We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, Peaceful, Place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Garden and pool view from villa
The Lodge MM
Vew of Lodge from Garden
Villa from garden
Pool View across to Lodge
Garden and Sea View
Super King Bedroom
Kitchen from Dining Area
Garden
Typical view on walks in our vacinity! Fabulous
Views on our local walks
Another very local walk/view
Another !
Carvoeiro
Benagil Beach 2km from us
Carvoeiro
Another Local Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carvoeiro, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clou L
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet, Peaceful, Place to stay.”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a blissful three weeks at this property and felt completely at home. The owners are lovely people as are their three adorable dogs!

The property is spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds, well kitted out with everything you can think of or need and totally private. The sun terrace is an ideal place to relax and the pool, the perfect place to cool down! It was in the high 30s for most of our holiday! It was a sanctuary from the busy towns and beaches at the end of a day out or a lovely place to spend the day if we didn't want to go anywhere.

This was our fifth holiday in this area and we still found some lovely places to explore. The owners are very knowledgeable and happy to advise and recommend walks, restaurants etc. The beaches are beautiful, though were very busy due to the time of year. Supermarkets are 5 minutes drive away.

We would highly recommend this property and hope to return for our second visit in October!

Thank you both for giving us our little piece of paradise in the beautiful Algarve!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a lovely glowing report ! Look forward to seeing you in October, if you decide to return this year. It was lovely to share our piece of paradise with you and your lovely family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
47lavinia...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our fourth stay at The Lodge MM in Caramajeira, and was as perfect as ever. A very warm welcome from Gill and Bruce as always and the villa was as lovely as we remembered it.
It is equipped with everything you need for a wonderful stay and is furnished to a high standard. Always spotless on arrival with lovely personal touches. Although Gill and Bruce are next door, they leave you in complete privacy, but are always on hand if you need and information on restaurants, beaches etc. The villa has a lovely terrace and is surrounded by a beautiful garden full of interesting plants. Very comfortable beds, plenty of towels and extensive space for clothes. Not that we needed a lot of clothes - the temperature was in the high thirties every day!
The nearest beach is Albandeira, which was our favourite, only ten minutes away. Small, but spotless sand and lovely clear water. Being the Atlantic, there are some big waves but swimming was perfectly safe. You are spoilt for choice as there are so many wonderful beaches to choose from. We would sometimes have a swim in the pool at the villa after spending some time on the beach, in order to cool off. Gill and Bruce don't use it if visitors are having a swim, but it is not there for all day use by people staying in The Lodge, as it is in their garden.
They will recommend good restaurants in the area - our favourite is Sul Mar at the top of the hill in Benagil; lovely food. Go to Carvoeiro, ten minutes away, and eat at Pashmina, a beautiful Indian restaurant where we had the most delicious curries ever! Great service and reasonably priced. Also, a good meal can be had in A Lanterna in the Main Street in Carveiro - try the seafood rice. As a last night treat, go to O Barradas on the road to Silves. Can be a little difficult to find, but only 15 minutes drive. Amazing food and a truly wonderful setting, sitting outside under trees and flowering shrubs, still reasonably priced, which we found with most local restaurants.
For a change, drive up into the hills to Monchique. Places to eat on the way up and amazing views once you reach the top.
Well, we had another perfect week at the lodge and couldn't fault anything. Gill and Bruce were the perfect hosts, not forgetting their sweet dogs which would pay us a brief visit at breakfast time some mornings!
A stay at The Lodge is a time to be treasured, everything you could wish for and more. Thank you so much, Gill and Bruce, for such a wonderful week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Our pleasure to see you both again, thank you again for choosing Lodge MM for your vacation. Thank you for your lovely comments means a lot x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The area is nice, accommodation is good, well equipped.
The location does not exist on the map therefore it cannot be reached without help. I strongly advice pinpointing the location on the gps once there, otherwise you will not be able to turn back.
Internet almost does not work, so be prepared to connect on your own costs.
There is no heating so I would not advise renting in cooler months.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
You are so funny, sorry but it is very easy to find if you follow my directions.
The Internet is perfect, alas we had a power surge on the extender on the eve of a National Holiday, but you could have used our wi fi, but you chose not to, it was rectified by 10am the day after holiday?
We have the most wonderful heating for winter, cool months, a fabulous easy to use and efficient log burner, but you chose not to use it ? We lived there for a few months in winter over Christmas whilst renovating our house and needed to leave doors open it is so efficient.

You said you had had a lovely vacation??
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali Ulas...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect accomodation, great host!”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had such a great family holiday, the first one with our 11 months old baby. The accomodation was secure, clean and nice and had everything we needed. Both Gillian and Bruce were very nice and attentive. They respected our privacy and we didnt feel their presence except when we needed them. They had 3 lovely friendly dogs that our baby girl loved playing with. The pool was great too. The location is convenient and less than 10mins drive to shops and 5mins to the beach Praia da Marinha. There are other beautiful beaches nearby too.
We would definetely recommend staying at this place, its just perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Apologies for delay ! Thank you so much for your review and your lovely comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Take it you mean to the Algarve. However there are lots of Portuguese experiences, wish you has asked. Glad you had a lovely relaxing holiday though and thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worc61
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Holiday! - Great location..”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our 4th stay here. The location is perfect, you are only a few minutes away from beautiful beaches and between 10 and 30 minutes away from great attractions. Zoomarine, Lagos Zoo, Slide and Splash etc.

The accommodation is very comfortable, and the landscaped gardens and heated pool are perfect. Such a lovely place for a break. A good selection of books and dvd's, washing machine and buckets and spades for the children! You really feel like you have your own space.

I am would describe myself as having high standards, and i wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends and family. Gill and Bruce are really thoughtful and helpful with tips on where to go and what to do. Lovely lovely people.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Thank you choosing to spend your holiday again with us, delighted you love our villa and surrounding areas as much as we do and look forward to seeing you all again hopefully next year, great to see "the babies" growing up into such lovely children. Best Wishes to you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonjan...
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just celebrated our Silver Wedding anniversary in The Lodge M M and we couldn't have booked a more perfect place to stay.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel completely at home by Gill and Bruce. They were exceptional hosts, always on hand providing help and advice that really enhanced our holiday but never intruded on our privacy.
The villa was a real home from home with everything provided - right down to some travel scales so we were able to weigh our case before leaving. It is in a beautiful peaceful area and as mentioned in previous reviews a car is a must to explore the best of the local area.
The private terrace was our favourite place for enjoying the sun, completely enclosed by beautiful plants - our very own secret garden! We really enjoyed the beautiful heated pool which is only a few steps away and although it is situated at the bottom of Gill & Bruce's garden this was never a problem. They never used the pool when we did and in fact we hardly saw them while swimming.
We loved our regular visits from Flute, Truffles and Bobby who made us smile every day! We miss you now we are home!
Having stayed in the Algarve several times over the last 10 years this was by far our favourite place and we cannot wait to return.
Thank you Gill and Bruce for making our anniversary so special and sharing your little piece of paradise with us - we are very envious of you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sun terrace and pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your fabulous report, so pleased you had a great holiday, and look forward to seeing you again, was our pleasure as it is with almost 100% of our guests !! Not mentioning the one !! Lol. Many thanks again for choosing to spend your special anniversary with us here in the Algarve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing