We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Truly 5*”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a true 5* experience this resort is for you. From the moment you start down the meandering valley road passed the large villas you know you are heading for something special. No noisy bars or other hotels. The resort sits nestled into the valley it's layout and design complements the contours of the landscape. We booked a one bedroom townhouse which was excellent. Large lounge/diner which held out to a patio are with table, chairs and sun loungers. Fully equipped kitchen, very large bathroom and bedroom. As expected all fixtures and fittings were of a high quality . We overlooked the pool area. The accommodation in the resort is arranged around courtyards with some overlooking the pool and others with either a garden or valley view. One thing you do not have is noise from roads or other establishments. What you do have is perfect peace.

Excellent staff who ensure that your needs are looked after. Excellent pool service to your sun bed provided by Pablo and his team.

If you tire of the sun there is an fantastic spa, great tennis courts and for those of us who like to keep fit a fully equipped gym. If the weather is not good there is a heated indoor pool. Golf can easily be arranged by the resort.

Breakfast was buffet style with food to suit all tastes. In the evenings we sometimes ate in the Olive Tree Restaurant or ventured out. Our favourite place was Ferragudo which was about 15 mins away. Lots of excellent restaurants we recommend for fish try A Ria which sits on the quay just past the main square. On route to Ferragudo you will pass lots of other restaurants. Spoiled for choice in this area. If you do not wish to drive taxis are cheap and can be booked at reception. Overall a tremendous resort for those who do not want the bustle and ambient noise from other establishments. A truly 5* experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rio W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Gerente geral at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Rio W

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the product and service provided here at Vale d´Oliveiras exceeded your expectations.

I will pass your compliments to all the team and to Paulo in particular, has they were able to provide you with an unforgettable experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Vale d'Oliveiras in the near future.

Best Regards

Patrícia Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    235
    58
    13
    2
See reviews for
384
407
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked a two-bedroom townhouse here through Interval and spent a glorious week here. Hired a car (Avis) from Faro airport and an easy drive to the resort, though their directions from the motorway exit were far from perfect! As it is a fairly new resort, this address is not on TomTom - aim for the nearby Gramacho golf course, and follow the large blue 'Vale d'Oiveiras' signs from there.
Rooms were spacious and clean, well-equipped with washing machine, dishwasher, fruit juicer, hob, microwave and oven/grill. One complaint is that (a) there are no instructions how to use the equipment (inc the TV/dvd player/radio and surround sound system) and (b) no supply of powder for the machines - if you are here for a week or two you don't want to buy a large box and use five tablets! In similar vein, having arrived Saturday evening when the on-site shop was shut, there was no opportunity to order a 'welcome pack' of basic items which would carry you through first day or two.
Windows in bathrooms had no security locks on, and easy to go out and forget they were slightly ajar. But there was a safe in each room.
Rooms are cleaned daily and very efficiently; plenty of toiletries, towels and bathrobes; pool towels available near the various pools/health club. They had a glitch with manning the spa when we were there, but they managed, after a gentle moan, to accommodate my wife and her friend with a longer and discounted massage and set of treatments, so thanks!
Food and service in main restaurant is excellent; evening meal costs around £21 a head for table d'hote (three choices of each course). Without fail, all staff were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful; most spoke very good English.
Main pool and pool bar were good, though maybe a little spoiled by having a few too many children running around... There is a toddlers' pool (and a children's play area), but there should also be an adults' pool, where you can relax without disturbance. Yes, of course, cater for children - but also cater for adults! We were there out of season, so I wonder how noisy this would be in the height of summer if you wanted peace and quiet... Indoor heated pool (must wear bathing cap!) and jacuzzi and sauna, all at no extra cost.
It's a ten or fifteen-minute drive into nearby towns of Carvoeiro, Ferragudo (Lidls are here) or Portimao; 5 minutes to Lagoa and a Jumbo supermarket for all sorts of supplies; many many restaurants everywhere. Driving here is weird - hardly any traffic! The resort is a bit isolated, and the roads are OK but quite narrow; generally unsigned, so a satnav really makes life so much easier, especially for any night-time driving. (Buy or load one in the UK with European maps, rather than hire from car hire companies, which will often cost around £50 for the week!)
The massages at Health Spa were absolutely excellent; it's a shame there was a few days when it was closed, as otherwise my ladies would have been down there at least for one more session... Definitely a place to return to...

Room Tip: Try to request a garden-view townhouse - much more peaceful, and you can relax on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

It is particularly pleasant to know you that you enjoyed the service from our staff as well as your accommodation and the food in the restaurant. This type of comments make us proud of our day to day effort

It is an honor to hear you will choose us again, and we truly look forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent Hotel, from the clean rooms to the dinner this is a superb hotel. We had a relaxing 7days here, the staff were brilliant especially Paolo at the pool bar his service was a example to the rest. Hotel was clean throughout and it felt extremely safe and secure something i value when going away. the breakfast catered for everyone yes it was the same everyday but what more do you want? From croissants to cereal to eggs(3 types of egg) and bacon it has everything ! We ate dinner once and it was nice, superb service and excellent food. We ate several times at the pool bar the food at the beginning of the week seemed to arrive for the main restaurant then it got better and quicker once it starting arriving from the pool bar kitchen. Water is slighty overpriced at the pool bar. When you can get it cheaper at the on site supermarket seems a little odd.

The rooms were not cleaned until middle afternoon but when they were it was fine. If you needed looking after the staff were there. From reception to the pool bar to the indoor gym all staff excellent.

If you want 5 star relaxing come here. but you must hire a car about 8mins in the car from the town
Plently of great restaurants around it... here are a few... Hexagone, Onze, Ele & Ela, La Orange (very close and superb)

Easy to get to head to Pestana Golf Resort and you will then pickup signs for the resort which are clearly sign posted took about 40mins from the airport

Enjoy !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overal stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

I will pass your compliments to all the team and to Paulo in particular, as they were able to provide you with an unforgettable experience.

We will certainly take in consideration your review as a good way to improve.

Next time you come back to Carvoeiro, we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have just come back from the most amazing 10 days staying here. It was fantastic - the hotel were so helpful supporting us to book a taxi to pick us up from the airport and when we arrived we were pleased to have our room ready even though we were 3hours earlier than check in.

We stayed in the hotel and the room was beautiful - simple with a Juliette balcony looking across the mountains.

We enjoyed the set menu at the hotel restaurant the first night - fairly expensive but wonderful food and atmosphere. The hotel buffet equally never disappointed - restaurant and bar staff were always attentive, friendly and polite. I highly suggest utilising the Olive Bar - we had the tastiest burger in the bar and fab cocktails and it was always empty!

The hotel is very secluded but for my partner and I we enjoyed the 6 mile round trip walk to Carvoeira however the hotel offered a free mini bus service. If I was to go again I would hire a car as getting taxis in the evening can be expensive.

We also enjoyed laying by the hotel pool which at this time of year was fairly quiet, using the indoor pool, hot tub and sauna as well as the gym.

My partner and I were really sad to leave and is the first hotel that we both are desperate to go back to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the product and service provided here at Vale d´Oliveiras exceeded your expectations.

Our commitment is to provide the best service, the best food and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. For that reason, we cannot thank you enough for your positive feedback.

It is an honor to hear you will choose us again, and we truly look forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just come back after a wonderful week in a fabulous hotel. You cannot fault the staff they are all very helpful and friendly and make you feel very welcome. Plenty of choice for breakfast can't get better ( we are very well traveled having worked in the airline industry so when I say we have been to a lot of hotels all over the world we have) as for the room it was very nice we stayed in the hotel in H18 in a very comfortable super king bed. Rooms cleaned every day. We had no problem with the cleaners and if we didn't want to be disturbed we put the "do not disturb" sign on the door. We took the half board option and the menu every evening was very good. Our friends came to the hotel for dinner one evening from a neighbouring hotel and thoroughly enjoyed dinner. We also asked if we could order a birthday cake as it was our friends birthday and we was presented with a beautiful cake and our friend was delighted.
The spa is wonderful give it a go. And as for the Health club it's got something for everyone. Lots of classes to go to and yes you have to wear a swimming hat to use the pool. 6 euros each hardly going to break the bank. Many thanks to the health club staff. I love joining in the classes and made very welcome
Yes there are children there on holiday. No screamers just children being children having fun and lovely to watch their antics . This hotel is only good for small children as there is nothing to do for older children. If you don't like children go to a adult only hotel.
Defiantly try this hotel. It's our second visit and will not be our last.
Many thanks to Lena and all the boys and girls in the restaurant and pool bar. ( best piña colada) We found the reception staff to be very helpful and friendly.
Lovely grounds good rooms great food. A very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KymhWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to hear you had a great stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

I will pass your compliments to all the team and to Lena in particular, as they were able to provide you with an unforgettable experience.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codicote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We came to this hotel because it was advertised as a peaceful retreat and indeed it is miles from anywhere,which can be an advantage or a disadvantage, according to your wants and whether you had the foresight to rent a car.
It was a nervous journey for us from the airport, on the right side of the road, with a strange underpowered car and pretty poor road signs,until you eventually spotted the hotels blue signs which were a life saver. We were met by Sonia with a personal welcome which was very nice, although we never saw her again and our first impressions were of a lovely classy hotel with great decor. The room more than lived up to our expectations. More wardrobe space than I had ever experienced before and spacious room and bathroom. Like all hotels I have experienced they did not have a mirror in the room near a socket. If your partner or friend is showering, you struggled to dry your hair or shave with no mirror! Nevertheless the room was lovely. It's true the beds are a bit hard and for some reason we both ached after sleeping in them, but we did sleep ok. The walls were extremely thin. You could hear people talking, banging the wardrobe doors shut, flushing the loo...amongst other things!!
We found the breakfast very adequate and pleasant although it was the same every single day. A bit of imagination would have been good. We ate dinner the first night in the hotel. The set menu was very acceptable at €27 a head and food well served and tasty.
There was a little music three out of the seven days we stayed, but nothing much else to do. There is a spa, but we thought it was expensive and you had to buy a hat to go in the pool, so we didn't bother.
We have to say that the restaurant and poolside staff were really excellent. Polite, friendly, smiling and nothing was too much trouble
We had two gripes with this hotel.
The first that, although we are well travelled, we have never returned to our room in the late afternoon to find it had not been serviced. On mentioning this to reception, there was no apology, but just..well that's the way we do it. Hotel guests get their rooms cleaned last! Unacceptable in my view. If you wish to go back to your room late afternoon for a rest, you get disturbed. When they did eventually come to clean our room, after a second complaint, it took ten minutes, the dusting was pathetic and only the bathroom floor was swept and washed.
My second gripe is that they are trying to please young families and couples at the same time and it doesn't work. The hotel is described as a relaxing retreat. Well, I love children but when you are trying to read around the pool and you have screaming, uncontrolled children in the pool and water from water pistols squirted in your face, then it's hardly relaxing.
What is not mentioned is that there are 22 hotel rooms and 80 one and two bedroom self catering units.
Taxi fares are quite considerable if you wish to visit nearby places or eat in outside restaurants. My advise is to hire a car. There are some beautiful beaches within driving distance. One of the best things we did was to take a small boat trip along the coast from Portimao. Go in The small boats that hug the coastline and go right into the caves. Lovely! If it rains there is very little to do and nowhere even to walk, so if you have no car you are a bit stuck.
The best restaurant in the area is Le Bon Bon, an amazing experience for that special occasion but expect to pay more than €100 for two. Oregano is still lovely but at half the price.
We did enjoy our stay on the whole, but the noise from the families in the pool and crying children at night would prevent us returning again. Very sad because this hotel could be a lovely retreat. It's better than 3 - average but not good enough for 4- very good

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs and then you won't have people banging around above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anenome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Gerente geral at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sending us your feedback about your stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

Im pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay but sorry that your experience did not live up to your full expectations.

Best regards

Patrícia Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
467 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights and we were not disappointed. Good sized bedroom with separate lounge area and kitchen. Well decorated and maintained. We also had an almost private terrace with table chairs and sun loungers. Breakfast buffet was first class, everything anyone would want. We did not have lunch or dinner so unable to comment on them. It is quite remote and not within walking distance of any shops or bars so you need to either have transport or be happy to stay in the resort. The only negative for us is the bar. It looks and feels like a railway station waiting room. No atmosphere or anything positive that would encourage you to go more than once.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to hear you had a great stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

It is particularly pleasant to know you that you enjoyed the breakfast as well as your accommodation.
We will certainly take in consideration your review as a good way to improve.

Next time you come back to Carvoeiro, we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#1 of 19 in Carvoeiro
708 reviews
18.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,008 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3,229 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa

Property: Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Address: Barranco Fundo | Lagoa, Algarve, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are on a family break, golf trip or incentive travel, our goal is always to surpass your expectations! Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa is an elegant 5-star hotel and resort with 22 rooms, 2 suites and 80 townhouses. With an exceptional location, only 5 minutes from Carvoeiro and Ferragudo and close to some of the finest beaches and golf courses, Vale d'Oliveiras is a unique place to relax and discover the best of the Algarve! All rooms and townhouses are fully equipped with the highest quality fixtures and fittings and are designed to provide all the comfort you may need, whether you are on a leisure or business trip. The Monchique hills and Gramacho golf courses are the backdrop to this magnificent landscape. In addition, the resort has an abundance of stunning gardens carefully framed by the surrounding landscape. The traditional local architecture with Moorish influences provides a calm and tranquil environment. The hotel has a typical but striking interior courtyard complemented by Moorish arches and tiles designed by local artists. The low density construction integrates you fully into the landscape, making our townhouses the ideal choice for families with children or for long-term holidays. All have a typical Algarve chimney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Resort And Spa
Vale D'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing