We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have just come back from the most amazing 10 days staying here. It was fantastic - the hotel were so helpful supporting us to book a taxi to pick us up from the airport and when we arrived we were pleased to have our room ready even though we were 3hours earlier than check in.

We stayed in the hotel and the room was beautiful - simple with a Juliette balcony looking across the mountains.

We enjoyed the set menu at the hotel restaurant the first night - fairly expensive but wonderful food and atmosphere. The hotel buffet equally never disappointed - restaurant and bar staff were always attentive, friendly and polite. I highly suggest utilising the Olive Bar - we had the tastiest burger in the bar and fab cocktails and it was always empty!

The hotel is very secluded but for my partner and I we enjoyed the 6 mile round trip walk to Carvoeira however the hotel offered a free mini bus service. If I was to go again I would hire a car as getting taxis in the evening can be expensive.

We also enjoyed laying by the hotel pool which at this time of year was fairly quiet, using the indoor pool, hot tub and sauna as well as the gym.

My partner and I were really sad to leave and is the first hotel that we both are desperate to go back to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the product and service provided here at Vale d´Oliveiras exceeded your expectations.

Our commitment is to provide the best service, the best food and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. For that reason, we cannot thank you enough for your positive feedback.

It is an honor to hear you will choose us again, and we truly look forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just come back after a wonderful week in a fabulous hotel. You cannot fault the staff they are all very helpful and friendly and make you feel very welcome. Plenty of choice for breakfast can't get better ( we are very well traveled having worked in the airline industry so when I say we have been to a lot of hotels all over the world we have) as for the room it was very nice we stayed in the hotel in H18 in a very comfortable super king bed. Rooms cleaned every day. We had no problem with the cleaners and if we didn't want to be disturbed we put the "do not disturb" sign on the door. We took the half board option and the menu every evening was very good. Our friends came to the hotel for dinner one evening from a neighbouring hotel and thoroughly enjoyed dinner. We also asked if we could order a birthday cake as it was our friends birthday and we was presented with a beautiful cake and our friend was delighted.
The spa is wonderful give it a go. And as for the Health club it's got something for everyone. Lots of classes to go to and yes you have to wear a swimming hat to use the pool. 6 euros each hardly going to break the bank. Many thanks to the health club staff. I love joining in the classes and made very welcome
Yes there are children there on holiday. No screamers just children being children having fun and lovely to watch their antics . This hotel is only good for small children as there is nothing to do for older children. If you don't like children go to a adult only hotel.
Defiantly try this hotel. It's our second visit and will not be our last.
Many thanks to Lena and all the boys and girls in the restaurant and pool bar. ( best piña colada) We found the reception staff to be very helpful and friendly.
Lovely grounds good rooms great food. A very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KymhWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to hear you had a great stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

I will pass your compliments to all the team and to Lena in particular, as they were able to provide you with an unforgettable experience.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We came to this hotel because it was advertised as a peaceful retreat and indeed it is miles from anywhere,which can be an advantage or a disadvantage, according to your wants and whether you had the foresight to rent a car.
It was a nervous journey for us from the airport, on the right side of the road, with a strange underpowered car and pretty poor road signs,until you eventually spotted the hotels blue signs which were a life saver. We were met by Sonia with a personal welcome which was very nice, although we never saw her again and our first impressions were of a lovely classy hotel with great decor. The room more than lived up to our expectations. More wardrobe space than I had ever experienced before and spacious room and bathroom. Like all hotels I have experienced they did not have a mirror in the room near a socket. If your partner or friend is showering, you struggled to dry your hair or shave with no mirror! Nevertheless the room was lovely. It's true the beds are a bit hard and for some reason we both ached after sleeping in them, but we did sleep ok. The walls were extremely thin. You could hear people talking, banging the wardrobe doors shut, flushing the loo...amongst other things!!
We found the breakfast very adequate and pleasant although it was the same every single day. A bit of imagination would have been good. We ate dinner the first night in the hotel. The set menu was very acceptable at €27 a head and food well served and tasty.
There was a little music three out of the seven days we stayed, but nothing much else to do. There is a spa, but we thought it was expensive and you had to buy a hat to go in the pool, so we didn't bother.
We have to say that the restaurant and poolside staff were really excellent. Polite, friendly, smiling and nothing was too much trouble
We had two gripes with this hotel.
The first that, although we are well travelled, we have never returned to our room in the late afternoon to find it had not been serviced. On mentioning this to reception, there was no apology, but just..well that's the way we do it. Hotel guests get their rooms cleaned last! Unacceptable in my view. If you wish to go back to your room late afternoon for a rest, you get disturbed. When they did eventually come to clean our room, after a second complaint, it took ten minutes, the dusting was pathetic and only the bathroom floor was swept and washed.
My second gripe is that they are trying to please young families and couples at the same time and it doesn't work. The hotel is described as a relaxing retreat. Well, I love children but when you are trying to read around the pool and you have screaming, uncontrolled children in the pool and water from water pistols squirted in your face, then it's hardly relaxing.
What is not mentioned is that there are 22 hotel rooms and 80 one and two bedroom self catering units.
Taxi fares are quite considerable if you wish to visit nearby places or eat in outside restaurants. My advise is to hire a car. There are some beautiful beaches within driving distance. One of the best things we did was to take a small boat trip along the coast from Portimao. Go in The small boats that hug the coastline and go right into the caves. Lovely! If it rains there is very little to do and nowhere even to walk, so if you have no car you are a bit stuck.
The best restaurant in the area is Le Bon Bon, an amazing experience for that special occasion but expect to pay more than €100 for two. Oregano is still lovely but at half the price.
We did enjoy our stay on the whole, but the noise from the families in the pool and crying children at night would prevent us returning again. Very sad because this hotel could be a lovely retreat. It's better than 3 - average but not good enough for 4- very good

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs and then you won't have people banging around above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anenome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Gerente geral at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sending us your feedback about your stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

Im pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay but sorry that your experience did not live up to your full expectations.

Best regards

Patrícia Correia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights and we were not disappointed. Good sized bedroom with separate lounge area and kitchen. Well decorated and maintained. We also had an almost private terrace with table chairs and sun loungers. Breakfast buffet was first class, everything anyone would want. We did not have lunch or dinner so unable to comment on them. It is quite remote and not within walking distance of any shops or bars so you need to either have transport or be happy to stay in the resort. The only negative for us is the bar. It looks and feels like a railway station waiting room. No atmosphere or anything positive that would encourage you to go more than once.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to hear you had a great stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

It is particularly pleasant to know you that you enjoyed the breakfast as well as your accommodation.
We will certainly take in consideration your review as a good way to improve.

Next time you come back to Carvoeiro, we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

just back from 5 nights in vale d'oliveiras. we stayed in a 1 bed villa which was huge, lovely modern décor, so much space and lovely deck chairs outside with gorgeous views of the well manicured gardens. breakfast was great and had everything you might want and was always fresh. service was friendly and attentive. Pool area was really nice. very clean and great big cosy loungers to laze in in the afternoon sun. if you want peace and quiet you might be disappointed, this is a very family oriented set up and the kids can be noisy at times by the pool. we also used the tennis courts and my wife enjoyed the aqua aerobics and pilates classes (when the went ahead). there are only two downsides to this resort in my view, 1; location is quite far out of the town of carvoeiro, approx 5km, you do need a car if you want to go out and about. 2; the bed is hard and not that comfortable but it is a full king sized bed. if you don't mind being a little bit out of town then I would definitely recommend this place, we booked for 5 nights in our own villa with breakfast and to be honest the value for what we paid was fantastic. carvoeiro itself is not a particularly nice town and I think staying a bit out is an advantage in this case, and there are few if any other resorts in the surrounding areas that are of the same standard or quality as vale d'oliveiras.

Room Tip: all one bed villas face west and have beautiful gardens, and they are NOT a long walk at all to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to hear you had a great stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay including the facilities that we offer at the resort.
On your next visit, we highly recommend you to request an extra soft topper for the bed which we provide free of charge for all our guests.

We truly hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for 8 nights in May for our honeymoon and whilst there had a wedding blessing for just the two of us following a ceremony at home with family. We are a mature couple and are so pleased we decided to do this. Eduardo and Sonia organised it for us via numerous emails and nothing was too much trouble.

On arrival we were delighted with the room which is a bungalow in my opinion! In addition to another recent review which states you can walk to Carvoeiro in 45 minutes - we walked to Ferragudo in about 30 minutes down country lanes through orange groves - lovely. We did use taxis at night to go out to eat but 3 nights stayed in the hotel and ate at the Olive Tree restaurant, the food at which was delicious. One of these meals was courtesy of the hotel as part of our wedding blessing package - 4 courses with drinks - the perfect end to the perfect day.

Earlier in the day we relaxed by the pool and had a swim, the pool felt chilly as we got in but we soon acclimatised and really enjoyed it. Then I went over to the Spa where I had my hair done by Isabel and my makeup done by Carla (all arranged for me by the hotel staff). They did a great job and I did feel lovely and very special.

The ceremony was in the grounds overlooking the golf course and the gazebo was decorated with flowers and looked lovely. Maria performed a beautiful ceremony which brought tears to our eyes. The photographer was included in the package - Pedro Inacio and his friend Paulo. They did an amazing job and even took us to the beach for some pictures with stunning cliff and seascape backdrops.

On return to our room Sonia had decorated it with rose petals and there was champagne chilling, chocolate sauce and strawberries and flowers with which we were delighted.

Also included was a motorbike and sidecar ride to see some of the best beaches in the area. We went out for a few hours with Delfim who has a business called Bike my Side. What a fantastic experience, climbing up through cobbled streets to the church in Ferragudo and to the beach at Marinhos among the highlights. Delfim was really informative and we enjoyed his company as much as the tour.

The hotel itself is beautiful, spotlessly clean and modern. The staff were great - polite and helpful and very professional. The staff arranged a hire car for us for our final two days, very efficient. We loved the accommodation with fully fitted kitchen and garden and slept well - we found the bed really comfortable.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmandP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for leaving such kind words regarding your stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

It's a privilege that you have chosen Vale d’Oliveiras to host such a special day. Thank you very much for sharing this review with other Tripadvisor members; this type of reviews make us proud of our day to day effort.

We are looking forward to welcome you next year !

Kind regards,
Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for 4 night at the beginning of May. As it was early season, the hotel seemed very quiet, especially in the evenings, when the dining room was all but empty. That said, the food was very enjoyable and breakfast was varied and plentiful.
We were upgraded to a suite (M19) which for just two of us was huge. It was nice to have our own bit of garden to sunbathe in. The espresso machine in the lounge was well used. Slightly disappointed with the bed, which was a bit firm and every time you moved, it seemed to make a noise (not ideal in the middle of the night).
Although the resort is in a quiet rural setting, if you are prepared to walk you can get to the beach at Carvoeiro in about 45-60 mins. Otherwise a car is ideal for exploring the local area and further afield.
All in all, a great resort with quality staff. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gah1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to hear you had a great stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

It is particularly pleasant to know you that you enjoyed the food served at our restaurant.
It is an honor to hear you will choose us again, and we truly look forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,581 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
760 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
21.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
17.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa

Address: Barranco Fundo | Lagoa, Algarve, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: £59 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are on a family break, golf trip or incentive travel, our goal is always to surpass your expectations! Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa is an elegant 5-star hotel and resort with 22 rooms, 2 suites and 80 townhouses. With an exceptional location, only 5 minutes from Carvoeiro and Ferragudo and close to some of the finest beaches and golf courses, Vale d'Oliveiras is a unique place to relax and discover the best of the Algarve! All rooms and townhouses are fully equipped with the highest quality fixtures and fittings and are designed to provide all the comfort you may need, whether you are on a leisure or business trip. The Monchique hills and Gramacho golf courses are the backdrop to this magnificent landscape. In addition, the resort has an abundance of stunning gardens carefully framed by the surrounding landscape. The traditional local architecture with Moorish influences provides a calm and tranquil environment. The hotel has a typical but striking interior courtyard complemented by Moorish arches and tiles designed by local artists. The low density construction integrates you fully into the landscape, making our townhouses the ideal choice for families with children or for long-term holidays. All have a typical Algarve chimney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Resort And Spa
Vale D'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing