We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
125 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good fun and good value”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with children 5&3. Terraced bungalow was spacious, with dining table inside and out, wifi, TV (no uk channels). Staff all very accommodating. Indoor pool out of action for our week. Outdoor pool and toddler pool both nice and clean. Kids club free and activities all day with two enthusiastic leaders, plus no restriction on coming and going, which suited us well. Food average unfortunately. Had a disappointing barbecue, and bland and uninspiring Italian buffet. Small shop on site does many groceries, with little supermarket one minute's drive, and jumbo hypermarket five mins away. Great proximity to slide and splash (5 mins) and zoomarine (20 mins), as well as lots of little towns - we'd been to Martinhal the year before, which was more upmarket, but much more remote; would chose Vd'O over Martinhal on cost and location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to send us your opinion regarding your stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

It is very good to ready that overall you have enjoyed your stay at Vale d´Oliveiras and that you were very satisfied with the staff and the kids club.

We regret to know that we did not match your expectations in terms of food. Please accept our apologies for that.
We will certainly take in consideration your review as a good way to improve.

It is an honor to hear you will choose us again, and we truly look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    235
    58
    13
    1
See reviews for
383
406
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We booked here last minute for a 5 day break. Rooms are very high standard and it is immaculately clean. We booked full board, which for the facility is a waste. I would recommend half board or bed and breakfast. The food offering in full board is not good enough. Breakfast is great, lunch from the pool bar is very very slow and you are dictated to about what you can eat. I had a great Niçoise salad one day but then had to have BBQ the next. For a 5 star facility there is an over reliance on BBQ food and if you want something decent you have to pay extra to order from the Olive Garden menu?! The only restaurant onsite was closed one night for a private function, so again back to the BBQ - not great. The pool is woefully undersized for the size of facility and although advertised as an adult pool it is nothing of the sort. It was full of kids and this is not even peak season. There are nowhere near enough loungers and umbrellas so it must be a fight for loungers in high summer. The staff are lovely people but need training on some service basics (know the menu, spot new guests on tables, scan the room, organisation etc). The weather was great, so would come back to Portugal, but not necessarily Vale D'Oliveras. I believe McDonald Hotels are involved on the management side, so hopefully with additional pools, loungers, updated food menu and service training it could be a brilliant place to come back to. It has great potential, but needs improvement in some key areas.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenaucott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to send us your opinion regarding your stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

We are sorry that your visit to Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa was not up to the excellent standards you expected and we ask you to accept our sincerest apologies.

We will certainly take in consideration your review as a good way to improve.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you back one day and offer you the excellent experience you deserve.

Best Regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Have just spent 10 nights here and cannot find anything negative to say. Stayed in a one bed townhouse with garden view. The accomodation was clean, spacious, had it's own router which gave perfect wi-fi throughout our stay. Wi-fi also available in other areas of the resort. Spent some time in the pool area and there was no shortage of sunbeds. Sometimes preferred to use the sunbeds outside our townhouse when we wanted complete peace and quiet. Ate in the restaurant five times and received excellant service and fantastic cuisine. It is a little expensive but well worth it. Used the shuttle bus to Carveiro and walked to Ferraguddo using the map supplied by the hotel so we didn't get lost. You do need to use taxis some of the time but these are reasonably priced. Plenty to do if you want to go out and about. Would recommend the road train from Carveiro to Ferruguddo which runs on a Tuesday, Friday and Sunday. You get to spend a couple of hours in Ferraguddo before returning to Carveiro.
I think the townhouses with garden view are by far the best located accommodation as you can enjoy complete peace and quiet away from the pool area when you want to.
We enjoyed a few lunches in the pool area bar and were treated exceptionally well by the staff there. The resort well deserves it's five star rating. All of the staff are really keen to make your stay as pleasant as possible. When our safe needed a new battery the maintenance man was out within ten minuites to fix it. The rooms are cleaned daily to a very high standard.
Will definately be returning to this resort again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to hear you had a great stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.

Making guests feel special is what we strive to do each and every day, and that is why any smallest request is handled with top priority! This type of comments makes us proud of our daily effort!

It is an honor to hear you will choose us again, and we truly look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our first holiday away with our 2 younger children....and we feel we really lucked out on the place . Beautiful setting in the countryside buts still 10 mins in a cab to anything you could possibly want ..some incredibly beautiful beaches in the area ....( Praia des Marinhas being exceptional in my view )...courteous and efficient staff ...thanks to Miguel and Nuno for looking after our every request immediately ....and the wonderful staff in the kids club who made up all kinds of games for the kids in the pool and around the gardens ...the kids haven't stopped talking about it ...... would recommend the garden view townhouses to anyone looking for peace and complete comfort .....I would come back here in a heart beat ...a no brainer ..... worth every cent....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivanodwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving such kind words regarding your stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.
We are glad to know that you especially enjoyed the Kids Club as well as your accomodation.
I will make sure to share your comments with the team here and especially with Nuno and Miguel as they were able to provide you an unforgettable experience.

It is an honor to hear you will choose us again, and we truly look forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

What can you say that hasn't already been said about this fabulous place, arrived for a 10 night stay on 27th June and it has been excellent, accommodation perfect, we were self catering so didn't use the restaurant at all. Carvoeiro is a gem compared to the usual holiday locations scattered around it, lots of great eating houses and bars for an after dinner drink. Staff at the hotel are so helpful and courteous and nothing is too much trouble. We had a 2 bedroom garden view townhouse which was great. Being out of town requires a car although the hotel has a courtesy bus service available.

Couldn't rate this place highly enough.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphadelta1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to hear you had a great stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, thess type of reviews make us proud of our day to day effort.

Making guests feel special is what we strive to do each and every day, and that is why any smallest request is handled with top priority.

Next time you come back to Carvoeiro, we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit in the last two months, both times we stayed in a self catering apartment. In July, Vale de Oliveras does have more families and children but it is still as tranquil as ever. There are plenty of facilities and all are maintained to a high standard which is good to see. The staff (all of them-including cleaners, maintainance etc) are exceptionally friendly and eager to please. Problems are fixed immediately-nothing is too much trouble really. We still haven't eaten here yet-partly because we like to cook, but also because the restaurant is lacking in atmosphere (not enough customers)! I think this needs addressing because you don't always want to go off site to eat. There is a regular mini bus that takes you into Carvoeiro and to a local beach which means that you can have a meal and get a taxi back. The big attraction, especially in autumn and winter is the golf! Two great courses two minutes away and another round the corner with many more in the surrounding area. I think that this place has the makings to be a fantastic resort and spa-the management need to make sure that the food/restaurant is of the same high standard as the rest of the facilities. We did attend a charity function and, if the food served at this function was the same standard as that served in the restaurant I'm
afraid I couldn't recommend it. Overall though, a great place to unwind and relax!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StHilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to send us your opinion regarding your stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.
It is really nice to hear that you have chosen to stay with us again after your first stay.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay including the staff.

We will certainly take in consideration your review as a good way to improve.

I truly hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Brilliant 1 week stay with excellent service throughout the hotel. Good location for surrounding golf courses and beaches and a special mention to the restaurant which produced consistent top quality food.

Definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale O, Marketing Assistant at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving such kind words regarding your stay at Vale d’Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your holidays as well as the service from our team and the food at the restaurant.

I will be sure to share your comments with the team here and I very much look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Anne Geerlings
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#1 of 19 in Carvoeiro
707 reviews
18.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3,227 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa

Property: Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Address: Barranco Fundo | Lagoa, Algarve, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are on a family break, golf trip or incentive travel, our goal is always to surpass your expectations! Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa is an elegant 5-star hotel and resort with 22 rooms, 2 suites and 80 townhouses. With an exceptional location, only 5 minutes from Carvoeiro and Ferragudo and close to some of the finest beaches and golf courses, Vale d'Oliveiras is a unique place to relax and discover the best of the Algarve! All rooms and townhouses are fully equipped with the highest quality fixtures and fittings and are designed to provide all the comfort you may need, whether you are on a leisure or business trip. The Monchique hills and Gramacho golf courses are the backdrop to this magnificent landscape. In addition, the resort has an abundance of stunning gardens carefully framed by the surrounding landscape. The traditional local architecture with Moorish influences provides a calm and tranquil environment. The hotel has a typical but striking interior courtyard complemented by Moorish arches and tiles designed by local artists. The low density construction integrates you fully into the landscape, making our townhouses the ideal choice for families with children or for long-term holidays. All have a typical Algarve chimney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Resort And Spa
Vale D'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing