff around the pool, the pool bar was often only manned by one member of staff, on the odd occassion he could walk round and ask if we wanted drinks it was nice. Not only is this good for guests it will make you money.
4. More staff are required on the internal bar adjacent to the restaurant, on four seperate occassions I got bored and left without a drink.

On the excellent front

1. The kids club - Debra Zebra, Carmen Lemon and Anna Banana are all excellent and a real credit to the hotel. This is a free service offered by the hotel.
2. The staff in general, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
3. The overall resort

Carvoeiro

Yes it is hilly and it is a bit steep to walk back from the town but it is possible to walk. Taxi's are a bit of a problem after 7 o clock, especially if you are a family of 5, the majority of taxis will not take more than 4 people.

The town offers a vast array of restaurants, we normally spent around 80 euro for dinner with a bottle of wine and a few beers. We thought this was good value.

My final comment, you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Rodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. I was really glad that you enjoyed your townhouse and the service you received especially from our children's club. I have passed on your feedback to them and the rest of the team.
We also thank you for the points raised that were shared with our management. We take our guests comments very serious as it give us the opportunity to improve our service.
Please res tsasured that we will be looking in to improvement opportunities.

I really do hope that we get the chance to look after you again on a future occaision.
My kindest regards,
Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a commercial resort not a tourist resort i.e. all the townhouses and apartments are privately owned and let through Monte Santo - generating cash is the priority - not customer satisfaction.

That said the accommodation is of a high standard and maid service is good.

It took a couple of days to get the basic cooking equipment, frying pan, glasses, oven tray etc. etc. The kitchen ‘white goods’ are top quality but it is preferred if you don’t operate them.

During our stay the lock on the patio door had been tampered with and wouldn’t lock. On contacting reception, and after a maid was sent (unsuccessfully) to fix it we were advised it would have to stay broken for 12 hrs.!!?? Only after a heated discussion with the duty manager was I able to get it fixed and settle my young family down for the night.

On the Saturday Monte Santos’ 6th Birthday Party was held (invite only and with very very loud music into the early hours) – the result, without any prior warning or notification, was that all the paying tourists were ordered to vacate the pool area at 6:00 pm and later found the restaurant closed for the evening - leaving no options for dinner. Families we got to know considered they were treated like 2nd class citizens during this period – the staff didn’t care, they were following orders!

It is possible to walk into town in the evening. You’ll have to if you want to eat elsewhere, we waited 45 mins for taxis; try to return before 10:00 p.m. or else you will be at the end of a very long queue at the rank.

There is a very good restaurant within walking distance - L’orange which I highly recommend.

Forget about the resorts mini bus – it’s too small, infrequent and unreliable.

The reception staff’s use of English is cleverly selective, the pool and bar staff are students trying to scrape together a few Euros.

Would we go back – NO

Unless you’re an owner you can find a more deserving place to spend your hard earned cash.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your commenst on this platform.
It was with great concern that I have read some of your comments.

Our team of staff here at Monte Santo strives to excel in excellent guest service and top quality accommodation and facilities. It is our utmost important goal to achieve total satisfaction form our guests, therefore the time you have dedicated in leaving your review here on Tripadvisor is of extreme value to us and we truly appreciate it. That said, it is with great pride that I can confirm that our top priority is the satisfaction of our client.

Anyway, I would like to apologise for all the inconveniences caused during your stay.
Please be informed that we would like to discuss some of your points raised, so please feel free to contact our Operations Manager, Antonio Costa.

Please be assured that we will continue to work hard to raise service standards and ensure all our guests have a positive holiday experience.
We hope that despite the disappointment on that occasion, you will return and give us another opportunity to restore your faith in our property.

Kind regards,

Monica Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,578 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
198 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
17.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: £79 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing