We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks holiday. The staff at this property are fantastic, nothing too much trouble. We were booked in the hotel and were disappointed that there wasn't a balcony. We asked to upgrade after 1 week and were given a 1 bedroom bungalow which was brilliant. It did cost us extra, but well worth it. Complex 5 star, hotel 4 star.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and rating on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Vale d’Oliveiras.

We are very pleased that we succeeded in making your holiday a memorable one and I am glad that we managed to find a different type of accommodation for you outside the Hotel area.

I hope I will have the chance to welcome you again soon at our Resort.

Kind regards

Jorge de Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    224
    54
    13
    1
See reviews for
361
387
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed here for four nights with my family and thought it was wonderful. Used the restaurant for dinner and the pool area for lunch and both were good, even though both menus can do with a bit more choice. Breakfast great with plenty of choice. Apartment we stayed in was of a good size, kitchen and bathrooms very well finished. Free wi fi not very good away from reception area. Great place to just unwind.

Room Tip: Choose a westerly aspect apartment to enjoy the evening sun (with a drink).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royalorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Great location bordering on scenic undulating arid farmland. Large spacious site. A very quite and calm place. About four years old, fresh and modern, tastefully presented. Lovely immaculate gardens, especially the courtyard type herb garden.
Guest’s seemed mainly professional people. Some had infants. Apparently about one hundred and fifty guests were on the site but during our week there were usually only about ten people at the pool and twenty at breakfast. We paid about £470 for b&b for two in one of the twenty two hotel rooms. These rooms are designed around a style of courtyard and were bottom of the complex’s price range; but fine and good value for money. The apartments looked very nice as we walked by them and would go for one of those if we ever returned.

One problem. There is piped external music in the hotel area and when it was playing it was always audible in our room. For some this slight background Muzack may be fine but for me, late afternoon, when trying to read in a quiet room for an hour or so before going out, it was irritating. Twice I mentioned it to reception but it made no difference. I would not take a hotel room again for this reason alone.

Issues that wouldn’t stop us going again: We never had our bed linen changed. Our room was usually not made up till late afternoon. We may have taken an evening meal in the dining room but we never ever saw a menu. Not at breakfast, in the room or in the reception area. When checking in I asked about an upgrade to an apartment. There was no negotiation on the price so we declined. One day I asked the reception if they had any paracetamol. They found only one tablet but they did find me a 24-hour pharmacy. The service of providing daily newspapers was offered. Seems we were the only ones taking this service. Someone had to go out to collect them and they only did this when doing other duties so papers were not available until about 11.30am. No scales for weighing bags. As most people fly in and out it would seem a handy service to offer. One guest told me the complex is now owned by Barclays Bank.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PYAshington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed in the hotel part of the complex from the 3rd June for 12 nights. Our hotel room was very clean & comfortable, but have to agree with the review that said the pillows are uncomfortable. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room however no milk or creamer supplied. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the food is very good, however the service is very slow at times, but when your on holiday what's the rush. The complex is very nice and to a high standard . The pool area is excellent and the pool is very refreshing as it can get pretty hot in the sun.
The Health club is small but good, all you could need whilst on holiday, with a class every day i.e water aerobics Pilates and the health club staff are fantastic, really friendly and very helpful.
Would I return the this hotel? Most defiantly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KymhWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We were there between 14th -22 June, and we absolutely loved it. We had taken a 2 bedroom apartment, and it was very well maintained. Our kids, 11 and 12 also had plenty to do, and enjoyed the resort very much. The place is very beautiful and the staff is very helpful, friendly and great. The staff at the Health Club had organised a weekly schedule and did a great job in providing healthy activities to the residents. They especially went out of their way to organise a canoeing activity for our family- as we were not able to attend it on their scheduled day. Everyone was fantastic, and the proximity of the place to everything makes it even better. The beach, great tennis club, restaurants, shopping- it was all just great. Had we been able to change our flights- we would have definately extend our trip to another week. Will definately come back!

Room Tip: Ground floor, 2 B/R room was very spacious and good for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthy-sur-Leman, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We spent a week at this hotel in early June (7th to 14th) and had a wonderful time.
We travelled with our 7 month old daughter and stayed in a 1 bedroom townhouse. It was so spacious, clean and nice we nearly extended for another week ( the flights didn't work out). the townhouses are just perfect as you get a fully equipped kitchen and a big living room with your own patio. So much space. We pretty much agree with previous reviews. Facilities are great, staff are lovely (especially Carmen in reception and the lovely man who drove us to the airport), it's quiet (well it was in June), it's clean, it's lovely. The breakfast is fantastic, so much there, lots of options. The indoor pool is great, outdoor one was a bit cold still but I'm sure it warms up in July/August.
small niggles are:
No wifi in our townhouse (M17)
The food at the pool bar wasn't great although the club sandwich was nice enough.
The service at the restaurant was slow

would recommend hiring a car to get around. Carvoiero has plenty of restaurants and there are stunning beaches that aren't too far.

note if you are travelling with a baby bring your car seat, we ended up with forward facing seats which weren't quite suitable yet.

We will definitely go back next time we go to the Algarve.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom townhouses are perfect if you are travelling with a baby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enfys27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taunton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

All the good points
Quiet small 5star complex set in fantastic grounds and gardens
Spacious well appointed rooms tastefully decorated
Surround sound system in our town house
All uk channels include cbbc for kids
Full kitchenettes with washing machine and dishwasher
Cleaned every day linen every 3 days and a turn down service
Free wifi in main reception and restaurant
Olive tree restaurant is excellent at 35euro per head incl wine also has varied kids menu
Outdoor pool area is relaxed, adjacent to kids club and play area 
Soft padded sun beds and plenty of parasols
Pool bar is slow going but you're on holiday
Indoor gym is well equipped 
Indoor pool is strictly swim hat only and they sell them for 4 euro


Things you should know
You will need a car, walking is hilly with part footpaths 
1.8km to nearest 4 x bars 5 x restaurants (Sesmarias) look for the water tower
1.0km to nearest supermarket in Pestana or 1.8 in Sesmarias
4.8km to nearest beach (Caneiros) or 5.8km to Praia Grande fabulous beach well recommend very safe flat and golden exceptionally clean 
5.5km to slide and splash water park
1.0 to nearest golf course
A22 motorway and its toll system is a hassle you don't need, check that out before you go you don't want to spend your time looking for then queuing in post offices. Our hire car co Avis did offer an expensive solution.
Transfer time on N125 is 50 mins

We definitely would go back there...hope you found this useful

Room Tip: Choose either hotel rooms or townhouses they are all close as the accommodation is built in a star f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bangerack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
6.4 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
21.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa

Property: Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Address: Barranco Fundo | Lagoa, Algarve, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are on a family break, golf trip or incentive travel, our goal is always to surpass your expectations! Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa is an elegant 5-star hotel and resort with 22 rooms, 2 suites and 80 townhouses. With an exceptional location, only 5 minutes from Carvoeiro and Ferragudo and close to some of the finest beaches and golf courses, Vale d'Oliveiras is a unique place to relax and discover the best of the Algarve! All rooms and townhouses are fully equipped with the highest quality fixtures and fittings and are designed to provide all the comfort you may need, whether you are on a leisure or business trip. The Monchique hills and Gramacho golf courses are the backdrop to this magnificent landscape. In addition, the resort has an abundance of stunning gardens carefully framed by the surrounding landscape. The traditional local architecture with Moorish influences provides a calm and tranquil environment. The hotel has a typical but striking interior courtyard complemented by Moorish arches and tiles designed by local artists. The low density construction integrates you fully into the landscape, making our townhouses the ideal choice for families with children or for long-term holidays. All have a typical Algarve chimney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Resort And Spa
Vale D'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing