We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like luxury, you'll love Monte Santo”
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
1 review
“If you like luxury, you'll love Monte Santo”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Our first impression was "wow!" The resort is stunning. Our room was large, airy, loads of storage, fully equipped and gorgeous. I didn't want to leave the jacuzzi bath! The pool area was again, sunning with ample sunbeds, parasols and towels. The indoor pool was great with the steam room and jucuzzi wafting out scents of lemongrass. It was a little windy some days so the indoor pool was very handy to escape the wind and warm up a little. It was never very busy. The restaurant was nice, but we generally ate out in Carvoeiro, or Carvoeiro Square which is only a few minutes away. The desk staff were always friendly and arranged trips for us to the nearby ZooMarine which is definitely worth a visit whether you have children or not! Carvoeiro is a lovely old fishing town with everything you would want, from seafood restaurants to little bars. The roads were being re-laid when we were there, but what had been completed looked lovely. We had a superb holiday - the children had a great time especially in the gorgeous pool. The only downside was the lack of entertainment in the hotel. But we did go in May before the real holiday season started.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    184
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
395
186
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom ground floor apartment with our 2 friends which was very impressive and fitted out to an excellent standard.
The staff where very helpfull and polite and couldn't do enough for you.
The free bus shuttle was handy down into Carvoero where we were spoiled for choice for restaurants and bars. The Restaurant at the resourt was very grand and food excellent.
The indoor pool and Jim was also good even when the outdoor pool was a bit cool.
This is a great part of the Algarve and not spoiled by over development.
I would recomend Monte Santo to anyone, families or couples.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliffburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire/ Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed at Monte Santo mid May for a weeks break along with family and we liked it so much we are returning in November for 2 weeks this time. The 2 bedroom Aptment was spacious,clean and finished to very high standard.
The staff, surroundings and overall layout of the resort was breathtaking and will only improve with time.
The main entrance is a little bit disappointing but once inside you start to feel so relaxed.
The outdoor pool is spectacular, and the indoor one is nice and hot.

Can't wait for November to come round and our return to Carvoeiro and Monte Santo.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed 10 nights at Monte Santo in June 2009 and truly had THE most wonderful time. From the moment we arrived all the staff bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable and happy all the time. The apartment was perfect - fully equip, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The bed was huge and the jacuzzi bath tub was a lovely treat. When we got bored of that though there was the hot tub on the roof to enjoy!
All the meals we had at Monte Santo were fantastic. Breakfasts were lovely with lots of fresh fruit and pastries as well as bacon and scrambled eggs! And lunch and dinner were equally impressive, the set menu in the evening being great value for money.
I really cannot recommend MS enough. We had a very romantic time there, with plenty of space to feel like we could escape, but equally there lots of families who all looked to be enjoying the play facilities available.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire/ Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed at Monte Santo mid May for a weeks break along with family and we liked it so much we are returning in November for 2 weeks this time. The 2 bedroom Aptment was spacious,clean and finished to very high standard.
The staff, surroundings and overall layout of the resort was breathtaking and will only improve with time.
The main entrance is a little bit disappointing but once inside you start to feel so relaxed.
The outdoor pool is spectacular, and the indoor one is nice and hot.

Can't wait for November to come round and our return to Carvoeiro and Monte Santo

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We were very impressed with the buildings arcitecture and site layout, clean and spacious ,water features in vast gardens, piles of room for everyone. Outside and inside pools were clean and safe. Kids play area seperate from pools and close enough to keep an eye on them. Staff bent over backwards to help every time. Food was excellent!!. Next Year already booked.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2009

My family and I spent a long weekend at the Monte Santo Resort in Early May 2009.

Monte Santo is a brand new resort, which I believe was completed last year. The Resort itself is very impressive and has a number of outside pools which my kids loved.

The Gym is great being ex Military it ticked all my boxes as far as training goes, The indoor pool and sauna were also very impressive.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was of a very high standard and plenty of room for 2 adults, and 2 small children. There was also a hot tub on the top floor of the apartment for us to use when ever we wanted.

On arrival, it was a little slow getting in to our apartment, however Nothing was too much trouble. to the staff, no matter what time of the day !!

The food in the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced, considering we were in a 5 star resort.

There is a shuttle service provided by the resort 3 times a day in to the local town of Caverio. This was ideal for my family and I visiting the local beach and restaurants.

It was a great weekend, it was just to short for us. My family and I are returning to Monte Santo in Aug for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
17.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
24.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Property: Monte Santo Resort
Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing