We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is a fantastic resort with excellence in service and facilities. We stayed in a deluxe suite with all the amenities you need - a home away from home. The suite is very modern with high quality appliances. There is everything you need: oven, microwave, stove, fridge/freezer, washing machine, toaster, coffee maker, kettle and even a cork screw. In many other resorts we have stayed there are seldom this level of service provision. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff are superb and provide you with fresh towels every day. The pools are clean and children friendly. The beaches and town centre are about a 20 minute walk from the resort. It is not an arduous walk but in the midday heat of summer some may find it tiring. If you want to go further afield the resort staff are happy to call you a taxi on your behalf. The resort also provides a courtesy shuttle service to one of the best beaches in the area. If you choose the self-catering option, there are plenty of supermarkets in the town centre and around the corner from the resort. Intermarche is large supermarket and a return trip will cost 10 euros. There is a good restaurant and bar at the resort but for some variety the town centre is a good option and there are many good places to eat. We found the resort quiet and peaceful, even in the height of European vacation time. Great service and had a great vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a suite away from the main pool and bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillersofGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Aft reading a few reviews on trip advisor before going on holiday I was a little worried. I contacted a few travellers who'd been to the resort and that put my mind at rest.
We arrived late in the evening so couldn't really see the resort til the morning, however when we arrived at the villa we'd booked we were very pleased. The villa was a little further away from the amenities at the other end of the resort but it was fantastic. The photos on their website are really true of what it looks like. Huge hallway with stairs leading up to master bedroom with balcony, walk in wardrobe and bathroom with shower and bath. This room has a large Plasma screen Tv. Downstairs you have a very modern kitchen with dishwasher and all the mod cons. A utility room with ironing board, iron etc. The main living space is very large with a big dining table and then you step down into the seating area with two very big sofas a plasma tv and DVD. This leads out into the garden where there is a good sized private pool and loungers with a table for outside eating. Thee are stairs up onto an area where you can sunbathe away from the pool.
The other two bedrooms are down a corridor off the living area. One is a big double with ensuite and the other is with two singles and ensuite. In the main hallway there is a downstairs toilet. There is also excellent air conditioning throughout. All windows have shutters which are electrically controlled which you can pull down for extra security in the night.
The actual resort has one main swimming pool and baby pool. Which was great for my 3 year old twins. There were enough loungers and it was relatively quiet. They could do with a couple of more umbrellas. We went all inclusive and the drinks throughout the day could be had from the main bar. Food was very good. Breakfast was a buffet with everything you really need. Lunch was from a good sized menu and evening meal apart from Wednesday, was an a la carte menu. This was really good. What I found good was that you were able to have take away from the restaurant. One night we decided not to go up to the restaurant and ordered a takeaway and we collected it and brought it back to villa. The staff are very helpful especially at breakfast and lunch. Evening meal the service is a little slow but the staff are still helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the resort. We were leaving the resort at 1.30pm and check out is at 12pm but they let us stay in villa until we needed to get out. As I mentioned the villa was a little far but they really tried to help us as my mum has a bad knee and if she needed to get up to the main section of the resort they came to pick her up in the resort mini bus. I would definately visit the resort again.

Room Tip: If budget allows get a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silvermoon181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Travelling with my husband and 3 kids(2,5,12) we stayed in a family suite. The accommodation is outstanding and I could not find any fault with it, it's exactly as described. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and I was really worried about the food and service having read the latest reviews, however after the meal on the first night I wondered if I was at the right place!! The quality of the food was very good and we found the staff very pleasant and helpful. We could see that some of the guests seemed to have high expectations of the staff and were getting stressed at the time they had to wait for service but if you are friendly towards the staff you get the same back! Your on holiday after all just chill and order more wine while you wait. The time keeping in Portugal is a little 'relaxed ' and thats not just in the hotel.
The parasol situation described in many of the previous reviews seems to be resolved and 8 new parasols arrived during our stay but to be honest even before they did we didn't have a problem and there was usually spare beds too. Pool Towels are provided but if you wait till late afternoon to get them sometimes there are none left. The shuttle bus to the beach is worth using and we walked to town in half an hour, with kids, ( ask the hotel staff for directions as its not a direct route) and got a taxi back which cost about 5 euros. We stayed 10 days and didn't have a car or feel the need for one as taxis are pretty cheap.

Try not to worry too much about the reviews and just make you own mind up!

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 66 which seemed like a long way from the pool, recp, bar but after a few days we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

By any standards a peaceful , pleasant and well designed resort in delightful surroundings. A good base to explore all the Algarve has to offer.Excellent value.
Checkout is 1200 which is generous by international standards and obviously impacts on room availability. Can use facilities for late checkout.
Not a hotel as such but an apart-hotel. Not easy to find after dark. Pool size clearly inadequate for size of resort when full.Not much within walking distance. Cafe Rustico closed due to bereavement during our stay. Donatellos can be good but variable. Car hire essential. Beware: new A22 toll system insane; Portugeese drivers amongst the worst in Europe.
Our two bed town house excellent in every way except for lack of kitchen utencils. Aircon superb. Only gripes: we requested two key cards on at least six occassions and were fobbed off; pillows very poor. Cleaners efficient and obliging.One would have to be severely disabled to complain about getting around the resort.Breakfast choice more than adequate.You get what you pay for. Some clientele snooty with great expectations. Our only disappointment was the wine. Despite a huge selection in the local intermarche I was unable to pick a winner during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CameraTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We travelled late July as a family of four. As others have said - the quality of the accommodation is first class- spacious, clean, well equipped. To have a separate living area and 2 bedrooms/bathrooms was fantastic - we couldn't have asked for more.
This complex was clearly built to sell as individual units, but has been turned into a hotel due to lack of sales. Unfortunately though the accommodation is amazing, there hasn't been enough thought or investment into the hotel service side.
We liked the breakfasts - plenty of choice (you could have a completely different breakfast every day if you wished) but the restaurant was too small to cope with the amount of people eating, and on a couple of days we had to wander round waiting for people to vacate their table before we could sit down. There was some issue with slow replacement of food, but only when things were very busy.
Lunch was also good - a reasonable choice of snack bar type foods, would reccommend the pizzas (but not the chips!)
Dinner was fine too, if a little limited as regards starters and puddings. On the first day our older son (aged 10) had to eat from the children's menu (very limited - be aware if you have "foodie" children, it's burger / nuggets/fish finger style..) which he wasn't impressed about - though to be fair this was addressed at reception by us the next day, and the rest of the holiday he was able to eat from the adult menu. The waiting staff were variable - some (Manuel especially) were great, chatting and engaging with the children - others seemed a little miserable. To be fair, I probably would have been too - as there were clearly far too few staff to deal with a busy hotel. For this reason service was sometimes slow (though not through any fault of the staff).
As others have said there needed to be more parasols by the pool, and a little service (clearing empty glasses even) would have been great there too.
No kids club (that we found, anyway) though that didn't matter to us, as the kids were happy playing in the pool.
Evening entertainment was limited to a couple of singers at dinner - again not something that bothered us at all.
If you want to play tennis (in the small "paddle court") or play football, then bring your own equipment or buy it there, as 5 euros an hour is a lot to pay....

All in all, lovely accommodation (definitely 5 star) average facilities (more like 3 star) but a nice relaxing holiday for us.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the pool so you don't have to far to walk if you forget something!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This resort was excellent for us. We actually liked the peace and lack of entertainment. The interiors of the spacious villas are contemporary and finished to a high standard with large flat screen TV's in each bedroom and the sitting room enabling us to keep fully up to date with the Olympics whilst avoiding the british weather! All the staff were extremely kind and very flexible. The meals in the restaurant were to die for - fully a la carte using locally sourced produce with a good range of choices. A good base from which to explore the algarve in luxury and comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoRInBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

For my review I have posted the letter I'm about to send to the manager, not sure if I'll get a reply!

Dear Manager

We would like to give you some additional feedback about our stay at your hotel. We found your accommodation well worthy of its 5 star rating and really enjoyed staying at your villa, unfortunately the rest of your complex should not be rated at 5 stars. We have been staying in five star hotels for the last 10 years and really do feel that, a part from the accommodation, the rest of the services are not what we have experienced in other five start hotels. Here is a list of things that we feel let your hotel down.

Breakfast

• Food running out and not being replaced quick enough
• Only 2 toasters to service all the people staying (on two days there was only one working toaster)
• Orange juice running out and not being replaced quick enough
• Some food running out and never being replaced
• No staff to meet you as you enter to take you to a seat
• Not a big enough choice (no fried eggs, pancakes etc.)

Pool area

• Not enough sun loungers or parasols for the number of people staying. We know that some other guests complained to reception about this during our stay.
• No life guard on duty
• A very small pool area for a 5 star hotel

Bar/restaurant

• Under staffed
• The same menu for the whole week
• Food not 5 star quality compared to other 5 star hotels

Gardens

• Grass not watered enough
• Only one gardener for whole site
• Weeds growing every where
• Cigarette ends laying every where

We feel that the staff are good but unfortunately there are not enough staff on duty at any one time which leads to your customers not getting a 5 star service (we even asked to borrow a pen from reception to fill out your hotel survey and the receptionist only had one pen as a result we have had to complete the survey back at home and post it to you!). We know that we are complaining about a lot but we feel that you are trying to cut too many corners. We have been to at least 15 hotels with a 5 star rating and can honestly say that your Hotel falls well below the standards of any of them. We would have been happy to return to your hotel as the accommodation was of a high standard but the above issues let the hotel down and as a result we would not stay at hotel again. We are not in the habit of writing letters of complaint, in fact other 5 star hotels we have stayed at we have given very positive feedback to.

Regards

Craig Curry

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
0.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,639 reviews
2 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colina da Lapa Resort
14.9 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA

Address: Estrada das Sesmarias, Carvoeiro 8400-535, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: £56 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid extensive landscaped gardens and manmade ponds, this 5-star resort offers luxurious villas with free wired internet. It boasts an on-site 9-hole putting green and, outdoor pools and a Spa. All apartments are situated in 2-storey duplex villas that feature modern and stylish decor. Each unit has a large living room and a bedroom with a high ceiling and balcony. There is also a full kitchen. At Vale Da Lapa, guests can enjoy the exclusive clubhouse featuring a design restaurant and bar with outdoor terrace. Guests can sample regional flavours and carefully selected local products. Agua Hotels Vale Da Lapa also boasts a jogging trail, 2 paddle tennis courts, and a multi-use astroturf pitch. Children can have fun at the play area and children's pool. Vale Da Lapa Hotel has a private entrance to the neighbouring tennis club and several golf courses can be found in its vicinity. Caneiros and Carvoeiro beaches are less than 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Da Lapa Resort & Spa Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale Da Lapa Resort And Spa
Vale Da Lapa Resort & SPA Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing