We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location sells it!”
Review of Tivoli Carvoeiro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned from a week here. Wonderful location, never a shortage of sun beds in this stunning setting and you could always get a shade. Had bed & breakfast and found many restaurants to choose from. Pity that breakfast has to be downstairs and all inside when there are much better areas. However, good selection and hot choice was hot.
Requested a high floor, following advice on this site, and given sixth floor. Small room, double bed, small balcony and it was enclosed with solid walls which meant you only saw the sea if you stood up. After first night, asked to be moved to room where we could see the sea sitting on balcony. Very obliging staff on reception. Went back in an hour, as requested and given 409, which was three times the size (it was, in fact a three bedded room with loads of space). And, we could sit and watch everything from the balcony. Very happy. ( so maybe don't ask for top floor). Rooms and bathrooms may be dated but very clean.
Not overly impressed with drinks in the bar or with prices. Only one type of red wine by the glass. Cocktail had hardly any taste of alcohol. Ask for receipts if putting on room account as we were overcharged.
The new boardwalk that goes all along the cliffs as far as the church and school, after which you can take steps to beach or short steep hill down into town, is amazing. Don't miss it. Turn left out of hotel, walk to bus stop at top of hill, turn left and walk to the end of the road and the board walk is on the cliffs opposite.

Room Tip: Detailed in the review
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank gillmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your construtive feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you were satisfied with so many aspects of your holiday, despite the fact that we did not meet your expectations in the bar. Your feedback is valuable to us and greatly appreciated because this is the only way we can correct shortcomings and prevent similar issues from happening again.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Best Regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,474)
There are newer reviews for Tivoli Carvoeiro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,951 - 1,957 of 3,476 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location with good service on reception and in the main bar. Sea view rooms overlook a pretty cove - the view is excellent. Short, pretty walk into the centre with bars and restaurants along the way, though a courtesy min bus is available at set times. Breakfast nice, though the four of us were disappointed that the main restaurant with spectacular views to the sea was not used for breakfast. Instead we were seated downstairs in a covered in, more cluttered area that was quite warm with no air conditioning. If you wanted omelette, you had to queue as there was only one person serving. I'm not sure why this hotel doesn't use the main restaurant for breakfast anymore, but it's a selling point so they should do!! Good selection of cocktails but the second ones we ordered needed more alcohol, so we didn't return for more.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room on the higher floors
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your prefrence for Tivoli Carvoeiro and taking the time to share your exeperience on TripAdvisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Unfortunately we can not serve breakfast on the main restaurant when occupancy rises beyond a certain occupancy rate, given the limited seats available.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Best Regards,
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A lovely view to wake up to every morning from our very spacious room.
The room itself was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable, piping hot water always available, beautiful large balcony and comfy beds. The decor could do with updating, especially in the bathroom, but this did not distract in any way from the very good standard overall.
Staff were all welcoming and pleasant, always keen to help us if we needed information.
There was no evidence of the sunbed towelathon, as this was not necessary due to an abundance of sunbeds.
Carvoeiro itself is a beautiful resort with lots of restaurants which we found to be great value for money as well as of excellent quality.
The only drawback is for those looking for a beach holiday - the local beach is very small and the tiny cove near the hotel is regarded as unsafe and is therefore inaccessible for all but the very agile due to the fact that the steps have been removed for the last few feet. Other than this, would highly recommend this hotel for those looking for a relaxing holiday in particularly picturesque setting
Mel and Carol

Room Tip: Must be seaview - though most of them are. Would go for higher floors where the view is even better.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melvyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for you kind review and excellent rating on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and were particularly happy with the brilliant location, the view from your room and helpfulness of our staff.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards,
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views. A 10-minute walk into the town where there is a small beach and lots of lovely restaurants and bars. We stayed half board and the food was lovely and plentiful. Breakfast catered for everyone, full English, Continental, Healthy fruits etc. Evening meal was either buffet or a' la carte. We chose buffet and wasn't disappointed. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The hotel is tired and really needs a refurbishment to freshen it up and modernise it, it is very old fashioned. The hotel and rooms were very clean. Wifi was sporadic. Safe's in the room required a deposit (very old), the bathroom was very 80's, with cracked tiles and the oldest hair dryer i've seen in a long time that would have taken me a month to dry my hair (albeit I have long hair). The beds were hard and uninviting and the pillows were dreadful, a cotton slip with what appeared to be a few balls of cotton wool stuffed into it. When we asked for replacement pillows the receptionist told us it was unlikely they had anything better. It is a shame the hotel is so tired as it could be fantastic given the scenery and setting. I wouldn't return unless they modernised it.

Room Tip: Definitely request a sea view room room, the views are stunning.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SD_RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli carvoeiro with us. We are sorry that the room you satyed in did not meet your expectations.
We look forward to being able to welcoming you back again.
Best Regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good hotel, fine service, good size rooms, sea view room with fantastic views

Staff all friendly and wanting to help

Pool great and private beach

Was with a group and stayed for 4 nights

Have visited this lovely small town many times and will book again

Electric bike hire 7 euro well worth a go

Room Tip: Sea view room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful review on TripAdvisor about your recent experience at the Tivoli Carvoeiro. We are delighted you and your group enjoyed so many aspects of your holiday.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the tivoli for 1 week with our 1 year old daughter and parents. The staff were fantastic and brilliant with our little girl. The rooms were clean and the views were stunning. We upgraded to a sea view room which is definitely recommended.
Our little girl had a cot that had lovely clean sheets on everyday and we cannot rate the staff highly enough with the way they were with her.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and we hope to visit again very soon. Thank you for making our little girls first holiday abroad brilliant!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your preference and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated. I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the stunnig views from your room and that our dedicated team made you and your little daughter feel so welcomed.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The views from the room of the cliffs and sea are staggering and the impact is heightened by the squadrons of sea gulls that traverse the sky. Very efficient check in and the the Hotel is spotless but as many reviewers mention is a little dated. But I think this adds to the charm and mixed with the professionalism and friendliness of the Staff make this a delightful Hotel to stay in. The grotto bar was a great place to finish the evening with extremely good waiters. Breakfast was more than adequate. Pool was lovely and cleaned daily and there were more than enough sun beds. The room was spacious but tired and no double bed. Good for the town with a gentle 10 minute walk downhill. Beach is possibly a no no unless you are of the younger fraternity. All in all, I thoroughly recommend and certainly will be stopping there again.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the bay but are a must
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charliepear52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful review on TripAdvisor about your recent experience at the Tivoli Carvoeiro. We are delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your holiday and that our dedicated team made you feel so welcomed.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best Regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
2.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
743 reviews
16.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carvoeiro Hotel
Carvoeiro Hotel
#15 of 18 in Carvoeiro
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Carvoeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Carvoeiro

Address: Apartado 1299 - Vale do Covo | Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: £83 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Carvoeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algarve is a recognized holiday destination, but also a privileged destination for special meetings and memorable events. In the picturesque village of Carvoeiro, on Vale Covo beach, where the blue sea draws cutouts on the imposing cliffs and the fine sands contrast with the green of the golf courses, Tivoli Carvoeiro is reborn. The high standards of quality and level of service of the Tivoli brand are portrayed in this unique space of architecture aired and open to the horizon, which proves to be the right choice for the best family holidays as well as meeting and differentiating events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tivoli Carvoeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Carvoeiro Hotel Carvoeiro
Tivoli Hotel Carvoeiro
Carvoeiro Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Almansor
Tivoli Carvoeiro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing