We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely area”
Review of Monte Carvoeiro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carvoeiro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monte Carvoeiro
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. It was very nice and very spacious. All amenities including dish washer. Staff excellent. Can recommend this area as we travelled all over the Algarve and for us this was the best place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank purrsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

First time ever in The Algarve for us -- but not the Last!
This resort was recently refurbished to a high standard. Kitchen was fully equipped with dishwasher, clothes washer, & lots of amenities. Unit was air conditioned, but hardly needed due to the lovely breezes. Normally the one bedroom apartment has twin beds, but if you ask in advance they will turn these into a very comfortable King sized bed for you.
The lounge furniture was very comfortable & attractive. There was even a large screen TV, which we barely had time to watch :-)
All the staff at the resort were extremely helpful and friendly - no matter the time of day, or night.
We're now looking at next year's calendar to see when we can return!

Room Tip: All of the single bed units are above the reception area, which (for the most part) is quiet and con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BobKat1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely apartment after we requested a move from the one over a restaurant that smelled like smoke. Very accommodating. Loved the small town and after traveling all over the Algarve, we believe Carvoeiro is the best town in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caspritchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our 2nd stay at this resort, both as timeshare exchanges but 10 years apart. We enjoyed it the first time and equally as much this time. The accommodation is in the process of being updated and having requested an updated unit in a quiet part of the resort we were lucky to get what we asked for.

Our accommodation was a 2 bedroom villa/townhouse style. As the resort is a bit older the sizes of rooms are larger and we had loads of space. Beautifully modern shower room downstairs and a huge bathroom with double sinks upstairs. The living room cum dining room, kitchen, twin bedroom and shower room were downstairs with master bedroom with ensuite bathroom upstairs. A marble spiral staircase lead up from a large hallway. The new kitchen included a dishwasher and washing machine and granite worktops as well as all the usual small electrical appliances. The juicer was just great with local oranges so inexpensive to buy. There was a garden area front and back, a patio and balcony. We could easily have lived permanently in it. Some villas have living room and kitchen upstairs with bedrooms downstairs we were told.

Staff were friendly and helpful dealing with all queries straight away and with a smile. Maid service replaced bedding half way through each week and towels changed 3 or 4 times a week. Carvoeiro is a lovely place with many bars and restaurants to suit all pockets. It's a fairly steep hill up and down but if you can't be bothered with the climb there are a number of eateries within Monte Carvoeiro Resort. Most are good. We hope to return a bit sooner next time.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackiee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have a timeshare so the review may be slightly biased as we love the place so much. After a bit of a spell in the doldrums, like many other resorts, MC is definitely getting there. Friendly staff, good refurbished apartment (we were given one close to ours as ours is only due for refurbishment soon). Very convenient for the town and getting to Lagoa, Ferragudo and for travelling East or West. One discovery we made was Mama Mia (next to reception) which before had been a basic pizza/pasta place but now with young chef William and new owner At there has been a transformation. Please see my separate review.

We love the place and I guess you would do to. It is a bit different from many timeshare resorts

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The self catered apartment was very comfortable with the living , kitchen area upstairs and a balcony overlooking the pool and bar. No dishwasher, but I think the clothes washer was more important. Comfortable furniture and flat screen tv. The two bedrooms were downstairs and most disappointingly the beds were single and uncomfortable... Considering the amount of time we spend in them, it is a must to have comfortable beds while on holiday.
The apartment was situated in what seemed a jumble of a complex until a little exploration unearthed what I called a round square, containing several very good restaurants within 3 minutes walk. It was also on top of a hill only 10 minutes from the village of Carvoeiro, with a lovely walk down overlooking the sea and where I was able to photograph the sunsets.
This is my third time in the Algarve and my second in Carvoeiro.... Absolutely love it there.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Kev I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Monte Carvoeiro with my partner, my brother and his young family. We had a fantastic time, as did the young one. The apartment was beautiful, other than the beds which I didn't overly like, and the pool area very relaxing. The walk into the town was speedy if you took the fastest route and picturesque down the cliff walk. We loved the onsite bars and restaurants and used them loads, along with eating out in the town too. But we loved the chilled out atmosphere at MC and there wasn't a trace of the louty UK tourist you'd see elsewhere. But equally crowd not old or stuffy. Particular mention goes to the jazz bar, Manoels, which had such cosy seating and a chilled atmosphere and did beautiful, strong cocktails. The owners so friendly and liberal with the freebies too! We also enjoyed The Cocktail Bar for a slightly cheesier experience and more great cocktails. Enjoyed all of the restaurants we ate in. O Salmoa very romantic and the two steak places both fab. The only exception was the Pool Bar which is badly let down by a very begrudging and unfriendly service. Tiffany's good for a light bite if you sit outside - too smoky inside for non-smokers.

So yeah, I'd not hesitate to recommend MC and Carvoeiro as a whole! My top tips for the town: Cheers Bar and Rascals as bars go and also A Boneca, the ridiculously pretty little bar at the cliff on the far side of town. The boat trip from Benagil beach was fun and I'd recommend that.

Would definitely return as felt a week wasn't quite long enough!

Stayed: September 2013
6  Thank eg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 18 in Carvoeiro
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carvoeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carvoeiro

Address: Rua dos Pescadores 106, Carvoeiro 8400-512, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Carvoeiro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Also Known As:
Monte Carvoeiro Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Carvoeiro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing