We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carvoeiro Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very good deal! For the low rates you get a lot. Rooms were clean, breakfast ok, 90% of the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Pro and Con at the same time is the location directly in the city center: it is very noisy until 11 pm if your lucky or up to 1 am or 3 am if there is a festival.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol again..

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    109
    55
    25
    19
See reviews for
34
143
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Just had a week there 10th-17th June. Clean but a little tired,excellent staff and breakfast very good with various choices. Sat on the balcony most nights and watched live music being played on the square below us.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Carvoeiro and hope that you will return again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Visited this hotel for the last 2 years and its perfect for golfers and families alike. Excellent location right on the beach and close to all the bars and restaurants without being noisy at night. Staff are all very friendly (thank you to great receptionist who printed off my mates boarding pass) and a credit to the place.The hotel is perfectly clean rooms a little dated but great value for money. We normally stay early April but stayed at the end of April this year and that couple of weeks makes all the difference resort a lot more alive and the weather a lot better. See you again next year. Steve room 301 29/04/14 till 3/5/14

Room Tip: pool view rooms are away from any night time noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenWarringtonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Hotel Carvoeiro Sol, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Steve,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Hotel Carvoeiro Sol. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here for 5 days the week before Easter and got a great price from Alpharooms. I found the staff to be charming and helpful. Although I was expecting a room with no balcony I was pleased to get one on the first floor facing the court yard. The room was perfectly fine with a (albeit old) tv on which you could only get Sky and CNN news in English. There was plenty of space and the beds a little hard - the bathroom had both a bath and powerful shower over the bath. Some shampoo, shower gel and handwash were provided in dispensers on the wall.
Breakfast - not the best coffee from a machine, fruit juice (concentrated - not squash as you get in some places), a choice of around 5 cereals which I didn't try, a selection of nice local breads, cheese, yogurt and fruit. There was also a hot selection and a toaster so I thought the selection was really good although not high end quality but for the price really good. The hotel was clean and I had no complaints - the staff were very friendly and welcoming - I would definitely stay there again and of course the location is perfect being a minute from the beach and right in the centre.

Room Tip: Obviously the sea view would be nice but you pay extra - I was happy overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debs154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights and the location is great. The hotel is situated on the beach and bar/restaurants. The hotel was very clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful. But as the title of the review indicates this hotel is all about the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoops82Neath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here in July and would definitely stay again. Although quite basic the rooms are very clean and we had a huge balcony to ourselves which was great. The aircon was a blessing as it was extremely hot and the location is amazing as it is sooo close to the beach - it actually couldnt get any closer as it would be on the beach otherwise! The staff were friendly and courteous and nothing was too much trouble. I must have drove them mad as I was constantly asking for ice, glasses and corkscrews to take up to the room for drinks :) I would definitely stay there again. The only downfall and it is of no reflection to the hotel really is the continental buffet as it wasnt great but every hotel I've stayed in is the same.

Room Tip: I slept like a baby most nights but going by other visitors' comments I'd say ask for a cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisEvans1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DE
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I booked this hotel very early and asked them to re-confirm my stay 3 days prior to arrival to be on the safe side. I couldn't believe my eyes when I read the reply: the hotel was closed due to lack of bookings (it was end October), so booked guests were asked to go to Holiday Inn in Armacao de Pera. Just imagine, you've booked beautiful Carvoeiro but they transfer you to such a miserable looking location as Armacao. The hotel in Carvoeiro was indeed completely closed, an announcement on the door informed that arriving guests have to call a number. Means that guests who don't care about a re-confirmation are faced with the facts upon arrival in Carvoeiro. What an unbelievable audacity! I rejected going to Armacao, made the hotel book another accommodation of my choice in Carvoeiro and they did it promptly without negotiation. I haven't been inside the hotel but I could look into the ground floor rooms from outside, they seem to be good equipped. The result of my external inspection was however that rooms which are promoted as "not facing the sea", face a busy street, and ground floor guests live literally on the street which is very indiscrete. Those rooms have rather high concrete balcony walls and are thus dark. You can see it well via Google street view. Rooms facing the sea are not so quiet either. Believe me that I am writing this not as revenge for the hotel denial to accomodate me, I inspected the location and these are real facts so I am even happy that I had to stay in another structure. There are some guest houses in Carvoeiro which are better located and also bearable priced, so in my opinion, in respect to the audacity of Carvoeiro Sol management, there is no reason to book their hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carvoeiro hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carvoeiro Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carvoeiro Sol

Property: Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Address: Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8401951, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#9 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carvoeiro Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Carvoeiro Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing