We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent service and caring staff”
Review of O Salmao

O Salmao
Ranked #68 of 148 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service and caring staff”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The sirloin steak was excellent, the other entrees were good too but what was remarkable was the friendly service ! Joao and Aida who were there both evenings that we ate at O Salmao were efficient and helpful. One night it was late by the time we finished dinner so we asked them where we could get some milk and bread for the next morning....Aida told us all the shops would have closed at that hour but she'd check with the owner, Christine and see what she could do. Well, she gave us a carton of milk and refused to take any money from us !! She also told us where we could go early in the morning to get fresh baked bread. That was indeed very kind and generous
O Salmao opens 6 days a week for dinner only.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crankymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    37
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford on Avon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We always make sure we go here at least once on our holiday, the service is courteous and friendly and the food is excellent, I had the most beautiful succulent steak husband and daughter had chicken in cream tomato mushroom sauce they even made a separate sauce for my daughter who hates mushrooms, came with cauliflower, broccoli, mange tout and sited potatoes, very good, the cocktail bar in the same square is also great

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AKVstratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rishton
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was our third visit to this restaurant as visited it twice last year.This is still the one to beat and should really be higher up the list. There are some very good restaurants in Carvoeiro but this is the one to take a loved one to for a special occasion. It has a calmness in comparison to the buzzing ones down in the town (it is a hike up a steep hill to get to) but persevere because the food is worth it. We have had several dishes off the menu(all equally as good) but special mention must be made of the prawn curry (along with the delicious home made chutney made by Christine), mention should also be made of the Strawberry Crepe we shared for desert. Very reasonably priced for the standard on offer, shame we was not there long enough this time to return, but return we will.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulukRishton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“culinary delights”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Though we have visited some very good restaurants in Portugal this one was the best for sure.
We had dinner here twice and we had a perfect time from the very beginning until we left on both occasion.
Our waiter was very polite and helpful, eager to explain all dishes we were interested in. He brought even the "big fish book" to our table to show a certain type of fish to us.
At our first visit we had a prawn and avocado cocktail and a daily special of mussel for starters The mains: Sea Bream with creole sauce and a daily offer of Dover Sole (shown in the book). All were heavenly.
Second time we went for "quadrupeds": lamb chops and Portugal style steak. Wonderful culinary delights again. After we paid our bill we had the pleasure to talk with the owner Cristina who prepared these fantastic dishes. She is passionate about gastronomy. No doubt her heart and soul is cooked into every meal. This is the secret :)
We ended up talking about family, travel experiences, people and much more for 2-3 hours like good old friends.
Thank you Cristina for the brilliant food and this exceptional experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monaHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Real Easy”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Four of us went to the O'Salmao while in Portugal, we went on the T.A. recommendations, and you were all dead right , thanks . As soon as we arrived (late for a booking ) we were made very welcome by a young lady and man. Things were very relaxed, hence the title. All four had different main courses and all four gave it the thumbs up.the starters , main course and desert
were all very,very good, not to mention the excellent wine. The owner , Christiana came over to chat and it was like old friends talking,,,, and the bottom line, after a very pleasant and enjoyable evening, it didnt hurt the wallet too much either.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Salmao also viewed

 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to O Salmao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing