We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, we loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Anthy-sur-Leman, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place, we loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We spent a week at this hotel in early June (7th to 14th) and had a wonderful time.
We travelled with our 7 month old daughter and stayed in a 1 bedroom townhouse. It was so spacious, clean and nice we nearly extended for another week ( the flights didn't work out). the townhouses are just perfect as you get a fully equipped kitchen and a big living room with your own patio. So much space. We pretty much agree with previous reviews. Facilities are great, staff are lovely (especially Carmen in reception and the lovely man who drove us to the airport), it's quiet (well it was in June), it's clean, it's lovely. The breakfast is fantastic, so much there, lots of options. The indoor pool is great, outdoor one was a bit cold still but I'm sure it warms up in July/August.
small niggles are:
No wifi in our townhouse (M17)
The food at the pool bar wasn't great although the club sandwich was nice enough.
The service at the restaurant was slow

would recommend hiring a car to get around. Carvoiero has plenty of restaurants and there are stunning beaches that aren't too far.

note if you are travelling with a baby bring your car seat, we ended up with forward facing seats which weren't quite suitable yet.

We will definitely go back next time we go to the Algarve.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom townhouses are perfect if you are travelling with a baby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enfys27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    217
    54
    13
    1
See reviews for
354
377
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
taunton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

All the good points
Quiet small 5star complex set in fantastic grounds and gardens
Spacious well appointed rooms tastefully decorated
Surround sound system in our town house
All uk channels include cbbc for kids
Full kitchenettes with washing machine and dishwasher
Cleaned every day linen every 3 days and a turn down service
Free wifi in main reception and restaurant
Olive tree restaurant is excellent at 35euro per head incl wine also has varied kids menu
Outdoor pool area is relaxed, adjacent to kids club and play area 
Soft padded sun beds and plenty of parasols
Pool bar is slow going but you're on holiday
Indoor gym is well equipped 
Indoor pool is strictly swim hat only and they sell them for 4 euro


Things you should know
You will need a car, walking is hilly with part footpaths 
1.8km to nearest 4 x bars 5 x restaurants (Sesmarias) look for the water tower
1.0km to nearest supermarket in Pestana or 1.8 in Sesmarias
4.8km to nearest beach (Caneiros) or 5.8km to Praia Grande fabulous beach well recommend very safe flat and golden exceptionally clean 
5.5km to slide and splash water park
1.0 to nearest golf course
A22 motorway and its toll system is a hassle you don't need, check that out before you go you don't want to spend your time looking for then queuing in post offices. Our hire car co Avis did offer an expensive solution.
Transfer time on N125 is 50 mins

We definitely would go back there...hope you found this useful

Room Tip: Choose either hotel rooms or townhouses they are all close as the accommodation is built in a star f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bangerack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

The location was ideal for us, peaceful and no built up areas in sight. The accommodation is first class, very spacious and well equipped. The facilities were just what we needed and our 2 year old loved the pool area. Spa treatments were lovely and well priced. Ate at the restaurant one evening, lovely food and good price. Some good beaches less than 10 mins drive, intermache less than 5 mins drive and the town itself has some lovely restaurants too. Would recommend as a great option to stay in this area of the Algarve.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBoyd218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Nice clean , well laid out hotel complex . Not 5 star but good 4 star .

small pool for size of complex , very poor service at pool side cafe and bar , very very slow to clear tables etc . Breakfast ok buffet but no chef for eggs etc and very boring no change and no table service even for tea /coffee etc. Resaurant food was ok but not outstanding - far better in local area (bon bon especially good). Nice rooms/ house good quality furnishings and very clean with good turndown service. The spa was beautiful but couldnt get an appointment as it was very busy . good value just a little better service / food etc would help improve this lovely resort
Beds in room were very comfortable but bed in main lounge area had poor quality mattress and was not that comfy. Staff were all very polite and friendly

Room Tip: all seemed good due to excellent layout - def a self contained house in grounds was nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cybilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We recently returned from a week at the Vale d'Oliveiras.
Beautiful hotel, check in excellent. As you are taken to your room you notice the lovely settings and gorgeous smell of the flowers.
Rooms are very impressive, very spacious and nicely decorated with good size bathroom, kitchen and living area.
The pool area is very nice and pool towels are supplied and you can change daily however the pool (including the baby pool) is freezing, this put a real dampner on our holiday and I wish someone had mentioned it in reviews earlier. They do have an lovely indoor pool which we did use but when the sun is blazing outside you dont want to be in an indoor pool.
As for the location is it very out of the way. We like quiet holidays but this was a bit too quiet for us. There is nowhere to walk to in the surrounding area. The hotel do put on a minibus to take you to the local beach however this is a small quiet little town with not a lot going on.
We went with our 6 yr old daughter and picked this hotel as it had a kids club so there would be something for her to do to get out of the sun for a while however it was very lackluster with not a lot going on. The kids club lady did come to us in the pool one day at 3.25pm to say they were doing some activities but when I asked her what time she said 4pm so I said ok we will come at 4pm, when we did gp she said oh no we are finished now it was from 3-4pm!!!
Lunch time selection of food is very limited and NO DONT try the chicken nuggets for the kids they are awful.
The food in the evening is gorgeous but if you go half board be prepared that you do not get the full menu but seperate menu with a choice of 2 starters, mains and deserts. We did find out from someone else that you can ask from something of their a la carte menu but they dont tell you this. The kids menu is also the same as in the day but you can have something off the adults menu for them but it may not be to the taste of most children.
We also found the service in the restaurant slightly lacking for a 5* hotel, you would wait for them to ask if you wanted drinks and only one night did they bother to ask if we wanted another drink (you would have thought the price of the drinks the staff would have been pushing them).
One night they forgot to serve our bread and on 3 seperate occasions after either offering or being asked for kethup for our daughter it didnt arrive.
The service was very slow and it was not at all busy, would definately not like to be there when they were fuly booked.

Overall lovely surroundings, beautifully set out hotel but definately had something missing and the freezing pool was a let down.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayne1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Despite the heading we loved staying at the Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta and do recommend it.

The facilities are all five star (indoor & outdoor pool, gym, tennis court, kids club, play area, town houses & apartments, grounds, etc), and its got a boutique feel to it that enables you to chill from the moment you arrive. The layout works well & everything is centered on two outdoor pools that never feell crowded because the team have worked hard to ensure there is no sunbed-scramble.

So why not give it a rating of five? Where they do need to improve is in having service and catering to match the facilities. Both are good, they're just not as good as they could or should be. The poolside bar struggles with anything more than one order at a time, and you can be left waiting for up to 30mins for simple drinks - there's clearly no system in place and the two staff, especially the barman, always look stressed when having to multi-task. The food in the restaurant is again good, but more often than not is over-cooked and you know it should be a lot better,

Final (totally picky) point is that the pillows suck.

Despite this probably sounding like a negative review you should stay here. Its great, and we leave (plus two children under ten) having had a fab time. If you can ignore the niggles then you'll love the facilities.

Room Tip: Poolside Town House
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemskerk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

During 2 months I was home in this special place. Beautifully situated in the Algarve. One feels the care and love put into the organisation. Professional and very kind staff. I loved the gardens and the facilities very much.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa

Property: Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Address: Barranco Fundo | Lagoa, Algarve, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are on a family break, golf trip or incentive travel, our goal is always to surpass your expectations! Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa is an elegant 5-star hotel and resort with 22 rooms, 2 suites and 80 townhouses. With an exceptional location, only 5 minutes from Carvoeiro and Ferragudo and close to some of the finest beaches and golf courses, Vale d'Oliveiras is a unique place to relax and discover the best of the Algarve! All rooms and townhouses are fully equipped with the highest quality fixtures and fittings and are designed to provide all the comfort you may need, whether you are on a leisure or business trip. The Monchique hills and Gramacho golf courses are the backdrop to this magnificent landscape. In addition, the resort has an abundance of stunning gardens carefully framed by the surrounding landscape. The traditional local architecture with Moorish influences provides a calm and tranquil environment. The hotel has a typical but striking interior courtyard complemented by Moorish arches and tiles designed by local artists. The low density construction integrates you fully into the landscape, making our townhouses the ideal choice for families with children or for long-term holidays. All have a typical Algarve chimney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Ebookers, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Resort And Spa
Vale D'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing