We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband & I had 2 weeks at this hotel (returning July 24th 2014) & can't fault it. The rooms are fabulous, huge & kept spotless with maids daily (they even washed up). There are full sized washing machines, dishwashers, ovens, microwaves & fridge freezers, air conditioning, TV's, safes (free) dining tables & huge beds that were very comfortable. Everything is provided that you could need (corkscrew, bottle opener & wine glasses being our most needed items !!)
In your room you can request a free router for your laptop (but you will then have to plug in a connecting wire from your laptop to the router). My hubby took a small wireless router & plugged that into the provided router enabling us to use our tablets wirelesly in our room or on the balcony.
There are electric shutters on every window so you feel that your belongings are secure when you go out but most importantly they totally screen the morning sun ! We slept in every morning and so did all the children in the hotel !!
There is a small shop that sells most items, though as you would expect they are dearer than the local shops. A good supermarket can be found by turning left when you exit the hotel then head towards the water tower (just look & you will see this tall tubular building) once at the water tower (with tower on your right & pizza restaurant on your left) turn left & you will find 2 small supermarkets. The second one along sells 5L water for 1.55 euros (3 at hotel) & the lager is cheaper than at the large supermarket (Intermarche).
To get to the huge 'Intermarche' get reception to call you a taxi (this call will be free). The taxi fare is around 6 euros there and 9 back (they add approx 3 on because of loading & unloading your shopping) but you save the taxi fares by what you save on the shopping (A good wine is 'Fressco' identified by a little goldfish on the label & costa approx 1.9 euros. Most wines at the hotel shop cost 9 euros.
Taxis are really cheap (5 euros) to Carvoeiro town where there are plenty of restaurants (right by the beach) & shops plus a lovely beach with showers & toilets built into the rock face.
The hotel provides a curtesy minibus to and from another beach (Caneiros) which was even better & bigger. Again there are showers (1 euro coin) & toilets (free) here. There is a bar/restaurant/sunbeds on the beach & lifegaurds watch over the beach so you feel safe swimming.
We walked to one of the beaches most days (& either got the curtesy bus or a taxi back). To walk to Carvoeiro beach allow approx 30 mins & to walk to Caneiros allow about 40 mins (the hotel gave us a map to Caneiros & it took us nearly an hour the 1st time we went but by cutting through the houses next time we saved a lot of time). We enjoyed this walking because there are lovely views/breezes along the way (and felt it negated the extra calories consumed or drunk !!) but if you have trouble walking or have young children you may be wise to use the taxis.
The pools at the hotel are lovely & towels are provided for your use.
The hotel staff were great - very helpfull & always smiling.
We stayed in No 29 and our terrace & balcony got the afternoon/evening sun and had a sea view.
The grounds are maintained to a high standard and the gardens are lovely to sit in (our accomodation was right by the river/creek that runs through the property & we enjoyed looking at & listening to the frogs that inhabit it).
We didn't use the spa facilities (we were relaxed enough) but did use the heated indoor pool that had scented oils within the flooring.
The pool was very clean and the bar & restaurant was well laid out. In the daytime the bar had music on & we would have liked this also on an evening (it would have added to the atmosphere). We would also have liked this around the pool but appreciate that some people don't want music so it wasn't a problem.
There were daily activities for the children, one was learning a dance whilst in the pool (La Bomba) and there were as many adults as children joining in for this !!
All in all we had a fabulous time and plan to return.

Room Tip: No 29 enjoyed afternoon & evening sunshine and had a sea view. In the morning you could move yo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
There are newer reviews for Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just spent a blissful week in Carvoiera. We stayed in Vale de Lapa & I would recommend it highly.

The accommodation itself was a 2 bed townhouse-style apartment, big, bright & spotlessly clean. The resort grounds were gorgeous - really well landscaped & a meandering river ran through the whole site. While this was lovely to look at, the racket caused by the local frogs was unbelievable! Thankfully our accommodation had electric shutters, & it was necessary to close them each night if you wanted to actually sleep :)

The pool area & restaurant bar were great - staff were polite, helpful & generally spent the day interacting with guests. It actually felt like they were enjoying themselves (or they were good actors!) The quality of the food was also excellent - although we were only half-board, as we wanted to try the local restaurants in the evenings. That said, when we did have dinner at Vale de Lapa it was very good too.

My only complaint would be that the location is a little remote, & if you don't have a car you'll be dependent on taxis. There is a courtesy bus provided to the local beach, but if you want to venture into Carvoiera you will need a taxi. Even though the town is only a few miles away (& taxis cost less than €10) it did take us over an hour to actually get picked up from reception on one occasion. There didn't seem to be any dedicated company/driver, which seemed a bit odd for a quality hotel.

As previously stated, we had a thoroughly enjoyable week & the only reason that this review isn't 5/5 is down to the transport issue. If you have your own transport then this won't be a factor.

Can't wait to go back :)

Room Tip: The resident frogs make a lot of noise at night, so being right next to the river/pond may not be ad...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JohnBoyH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend and absolutely everything was impeccable, clean, welcoming, modern. The food was amazing, the pools were clean and spacious. My only complaint was the location was a little ways from the beach but it was a nice walk :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank victoria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very good food , we had a villa which was superb quality

Excellent staff

It is a bit out of the way so a car is neeed .
Would go back again and recommend to anybody.

Great value nice pool and grounds etc


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just back from a fantastic 12 night stay at Vale da Lapa, this is our 4th visit here since it opened and we have never been disappointed. The suites are extremely spacious and well equipped for a family holiday. Our suite was meters from the pool and we had a beautiful garden. the resort gardens are very well maintained and maturing very nicely.
We had breakfast every morning and couldn`t fault it, very good choice and good coffee too. Staff are very professional and friendly throughout the resort especially the head waiter who seems to do everything! The resort is 3-4km away from Carvoeiro so I would recommend hiring a car.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank dorabootsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during July. As this resort is not situated in Carvoeiro (3-4 km away) you will need a car if you are going here. Our first impression is that this is not a 5 star hotel/resort merely +4* for accommodations and 3* for the rest of the complex.

- The houses are spacious and delicately decorated. The pity is, that at least in our house there were clear signs of wear and tear. Loose fixings in the bathrooms, electrical sockets that were not fixed to the wall etc. Certainly this must be visible to the cleaning staff and should be fixed without too much effort.

- In general very hard matrasses. Our experience is that this is quite common in Spain and Portugal.

- Limited wifi in the reception/club house and non in the villas. This is far below what you expect from such a resort.

- The staff is friendly but unfortunately there are not enough of them.

- The reception/club house is small and facilitates the reception, restaurant, bar and the hotel shop. This is not 5* class, neither is the pool which is small compared to the number of guests this places is able to accommodate. No life guard on duty as far as we could see. The other sports facilities show clear signs of wear and tear

- Food is generally boring; you can do much better by visiting Carvoeiro. Breakfast has nothing to do with 5*.

Pity this place is sold as a five star resort because it is not and will leave some of its customers disappointed. Believe the overall rating would be better if they removed one of their stars, as they are selling a product that you will not receive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Alvestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Travelled for a week in May, Weather was poor at the beginning of the week but the indoor pool was a godsend. Staff were fantastic and could not do enough for you especially Ana. My mother in law has an intolerance to gluten and the restaurant could not have done more to accommodate her. The food was very nice and whilst a bit repetitive, they will allow you to swap things around. Wine included on all inclusive was very nice as was the cocktail of the day. Kids loved the free ice cream and slush puppies.

The accommodation was excellent and perfect for larger parties. We had a two bed unit for myself and my six year old daughter which included fully equipped kitchen, lounge, dining area, three balconies, three televisions and three bathrooms. Seemed rather extravagant for the two of us. The units were of a very high quality and felt very large as a result of being on two levels. I was extremely comforted by the on site security guards who patrolled the site at night especially as there was only myself and my daughter in our unit. All windows have electric security shutters too and we had two safes in our unit at no extra cost. Toiletries are provided including shampoo, conditioner and body lotion and you could collect fresh pool towels from reception each day,

You definitely need a car which if you rent from the airport does not work out that much more than the transfer costs would you pay in any case.

Overall, we had a great experience at Vale da Lapa Resort and would definitely recommend. There were a few very small issues we encountered during our visit but they were resolved very quickly which I feel is all you can ask. I read the reviews before travelling and can only conclude that either some people have very low tolerance levels or spend their entire holiday looking for relatively minor issues to complain about. This hotel is very reasonably priced and obviously cannot be compared with much more expensive five star hotels.

Room Tip: I asked for a room near the clubhouse as a result of previous traveller tips and was given Unit 11...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Kat190526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
0.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,464 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
740 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
17.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA

Address: Estrada das Sesmarias, Carvoeiro 8400-535, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: £46 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid extensive landscaped gardens and manmade ponds, this 5-star resort offers luxurious villas with free wired internet. It boasts an on-site 9-hole putting green and, outdoor pools and a Spa. All apartments are situated in 2-storey duplex villas that feature modern and stylish decor. Each unit has a large living room and a bedroom with a high ceiling and balcony. There is also a full kitchen. At Vale Da Lapa, guests can enjoy the exclusive clubhouse featuring a design restaurant and bar with outdoor terrace. Guests can sample regional flavours and carefully selected local products. Agua Hotels Vale Da Lapa also boasts a jogging trail, 2 paddle tennis courts, and a multi-use astroturf pitch. Children can have fun at the play area and children's pool. Vale Da Lapa Hotel has a private entrance to the neighbouring tennis club and several golf courses can be found in its vicinity. Caneiros and Carvoeiro beaches are less than 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Da Lapa Resort & Spa Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale Da Lapa Resort And Spa
Vale Da Lapa Resort & SPA Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing